1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Amd mantle Chipset support

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mroofie, Aug 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    169 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Hi im wondering if mantle needs a certain chipset (motherboard) to work?

    Please look at my specs especially my motherboard its a 760 chipset and the other hardware

    Will I be able to use mantle ? :l
     
  2. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Nope.
     
  3. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Simple answer = no

    Mantle only works on certain AMD/ATI GPU's 7xxx series and up, It does not work with nvidia GPU's at this time and probs never will but we will see.
     
  4. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    169 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    How come?
    Fyi I'm not talking about NVIDIA gtx 760
    I'm talking about the AMD motherboard chipset 760
     
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,555 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,124
    Location:
    Mexico
    Your system specs list a GT440 as GPU. As previously stated, Mantle doesn't work on nVidia cards, only Radeon HD77xx and up.

    The motherboard chipset plays no part in Mantle support. AMD chipsets aren't needed for Mantle.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    As i said you need a recent AMD/ATI GPU not some old 760 chipset, Mantle has nothing to do with what ever chipset we have.

    I also never said anything about an nvidia 760, i looked at your system spec and noticed an Nvidia GT 440 gpu and mantle will not work with it.

    You need an AMD 7xxx series GPU or the R7/R9 series GPU's or some of the amd APU's

    What Mantle does [​IMG]
    Mantle is the harmony of three essential ingredients:

    1. A driver within the AMD Catalyst™ software suite that lets applications speak directly to the Graphics Core Next architecture;
    2. A GPU or APU enabled with the Graphics Core Next architecture;
    3. An application or game written to take advantage of Mantle.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2014
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Rochester area
    will not work on your system you need a AMD GPU... among other things
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,044 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It is dependent entirely upon the GPU you have, not motherboard, chipset on that board, or CPU.

    If you have an nvidia gpu no Mantle for you.
     
  9. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    169 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Lol people I am considering buying a R9 270 I should have stated it from the beginning my bad :(
     
  10. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,144 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Texas
    If you get an R9 270, then yes you will be able to use Mantle. Its only dependent on the video card at the moment.
     
  11. mroofie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    169 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    well that's great news my crappy CPU wil not let me down :D
     
  12. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Also remember that mantle is only suported by a few games atm so inless you play them games mantle is all but useless for anything else.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  13. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    There are a bunch coming though, Dragon Age, Sniper Elite, Star Control, Mass Effect and Civ among them.
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,044 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    DirectX 12 will be out next year too, which will have low level support which should reduce overhead which is what Mantle does in the end.
     
  15. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,144 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Texas
    I agree that next year we will have that as well to see how well things go. However the only problems I see is how far it goes in all honesty in terms of performance at low level and how long before we start seeing DX12 games.

    Also with the long list of mantle supported games (Including GTA 5 PC) I am actually shocked it has gotten as far as it has. Will be nice of course to see a side by side comparison when that day comes.
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,044 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well so far, games that have Mantle support have been bug ridden and mediocre. Thief, the most recent game is an absolute joke.
     
  17. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    bf4 itself it a bug-ridden mess, so im not sure thats a good example.

    Theif, while being accused of being Dishonored 2.0, the mantle support itself has been very good.

    I havent heard a single problem with PvsZ:GW mantle implementation.

    Even if DX12 comes out on time for Holiday 2015, i doubt we will see any games use it for at least another 12 months after.

    If DX11 adoption rates are any indication, maybe longer.

    We still dont know whether DX12 will be locked to windows 8.1/9 like 11.1, so mantle still may have a market. In order to make it backwards compatable, theyd have to unlock 11.1 for windows 7.
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,044 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Mantle needs Intel and Nvidia support for it to take off, but really unlikely to happen.

    Though I don't have much of an interest in debating the success of Mantle, seeing how its been an intense topic on every forum since the day it was announced. And its just way to early.
     
    Fluffmeister says thanks.
  19. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,144 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Texas
    Well BF4 was the first game and it had its share of problems but was resolved out in the end (I use it now just fine). Thief is a matter of opinion if you don't like the game of course but the Mantle part works well in it.

    Either way its still a gamble in the end, but im saying it has a long list of games coming that support it including some really big titles of the year. DX 12 is more than promising but its going to take its time before it hits the main stream.
     
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Rochester area
    whatever the case the op needs todo the following
    1. upgrade the psu a 450 is cutting it real close for a x6 and 290 and depending on the quality it could be woefully inadequate
    2. he needs more ram as 4Gb is also cutting it real close especially for gaming
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,044 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    where did he say he was getting a 290? He said 270. In which case PSU is fine.
     
  22. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    340 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    omg dude....,he ask if his motherboard chipset is compatible with mantle..,he is not asking about gpu!!
    simple answer,mantle is gpu dependant not chipset!!
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,786 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,166
    Uh yeah, that's been settled. Not sure why you needed to correct them again?

    Anyways, issue resolved.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page