1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

amd mainboard naming convention

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by craigo, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    657 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
    So, Recently my amd based machine ceased to function.
    after testing all components with other machines/mainboards the culprit was found.
    One Broken JW-785GMT-Extreme..
    I figure "Not a worry, I`ll just replace the mainboard with a shiny new one"
    I require an AM3 board with four dimm slots.. ATX or M-ATX form factor
    what I have found whilst sourcing a replacement is that amd boards with the 760g northbridge and 710 I/o hub dependent on manufacturer can be called anything from 760, 780 to 960 in the model name.
    do any of the amd people around here know why this is? we all get frustrated when NVidia rehash old GPU`s with new model designations, how is it you can call a 760g/sb710 based mainboard whatever the hell you want?

    PS. Somebody sell me a nice mainboard for my tri-core AthlonII
     
  2. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    329 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Because AMD gives their freedom in this.

    How can AMD give this freedom? By not adding new features to the chipset and rebranding them to a "new generation".
     
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,403 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    760G has always been called 760G (RS780L by code) by AMD. It's the board makers that make it confusing.
     
    craigo says thanks.
  4. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    657 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
    Thankfully the MSI 760 based board I looked at was called a 760g-p something. but the gigabyte boards with 760g chipsets are all 78-something and ecs call one of their 760 boards 960 something
    I think I want a 970 based ATX board...that should get me a board with new features, correct?
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  5. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    329 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    That nets you SATA III (6Gbps). versus 7xx/8xx boards.
    Most of the time you'll also get USB 3.0 in that range though through third party chips.

    I was referring only to the southbridge renaming.
     
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    most manufacturers do use the chipset name correctly in their board names. only a handful companies dont do that with some of their low end boards
     
  7. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    657 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
    and gigabyte with their new high end intel board with 77 in its name that uses the server chipset.
    I just got confused with the AMD boards with "960" in the name that used the 760g chipset.. to me the amd 9 series chipset
    signified not only am3+ but usb3, sata3 and uefi... my mistake.
    Fortunately I do not make a habit of buying low-end components.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page