1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Materializes Embedded Platform Core-Logic

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,406 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD has taken steps towards providing its next embedded CPUs with the introduction of a core-logic platform that suits its thermal envelopes, while providing the kind of features essential to embedded platforms today. Its direct implementation could be the embedded low-power Athlon single and dual-core processors that could make it to UMPCs, nettops, and the likes.

    The embedded processors will come in the ball-grid array package, and a reduced board footprint (package-size). At the heart of this core-logic is the AMD 780E northbridge. It is a reworked 780G chip with reduced thermal footprints. It will provide the CPU with a HyperTransport 3.0 (up to 5.6 GT/s) connection. This northbridge embeds a ATI Radeon HD 3300-class integrated graphics (IGP) which is AMD Sideport-capable. This adds the provision of adding DDR3 memory chips on the board to serve as video-memory. The northbridge provides an A-Link 2.0 connection (PCI-Express 2.0 x4) to the AMD SB7x0 class southbridge. The northbridge also features a native PCI-E multiplex to allow ATI CrossfireX with two PCI-E 2.0 x8 electrical connections. The SB7x0 southbridge provides up to six SATA II channels, 12 USB 2.0 connections, HD Audio, among others.

    [​IMG]

    The approach AMD has towards the UMPC, nettop and other embedded platforms is simple: it will give you a better PC experience than its competitor at nearly the same price-point. The contest comes down to energy-efficiency versus features. AMD believes a basic PC experience should not be compromised for the sake of energy efficiency, which gets negated in nettop and other static platforms, while becoming a factor with mobile platforms. Details of this platform can be read here (PDF).
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,406 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to Abu.Assar for sourcing it.
  3. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    you are welcome :)

    I'm really impressed by how fast you reacted to my message.
    thanks
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Integrated dual display is GREAT. You can have the laptop screen showing ONE thing, and the attached monitor or beamer showing something different!

    14 USB ports is overkill IMO for embedded! LOL

    They should standardise display cache. It's one tiny and cheapish DDR3 chip. Since this is a 2D device, not 3D, they only need 64MB, but will make a big difference to performance. The "option" should be to go 128MB, but not that by default there is 0MB. There is nothing worse than slideshow windows or videos, or window drags that lag. Display cache fixes that.

    Odd that they say this is designed for a low power footprint, BUT THEN THEY DONT SAY WHAT (WATT).
  5. Fragman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark EU
    Looks good to me lets se how it wotks when i comes out
  6. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA

    If you read the article it states consumption starting at <=15w (when used w/ 8w Athlon 2000+)... So I assume the chipset is <10w...

    if this is true this will be better than the atom's package in performance (out of order processing, and total solution cpu+nb consuming less power)
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I looked at the PDF and checked out the tech spec and didnt see the info (in the tech specs). But yes, thanks for the pointer. It's in the commentary.
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,108 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    When I first read this post I thought AMD embedded the Northbridge graphics chip into the CPU eliminating one more connection and just using a southbridge, but its clear now.

    But it will be awesome if AMD does that for the mobile platforms and reduce total power consumption including south bridge to < 10w.

    Good work AMD.

    So we can see BD laptops based on this to take along for long flights to India he he.
  9. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Yeah either that or a single chip(set) at least. Other than that it looks very good and probably the next generation is already much better integrated. After all, Atom and Epia aren't (much) better at that.

    This certainly looks better to me than the others available now, more powerful and the power draw is similar. I share their idea of what a nettop should be in clear contrast of Intel's idea. I had my doubts between this and the one that Via-Nvidia suposedly were releasing, bt aparently they dropped the project so...
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I think AMD will eventually do that, putting all parts on the chip and eliminating any latencies with the nb.sb.et al.

    Looks like a decent performer from AMD. They surely are flexing their muscle, it just happens to be different than Intels ;)
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    there is not too much different , only two pci-e can run with 8x but ddr800 ram with is 780g support 1066 , and this one not support phenom x3 and phenom fx
  12. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    just imagine, a asus eee with HD3300 IGP !

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page