1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom 11 x4 965

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by cookiemonster, May 16, 2011.

  1. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have never overclocked before but I have a AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Deneb Core, S AM3, 3.4GHz would it benefit me anyway if i overclocked it and is there an easy way to do it.

    NZXT Lexa S
    Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H (rev 2.0) motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition, Deneb Core, S AM3, 3.4GHz
    8gb Crucial Ballistic DDR3 1333mhz/PC3-10600 (7-7-7-24) 1.65v
    XFX HD 6970 ATI - AMD Radeon Graphics Card - 2GB
    Western Digital WD6402AAEX 640GB Hard Drive SATA111 7200rpm 64MB Cache-OEM Caviar Black.
    WD 250GB 3.5" SATA 6Gb/s Caviar Blue Hard Drive - 7200RPM 16MB Cache
    Corsair 750 PSU
    Zalman 9500
    Liteon DVD Writer
    24” Samsung SM2433BW Black Widescreen LCD, 1920x1200
    5.1 Creative Surround Speakers
    Logitech G11 Gaming Keyboard
    Logitech MX516 Gaming Mouse
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Epson DX8400 All in one.
  2. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    GO into bios, increase multiplier(come on u can find it, JumperFree Configuration>Manual) by 1 step, you can do that to 3.8GHz, after that you'll need to tamper with voltage.

    If you are new, just do 3.8GHz, run Prime95 for stability test and yea, you're set.

    You'll see maybe a boost in some applications and games. But apart from higher power consumption and more heat, not many advantages of overclocking, atleast for your processor
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  3. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    hi, if you overclock you will see some increese in FPS in most games, iam overclocking my 965 and can help you if you want
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    In MIT 2 tweaks that you could do that I am 95% sure you won't need to tweak voltages, set CPU-NB Frequency to a 12x multi giving 2.4Ghz and set cpu core ratio to 18.5 giving 3.7Ghz. That should give a snappier all-around feel. There are many more tweaks that can be done although see if that is good enough to your standards for now.
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  5. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi tried the NB and cpu core to 18.5 but wouldn't boot so put the NB back to auto and left cpu at 18.5 ran prime 95 64bit for about an hour and all okay.

    Attached Files:

  6. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    after running prime 95

    Attached Files:

  7. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    i get 65c on 4ghz and NB 2,4ghz you need a new cooler :)
  8. commission3r

    commission3r

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    3.8 on the core @ stock volts is ez, using the multiplier, may need to up the volts to 1.38 for stability
    use mediashow espresso to conver a video file to ipad under video tab check trutheatre denoise and hd use a 30 minute video file (utube)
    if the core voltage is low the system will bsod
    continue incrising until its stable
    upto 2.7 on the northbridge with stock volt is fine, anything more and volts will jump to 1.5
    upgrade ur cooling, consider a zalman performa ( u can replace the stock fan)
    i hope ur ram is 2 stiks of 4 and not 4 stiks of 2
    latency will rise if all 4 slots r filled, not many programs use 8gb of ram
    good luck
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  9. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    yes i thought so any ideas i was looking at the Corsair Cooling Air Series A70 CPU Cooler or the Zalman CNPS11X Extreme but i don't know if they would clear my ram have you any ideas of what cooler (must be air) that would suit my system.
  10. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    are your ram tall? or just standart size? if you just want a smal OC 3.7ghz then a coolermaster v8 is ok and it looks good to
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    65C is quite extreme but to each his own. Odd that you didn't get post when attempting those tweaks.
  12. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    what?
  13. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  14. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    you have a AMD Phenom 11?

    share with me your secret to time travel 0_o

    sorry for an off topic post hehe
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  15. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
  16. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I want something that has a bit of design to it and not clumsy looking and that can do the job not to big as the tower has a window in the side and all the case fans are blue LED, and mainly that is compatible with AMD 900 series chipsets, thats not a lot to ask is it.
  17. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
  18. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Montalva i quite like the look of the coolermaster v8 i will look into it a bit more thanks.
  19. commission3r

    commission3r

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    the v8 is overkill but look so good (if u have a window) that red line.....
    can run very quiet but a little fidly to setup easier with a second person
    i wud go with the zalman 11x u can change the fan to 1 u like ( cant do that on the v8)
    standard ram clearance is no issue for either but the zalman wud b better for the likes of dominators
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  20. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    i hate to install it, its not that mutch of an overkill, its just ok not bad not to good but if only use on stock or smal oc then its great
    cookiemonster says thanks.
  21. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers commission3r and Montalva i do want something that looks good and has a bit of colour to it + does the job and is future proof for the AMD 900series and maybe Bulldozer, is the v8 that hard to install.
  22. commission3r

    commission3r

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    its not that hard but once its on ull not want 2 remove anytime soon, very similar to the venomous x black, its time consuming
  23. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    thumbs up
  24. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Just checking the Zalman 10x and one review said Superb build quality high class product,but definately not for an AM3 board as the fan extracts hot air from the graphics card directly in passes it through the cooler. I wonder if the 11x is the same if so thats no good.
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Go to club section in tpu forums, there is a thread called phenom II overclock, there is many guys there have same as yours cpu so u find tips there can help u.
    cookiemonster says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page