1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Launches Radeon R5 230 in the Retail Channel, Gigabyte Outs its Offering

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,222 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD launched a new entry-level GPU for those who need a bare-essentials graphics card for their desktop, which so happens to lack integrated graphics (think Intel HEDT platform). Called the Radeon R5 230, the chip is based on the "Caicos" silicon, and features 160 stream processors, 8 TMUs, and 4 ROPs. It supports DirectX 11 and OpenGL 4.3. Its core is clocked at 625 MHz. It features a 64-bit wide DDR3 memory interface, holding 1 GB of memory, clocked at 1066 MHz. Pictured below is the first AIB-branded R5 230 card for the retail channel, Gigabyte's R523D3-1GL, with a single-slot, half-height built, and a tiny fan-heatsink keeping its GPU cool. AMD could price the card around the $50 mark.

    [​IMG]
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,446 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Oh look. A 5450 rebrand. Why not just call the chip Cedar? Double the shading units, and yet lower pixel/texture rate. Glorified 5450 with double the RAM! 6450 rebrand!
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    It's a 6450 because it has 160 shaders :p
    RCoon says thanks.
  4. Overclocker_2001

    Overclocker_2001

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Radio Emilia 5.9
    a poor 6450 (not 5450 ;-) ) rebrand with sucky 1066MHz (effective! ouch!) ddr3 64bit
    next step 1333MHz 32bit sdram?

    with only 8.5GB/s of bandwith it is only able to drive 2D or pre 2000 games at low resolution (damn a 9800pro is way better!)

    iphone's gpu is better than this o_O
  5. ISI300

    ISI300

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    83 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Turkey, Istanbul
    They should probably have named it the R3 230 or R1 230.
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    About the 3rd time you've whined about something AMD related in past 2 days -_-
  7. jigar2speed

    jigar2speed

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    175 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    He is paid for that, don't you know ?
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,446 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I'm the anti-jorge. :laugh:
    But I don't have specific beef with AMD, I hate on all brands. I just dislike rebrands.
    We shouldn't let companies get away with stirring the pot and sticking a new label on it. Makes things stagnant.

    EDIT: Maybe you shouldn't take it so personally, as you seem to make a big deal out of pointing it out. I recommend you leave it out.

    Ah, with half the memory!

    I wish I was paid to write an opinion based on extrapolated evidence from TPU's GPU database (which was wrong but has since been edited, besides that, it's now factual). Maybe I should make an application?
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  9. jigar2speed

    jigar2speed

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    175 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    LOL,
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    64bit DDR3?? S3 Trio64V+ would be jealous man.
    RCoon says thanks.
  11. dados8756 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    such beautiful minimalistic design, even it lacks power :p
  12. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Still more than Intel HD Graphics 4000, while this market area is exactly where AMD would rather see APU's fill for OEM's. They'd rather not even offer a card for this, other than a good upgrade for every Intel CPU sold. If it's so lucrative that it demands a "new chip", why or where is Nvidia? Actually Nvidia has walked away from this segment... 3 or more years ago. With the 40Nm rebrands of 520 Fermi as GT 610 at 29W TDP, or 630 just a rebadge of the GT 440 (65W TDP)... pitiful power, performance and price. Nvidia hasn't got a grip in this area, and they're the ones with no alternate arrangement, both Intel, AMD have low power on-chip GPU solutions. Nvidia has forfeited with no acceptable solution, for the low power, half-height, SFF, Media, HTPC segment.

    Bashing AMD on this, hypocrites… AMD has little reason to produce some “new card” for a segment they have the lock on, or see/want to sell an APU to. While Nvidia has this great "Maxwell design" that could supposedly blow this out of the water and they don’t seem to want to get any "skin" in the game.
  13. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    What about power consumption compared to 6450? is there any info yet?
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,446 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Same as a 6450, same chip, check the TDP on the TPU database. Less VRAM, so that might help a tiny fraction.

    Profit margin is nonexistant in that market. We're talking GPU's that cost the consumer £20/$30. The cost of a GPU's materials probably take up most of that.
  15. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    So
    Nvidia can't measure up/contest (stagnant) in making a 28Nm, but you’re the first one to blast AMD on a rebrand... like I said... Thanks!
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,446 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,840
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    My point is they don't need to rebrand, they're making people think it's a shiny new card that's more efficient and might have a chance of being a GCN card and provide extras. But it's not. They could just continue selling their 6450 stocks as they are, instead of allowing retailers and places like PC world to mislead customers into thinking they're getting new tech with new support.

    And why would NVidia want to get into a market to compete for pennies on the pound? They make all their money over charging for GPU's and bringing out profit maximising cards like the Titan.

    Where I work we still buy 5450's and GTX 210's because they're £20 a pop and allow for dual screens on basic computers, and drive 1440p IPS monitors. We don't care about new tech or ridiculous new naming monikers for something we are very familiar with.
  17. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Squirrel... where?

    Your feelings are for the uninformed and those not cognizant of what they’re purchasing... such a upright attitude.

    But yes in this low end, dual monitor segment needing anything over a 5450 at 20W TDP is all most are looking for, 6450's aren't significantly different to merit anting up to. The G210 (30.5W TDP) which are not readily found while more expensive, why?
  18. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    359 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Instead of engineering a $65 entry level GCN card with 160 shaders, AMD would rather you just buy a $45 A4 APU with 160 shaders. But I guess for the typical walmart consumer that insists on keeping a throwaway pc with a celeron inside, a rebranded HD 6450 is a good upgrade.
  19. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    34 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Where did you read that it is GCN? This is a previous generation GPU rebranded to fit with more modern card naming.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page