1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Amd Northbridge problem?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Azkalan, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Azkalan

    Azkalan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi i have a computer that keeps on freezing when i play games or just use graphics. first i will start with a short history about the computer.

    In 2010 i bought a
    Asus M4A79XTD EVO Mainboard, with it i also bought:
    Sapphire radeon HD 5770 Graphics card,
    Corsair TX650W Power supply,
    Amd Phenom ii x4 965 Black Edition 3.4ghz(HDZ965FBGMBOX),
    and some Corsair Vengance ram 4gig. dont remember the exact name.

    I started of with putting the computer together and installing windows 7, after 4 weeks i started getting a error with a Bsod, and computer just restarted. In the event logger it said:
    A corrected hardware error has occurred.

    Component: AMD Northbridge
    Error Source: Corrected Machine Check
    Error Type: 28
    Processor ID: 0

    The details view of this entry contains further information.

    So i called the place where i bought the computer and wanted to know if they knew smth about this. They didnt know anything so i sent in the Motherboard with the cpu for testing.
    3 weeks later i got the computer back with pretty good documentation that nothing was wrong. I installed everything and it toook 5 days then the same thing happened again. I put the computer away and saved up some money to buy some new stash.
    So this november i started ordering new parts wich is:
    Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 1GB GDDR5
    Cooler Master GX 550W PSU
    MSI 990FXA-GD65, Socket-AM3+
    Seagate Barracuda® 7200.12 1TB
    After i got all the parts i started building it up again and installing windows 7 ultimate.
    after about 1 month i get a complete freeze of the computer while playing Starcraft 2 so i vent to the event logger again and found the same error msg as with the other setup.

    Conclusion is i have changed out everything in the computer exept for the Ram and the Cpu. Today i ordered a new Cpu wich is AMD FX-4100 4-Core Processor. If this doesnt work i really have no clue what to do. Oh yeah i have tried memtest, stresstests and every test you can run to see if smth is wrong with your hardware and nothing shows any flaws.

    Im pretty desperate of help right now cause most of my money is going in to this computer atm and dont want to change out everything again, although its probs 2 changes of absolutly everything.

    Dear regards a fellow Nerd.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,436 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    FL.
    You need to place a fan blowing at the northbridge.

    It gets very hot none will tell you and or really care to mention.


    simple effective works.
     
  3. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    I had a lot of problems with your previous mobo too M4A79XTD Evo but mostly I'm thinkin about bad drivers or the PSU!
    Clear the PSU by tryin another one and check Device Manager for missing drivers
     
  4. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    Try this also:toast:
     
  5. Azkalan

    Azkalan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i figured that smth must be wrong, i took my finger to feel one of the 2 heatsinks on the MB and i burned my finger. it wasnt the one that it say Millitary class on, but the one it say MSI on, im not shure if this is the chipset or the NB-SB. Another thing is that its really hard to get a fan between my Graphic card and Cpu fan.


    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  6. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,436 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    FL.
    An 80 mm fan with few rubber bands around frame and popsicle stick to balance it.That is the NB.
    lol semi ghetto. I use it never have issues.

    Might want to put cpu fan on other side make it easier for yourself.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  7. Azkalan

    Azkalan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just made a "Ghetto" solution with a small fan, will see how this works. I have it on max so it blows pretty good. I just started the computer installed some graphics drivers and shutt down just by that time it was freaking hot. Fan was running on low then but now it is on full power. A bit noisy but if it fixes my problem i dont care. Il take a pic and post it here tomorro to show my solution.
     
  8. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    439 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    If you still have the stock cooler from your AMD cpu, you can unclip the fan and rig it on there. My chipset nb also runs quite warm on my MSI 890FXA-GD65, but I figured that was because of my overclock.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page