1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Opteron "Piledriver" Processors Arrive Mid-November

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    In the end the price talks. You can prob buy tripple the amount of cores vs. the price of Xeons with less cores. Which would you buy ;)
    AMD has winner here.
     
    Super XP and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
  3. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
  4. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I refer you to Aquinus's excellent post above.
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Yes of course there is the matter of clockspeed and different workloads, so I will have to give credit to Intel for pulling ahead in various tasks.

    Situational winner, not outright winner. You have not factored in other costs, like boards, support, software, etc. Cores are almost dirt cheap in the grand scheme.
     
    okidna says thanks.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    ya thank you R&D lmao
     
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I am an IT analyst for a company, and it comes down to how you use your cores.

    Our choice was Intel because of the power of the cores. If you were an IT Analyst, you would know that the majority of purchasing is moving towards number of cores. Using Intel can save us thousands of dollars because we achieve the same performance with less cores.


    If you were one of the people factoring in the cost of the CPU, you are not an IT professional (or atleast not for a very large company.) Xeon processor? $500. SQL Licensing? $20,000 for the Xeon cores. We put the cost of the processors in the same category as screws, mounts, and other small-cost objects.
     
  8. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Glad you're not here... would have me developing on weak $500 Xeons. :D
     
  9. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    We arent looking for enthusiast xeons when we are a business. That is a good idea of how a business fails.

    Even so, $2,000 is small.

    Now that I think about it, we did upgrade the e5s, so $900 is probably more accurate. We spent over $100,000 on software since the beginning of the summer. We are not a large company, probably comprised of less than 400 individuals altogether.
     
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Pffttt.... tell ya what. I'll make it work with Standard instead of Enterprise. Or even better, I'll make it work with SQL Express. Put most of that money into my hardware and skim a little off the top for yourself. That way I'll have more than enough resources to run a cloud service on the side in addition to the company project.
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Things have changed. The Trinity APU based on Piledriver (4 core) is as fast as the 2 core i3 and significantly faster in multi threaded apps.

    www.bit-tech.net/
    www.TomsHardware.com

     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
    Super XP says thanks.
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    They don't. There is a reason a lot of companies are moving towards AMD based chips for servers for one they can take the old Phenom II based G34 chips toss them in the bin update the BIOS on there high end 4P server board and drop in 4 16 core chips that quadruples the number of threads. On top of that using the proper version of Linux with AMD compilers they obliterate Intel server chips in multithreaded apps. Why do you think so many people are running them in WCG? You can get eBay Intel chips quite cheap as well...
     
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    We use standard, but we have multiple applications.

    Our software vendors do not support anything but MSSQL standard. These aren't little toys we are playing with in our spare time, this is tens of millions of dollars a year. I could make it work with SQL express, but it would be my ass and several hundred jobs were it to fail.
     
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Fine, I'll find some other analyst to join in on my illegitimate endeavors ;)

    On a serious note, oh I'm aware. Back when I did eComm IT grossed $15M/yr for the company. Struck a good balance between DIY and 3rd party so there was always enough leftover in the budget for toys.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    the OP shows 16MB L3 cache, is it really L3 or all put together?

    hmm AM3+ also gets 16MB L3 cache (hopefully).
     
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,838 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Each "8 core" Bulldozer/Piledriver die has 2MB L2 per module (8MB total) and 8MB L3 cache.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Its funny because I had actually brought that up while we were talking (there are 3 of us in the department altogether). After a good laugh, we realized there was no reason we couldnt do this.

    The biggest issue was that if it wasnt officially supported by our software vendor, then we wouldnt get any support if things went to hell with their software.
     
  18. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Thank you AMD :D
     
    Super XP and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Throw 4 of them into a 4p rig and rule the world of F@H.

    :toast:
     
    Fatal, stinger608, Aquinus and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,614 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,482
    Don't you mean throw 8 of them in 2x 4P rigs and rule the world twice :D
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,295 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    In server applications, like a website that has a couple hundred users on at once, will show you where multi-processor setups come in handy. Then you can do cool things like move your database to another server and keep the application on your old server. So now you spread your resources over 2 servers. There are tools that let you take this much further. For example, if you have ever used PostgreSQL, there is a database layer called pgpool2 (I think that is the name,) and it lets you do multi-master database replication as well as load balancing. So you get performance, redundancy, and scalability across multiple servers for your database. Granted these aren't consumer tools. These are things that developers build, use, and share because we're the only people who need to use it. Not to mention that any server with more than 1 processor is most likely going to be given a variety of tasks by a potentially large pool of users, unless you're like BN who folds all day long. :roll::respect:
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,443 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474

    Im not so trusting of Fleabay for CPUs, ive had 1 out of 4 be good actually and the other 3 DOA.
     
  23. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I hadn't realised the full extent of this.

    Check out 95W vs. 95W:

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page