1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD P II 955 vs P II 940

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by subhendu, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Hi,
    i am planning to buy a p ii x4...but have one doubt. :banghead:


    if i am oc'ing p ii 940 to 3.2ghz will it give the same performance of p ii 955??? :rockout:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Yes, though the PII 955 has the benefit of using DDR3.
  3. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    my mobo is m3a78 em it supports only ddr2....so thru flashing i can fix p II 955....but i have same doubt about the above (performance difference?)
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The 955 is going to perform the same as the 940 when both are clocked the same, but the 955 overclocks higher, has a DDR3 memory controller and comes .2ghz faster(if you like running stock speeds).
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    a 955 will only work with an AM3 board. The performance of both CPU's at 3.2ghz are the same. The 940 has a DDR2 controller built in and the 955 has a DDR3 controller built in.
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    955 works in AM2 boards too, how do you think I'm running my 720BE on an AM2 board :p
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Right, just no 940's in AM3 boards...
  8. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    again I'm confused...hyper transport of p II 955 has 400 mhz more HT link than p II 940...will it make any difference in performance???

    which proccy is more overclockable with air cooling(w/o change in voltages?)
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    955 overclock quite a bit higher on stock voltage, the HT link is higher on the 955 because it's AM3 spec, but when it's in an AM2 board it will go to normal AM2 spec.
  10. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    But does AM3 actually work with full potential? or is this a "time being solution" until AMD redesign the DDR3 controller?
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    AM2 CPU's don't physically fit into AM3 socket boards.

    AM2 = 940 pin
    AM3 = 938 pin
  12. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    i have AM2+ socket in my mobo...with 940 pin....it can take a p ii 955....

    which proccy is u experts choice for me?? p II 955 or 940??
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Definitely the 955
  14. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Ok thanks for all ur helps friend's....
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    No, I would pick the 940 over the 955... It's not like he would OC any of them to the max... and he'll save a lot of money going 940BE... I suggest 940BE, but I would suggest to take a look at the 720BE... if this processor is for gaming go 720BE
  16. Evo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    I am confused by this.

    If this is so why does my MoBo support AM2, AM2+, and AM3 CPU's?
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    The two less pins just don't go into the socket. An AM2 processor wont fit into an AM3 board because of the two extra pins.
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    AM3 go in AM2+ boards... A AM2+ can support AM2, AM2+ AND AM3... and I was about to say what erocker said lol... he beat me to it :rolleyes:
  19. Evo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    So AM3 boards must have a unique socket, correct?

    I ask because I can fit an AM2 and a AM3 CPU in my board.
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    As I've said before, AM3 sockets have 938 pins. AM2 boards have 940 and can fit AM2 and AM3.
    Evo85 says thanks.
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    which means that ALL AM3 processors as of now fit into an AM2+ board... ONLY Am3 processors fit in an AM3 board
    Evo85 says thanks.
  22. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    652 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    AM3 CPUs have 938 pins
    AM2/AM2+ CPUs have 940 pins

    AM3 motherboards can fit 938 pins
    AM2/AM2+ motherboards can fit 940 pins

    AM3 can fit in AM2/AM2+ motherboards
    AM2/AM2+ cannot fit in AM3 motherboards

    Therefore...

    AM3 is backwards compatible,
    AM2/AM2+ is not upwards (???) compatible.

    I have no idea what the hell I just said.
  23. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    just go with am3 futureproof yourself
  24. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    get the 940 since you use DDR2, its cheaper by a decent margin , and will OC the same, but i would simply raise the multiplier to make it go 3.4ghz on stock voltage , all you need.
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    nono, the 955 definitively OCs a bit better, but I still say to go for the 940

    #1 You don't look like someone that is going to OC terribly
    #2 The OC difference is not big
    #3 You'll save 55$

    In conclusion, you'll get about the same performance for 55$ less!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page