1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD or INTEL RIG?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by RevengE, May 9, 2009.

  1. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    alright guys..I am looking at building another system. For those of you who know me I sold all the componets from my i7 rig to help pay for school. I want a rig that's nice fast and going to be able to play all the new games Coming out, I don't need top of the line componets. I still have my cosmos S my acer g24 and my keyboard/mouse and 850w power supply, all I need is CPU Ram Videocard and motherboard and a nice aircooler. I'm looking to spend maybe 600.00 the less the better. Also anyone here selling a gtx-280 for cheap LMK or even a 285.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2009
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I may be selling my e1200 chip soon if yah want it (AMD 5kBE equivalent), does 3.2 8x400fsb almost stock volts like +.02. As far as any other parts, I have none available.
     
  3. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm thinking about getting a 940 BE. I might want that though.
     
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
  5. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i will have a complete system other then the mobo for sale in a week or 2 if you can wait that long

    940BE
    Foxconn A79A-S
    8gb DDR2 1066 ram
    Zalman 9700 NT
     
  6. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    Keep me informed.
     
  7. DreamSeller Guest

    yeah better go with the amd and you will have "top of the line componets"
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,989
    If you want to buy new, you could really go either way.

    I think a decent P45 board+E8000/Q9000+GTX275 would suite you needs nicely.

    If you want to go even cheaper, you could go with something like an E5200 and an HD4770. You could probably put together a nice setup that will do what you need for under $400.

    Hell, even going with an AMD Phenom II 810+decent 780G board+HD4770 would be a damn powerful system for probably half your budget.
     
    RevengE says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  10. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    alright so..I'm going to go with a PII 940..I am still looking for a MB,VGA and the ram I got is a set of 4gb of corsair Dominator series with a fan. Videos cards I'm intrested in include GTX-260/275/280 I'm going to try nvidia again, I haven't used them for a few years and I'm intrested in the way their cards perform. Suggestions for MB/VGA are welcomed :)
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Up that to a 945 or go down to a 720BE, just in case you wish to get an AM3 board. Expands your options. :)
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    you can buy my whole rig


    phenom 955 (ES)
    M4A78T-E
    6GB DDR1600 cas7
    32GB SLC SSD
    4870X2+4850X2
    xigmatek dark knight+skythe ultra kaze
     
  13. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I've built an Intel system after years of AMD boxes and I am thinking of going back to AMD when I decide to step up from this one. No particular reason really, I've just decided that I prefer the way everything works (and costs) in AMD systems.
     
    Darknova and ChaoticAtmosphere say thanks.
  14. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    buy shadowfold mobo and ram, jrRacinFan videocard and cpu

    220+100+shadowstuff = fits your bill
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    CPU is no longer available (Sorry trading for watercooling parts)

    When was I selling my video card? :p
     
  16. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well I don't really have a need for 6gb of ddr3 I had that much in my i7 rig.
     
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    D'Oh, i confused you with cdawall. :laugh:
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  18. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've already decided on the PII 940/4GB of corsair dominator series ram. I need a MB/VGA and CPU aircooler and I'm set. I would like a EVGA VGA in any of the ones mentioned above. motherboard can be anyone that is good and I don't have to bios flash for the PII.
     
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    4850 for cdawall and mobo from shadowfold, the rest on a artic freezer 64 or a xiggy
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    RevengE says thanks.
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The 980a is a 780a with no onboard graphics, exact same board as the M3N-HT 780a.
     
  22. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yes, I'm looking at nvidia. I haven't used them in a few years and want to test them out.
     
  23. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
  24. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,754 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    try AMD Phenom II 720, 4GB DDR2 1066, 500GB Samsung F1, Radeon HD 4770 and a good 790X, GX or 780G board

    same performace as a Phenom II 940 in games and wont cost you a arm and a leg
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page