1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Passes On Catalyst 14.1 beta to the Press, Public Release Shortly

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Exactly, I would add that affordable gaming laptops with Kaveri APUs will be interesting to see too.
  2. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    Ran lots of BF4 Multiplayer tests in Siege of Shanghai 64 players today D3D11 vs Mantle.

    @ 1440p, ultra settings:

    Mantle 7.3 % faster than DirectX11 on average. Mantle has lower minimum fps due to quite rare random high latency frames.

    @ 1440p, low settings

    Mantle 16.5 % faster than DirectX11 on average. Mantle has lower minimum fps due to quite rare random high latency frames.

    Test setup:

    3930K @ 4.2GHz
    Asus Rampage IV Formula
    32GB 2133MHz CL9 ram
    AMD R9 290X @ stock "uber"
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    1000W PSU

    Win 8.1
    Cat 14.1 Beta

    Some stability problems ? were present. Crashing randomly with Mantle API. But not bad for first try. ;)
  3. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    Nebulas
    Link to the driver? Or is it secret still?
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    [​IMG]

    :roll:
    broken pixel says thanks.
  5. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    Sorry, still confidential.

    Besides, Press driver is FAR from standard driver installer. Let the guys at AMD fix it for a bit more.
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Has AMD announced if it will add support for 6xxx cards? And will Mantle be linux compatible? (looking at you, SteamOS)
  7. slevinsok

    slevinsok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    14.1 beta driver will be release monday
  8. slevinsok

    slevinsok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no your out of luck .....and who the hell still uses the 6xxx series lol
  9. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Really? It runs all the games I play just fine so I havent had a need to upgrade it. No need to get all high and mighty-elite on your 2nd post.
    Prima.Vera and Lionheart say thanks.
  10. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    [​IMG]
  11. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    Nebulas
    I think us amature pc builders that started computing on VIC 20s can handle it, lol! PM me the uploaded driver my PC and I will tell not a soul. X- ♡
  12. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]
  13. Fluffmeister

    Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    637 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Sorry chaps, the paid press get priority over their paying customers.
  14. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    Nebulas
  15. Fluffmeister

    Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    637 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Dear God! Give us real results already!
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,448 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    [​IMG]

    Now to count my fat roll of Benjamins.:rolleyes:
  17. DEATH-NZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im stoked they have this mantle on the way...BUT have AMD actually worked on this 'black screen' issue that is screwing with a high pecentage of their card owners ?? i have a asus 290x 4gb and it is getting annoying. I cant find out anywhere if a fix is in this new driver. i hope so...if its 3 months between drivers thats a long wait to actually enjoy my new card without this annoying issue.
  18. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    I don't know who gets paid but I sincerely doubt it is me because there is a nice negative number related to R9 290X in my bank account. :(
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,448 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Is black-screen issue the one in which your screen blacks out, and audio appears to drag out? If so, no. My card black-screened on me once today (when playing with Mantle).

    Black screen issue is caused by AMD not optimizing the GPU to timings of Elpida-made memory chips. There could be a BIOS update in the works. My 042 BIOS reduced black-screens greatly, but not eliminated the issue. You can find it in our BIOS DB.
  20. Fluffmeister

    Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    637 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    I'm just trying to get over being virtually hugged. :twitch:
  21. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    505 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Finland
    Interesting... I have few Black Screenin AMD cards here. One of them is Engineering Sample R7 260X reference board. Elpidas I presume.
  22. DEATH-NZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mine black screened a few times during game....but of late it only does it when I log into Windows. It will let me click the user then when loading windows just black screens....I can only use safe mode...and today it's been very bad...12 times in a row. I spend a grand on this card 4 weeks ago and feel a bit ripped at the moment.
  23. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    Nebulas
  24. m0nt3

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    218 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Thanks Broken Pixle it works. All the low fps I would get in like sige of shanghai into the 30's gone, rarely below 70. gives some life to my Phenom II X6 CPU useage is high instead of 60-70 i hang around 80-85.
  25. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    Nebulas
    They lied to you, lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page