1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom™ Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by wiak, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    :toast:

    lets talk about phenom
    we know it comes 20th november in 2 diffrent flavurs
    is Native Quad Core and fits in Socket AM2+ and Socket AM2 motherboards
    it has Hyper Transport 3.0, TDP of 89W

    AMD Phenom™ X4 9600 @ 2.4ghz
    AMD Phenom™ X4 9500 @ 2.2ghz
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i'll join, not an amd fanboy, but i do want to see the little company (amd) beat the big one (intel)
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, I want one, and it would probably kick ass at SMP folding, but I know I won't be able to afford one.

    If I had one, it would be the cheapest quad-core model (probably 1.8GHz, just my guesswork). I would probably OC it to a clean 2GHz.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i want a Phenom if i can get the money i will get one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    err this needs to be in the club forum section...
     
  6. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    count me in....but i have to say it i am a mad fan boy ......
     
  7. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    hehe :p
     
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,538 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    848
    i wanna join!!! i want a phenom now! if the price is right...
     
  9. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    i know, prices should be around Intel Q6600 or something unless amd has something that is phenomonal and prices it 20-30% over intels quad :p
     
  10. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Should you actually have a product before trying to start a club? Just wondering here...

    Also, why is this forum updated on the front page? Seems like it should have the same setup as general nonsense?



    AMD's quads will be GREAT competition for the market segment....just don't think a club should be started unless someone actually HAS one of these....but then again I'm a fother mucker :p
     
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,640 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,253
    http://news.expreview.com/2007-10-29/1193590532d6599.html

    Still some time left before launch, but if these figures are true for the entire family of CPU's, AMD's still behind.. It's quite close though.

    Also, this is only one game and it shouldn't be taken as teh truth. :) We'll see.
     
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I'm hoping that AMD pulls one out with the Phenom as I'm excited about the 790FX/CrossfireX platform.

    The top C2Q will most likely edge out the top PX4, but if AMD can deliver on their CrossFireX promises and I see motherboard manufacturer's putting the 790FX's 52 PCIe lanes to use, I'll be joining this club around tax refund time. Also, should be seeing boards with the new SB700 or SB750 southbridges by then.
     
  13. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
  14. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Heh, ive already got the first component for my phenom rig, some BallistiX tracer pc8500's, im getting a Asus M3A32-MVP soon as its out, and then im just gonna get me an x2 4000+ or something cheapo till the higher clocked phenoms come out.
    My Tracers should be here by next week!

    I have saved up alot of money, and expected to pay around £200 for the ram alone, but got mine for just £80. So that means I will have a shit load £500 + for getting the phenom FX or whatever its called and maybe an upgrade my my TEC setup. And I havent even sold my current rig parts yet, thats a volt modded A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo (939), naked IHS stripped opty 185, and some killer DDR1 600 modules,
     
  15. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    phenom fx would be on stores on q1 of 2008 and i can't wait anymore i would go for the 9700
     
  16. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Yes. I have a 4yr old and a baby's momma whos a little hornball lol

    AMD is doing what they have done in the past. Building chips in a logical way.

    Instead of pasting 2 dual cores together (not necessarily a bad thing..) they are building a TRUE quad core on a single piece of silicon.

    With 4 cores on a single piece of silicon comes lower (average) speed. The processor binning has to be quite different than Intel.

    IMO 4 cores on a single piece of silicon (instead of pasting) is a more logical solution. You re-build the architeture because you're doing something completely different. Its logical. Whether it will work out is a debate in itself.

    AMD's used to be comparable (and sometimes faster) than the intels at lower clocks. Lets hope they can keep doing it.
     
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That argument is old and invalid. SMP systems have had the cores on different chips since before the Pentium, you claim SMP systems have been illogical since forever?

    Funny thing is, your argument goes for anything, ie why L3 cache when you can increase L2? Why system RAM when you can have eDRAM? There is always a "smoother" solution to everything, however there are always drawbacks. Think of yields and cost for example. Intel is holding the performance crown and nothing is suggesting that AMD is taking it. So unless those AMD chips are dirt cheap I don't see anything better in their solution.
     
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    the only problem with a "true" quad core is yields,if 1 core is duff then you have a phenom triple:laugh: or a phenom duo.

    I think its more practical if not the best way to use two duel core dies,the yields will be much higher.
     
  19. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    How about research costs? And did you count the month that AMD's quad is behind on Intel's? Seen any news that suggests that it pays off? I do recall AMD saying it was a bad move...
     
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Do you think all one die is actually better then?

    Amd said quad on one die is a bad move?
     
  21. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
     
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I believe having a true quad core on one die than two dual cores on two dies is more efficent. Wouldn't the first solution offer lower temps and possibly lower power consumption?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,538 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    848
    have to agree with that - that is also my thinking.

    since there will be out in 1st 2008 then that give me 2-3 months to save up. i hope they don't just slap a overly large price tag on it to make up for R+D costs. either way i am looking forward to these.
     
  24. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    you dont have that much time
    9600 and 9500 is coming this 20th november and 9700 is coming in desember then rest of the family in januar 2008 :p

    look what a friend of me found

    HD9500WCGDBOX AMD Phenom X4 9500 (4MB,95W,AM2) box 247.00 USD
    HD9600WCGDBOX AMD Phenom X4 9600 (4MB,95W,AM2) box 278.00 USD
    HD9700XAGDBOX AMD Phenom X4 9700 (4MB,125W,AM2) box 288.00 USD
    * these are estimates and excluding VAT

    http://amdhawk.wordpress.com/2007/11/04/phenom-prices-shows-up/
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  25. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    im getting one sometime next year, im also a big fan boy
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page