1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Issues Far Cry 2 Hotfix for Most ATI Radeon Video Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Odd enough, AMD has just issued a hotfix for the yet to be released PC game title Far Cry 2. The patch is meant to be used for the Radeon X1000, HD 2000, HD 3000 and HD 4000 series cards to improve the performance of Far Cry 2 in DirectX 9 and DirectX 10. Both single and CrossFire compatible systems will benefit from it. The hotfix download package includes both the Display Driver and Catalyst Control Center. The hotfix can be downloaded by clicking on this link here. After all this might be a smart move for AMD/ATI. The official launch date for Far Cry 2 is October 24th, and the game will launch simultaneously on the PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Now ATI owners will be prepared and hopefully won't have problems running the game when it is released.

    Source: AMD
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Interesting stuff here do you think they will need to redo the benchmarks for ati cards.
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    AMD driver team on the prowl. :rockout:
    I hope it continues.
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    Good move, they know this is the latest most hyped game and If their cards perform well, it will drive the sales up . And they are making use of DX10.1 with these drivers
  5. overclocker!

    overclocker! New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    +1
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Doesn't Crysis use the same engine as Farcry 2?

    So maybe help some really lame reasonless performance loss in vista with Crysis Warhead?
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Crysis uses the CryEngine 2
    FC2 uses the Dunia Engine
    niko084 says thanks.
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Aww, bummer.... Thanks though.
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Yeah, it was created in house by Ubisoft.
  10. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Who also coincidentally made good use of DX10.1 in Assassins Creed. Which they patched over to make Nvidia appear less inferior in a game they sponsored... but they have used quality Dx10.1 before.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    AMD FTW. I hope my 4850 does better than it did with these than in that benchmark :shadedshu
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nice to see them being proactive on it. Ill download it later and install it after I do the 8.10 catalyst set.
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    i wonder if the Hotfix for AGP will integrate this since the AGP Hotfix Cats Release a few weeks after the PCI E version.
  14. Trizmatic

    Trizmatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    This is very good for ATI and they definitely came through with this hotfix. This game is going to be huge and if it plays better in DX10.1 than in DX10 this will not only be a great marketing tool for ATI but in the long run will help pave the way for developers to get out of DX9.

    This is very subtle but it comes out to be a major counter on NV's TWIMTBP. They can't respond. The only thing they can do is push PhysX now. The 3rd Crysis needs to be in DX10.1 now.
  15. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    They need to focus on gameplay, the visuals are more than adequate in my esteemed opinion.
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    DX10.1 will land AMD with a HUGE upper hand with the 20% increase in AA performance; "free AA" and world environment lighting (as in every object casts a shadow and is subject to light effects, etc).

    This game will > Crysis imho, with the gameplay, and the fact that you can make your own maps :D. I like how you have to bandage yourself to heal lol.
  17. newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,827 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    264
    It says the package includes a display driver and CCC, does that mean it's a full driver install? i.e. if you had 8.9, this would be your 8.10?
  18. swaaye

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    227 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    what you have here is proof that the catalyst packs we get are months out of date, really. When a game comes out that "really matters" they drop a "hotfix" (which is a full package, yes) so they can actually get fixes (read: max performance on "important" game) out to us before Cat 9.3 or some such.
  19. MrMilli

    MrMilli New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    216 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    there is some bunchmarks , i see it just it find the link and 4870 do great work and ati's card's run better in all tests

    sure dude

    no ever , and don't forget nvidia pay well to make run better with nvidia card's
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    excuse me?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page