1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom 9500 - $199.99 + free shipping @ egg

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by suraswami, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,453 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,735 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    786
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nice, the first sub-$200 quad-core?
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,167 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,073
    Wow, very nice pricing. Intel, where is my Q4400?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,516 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    490
    Location:
    Texas
    what for? get the PH9500 for in your A8N32 :)
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,453 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm what stepping this would be? New stepping is not yet released right? But still it will be better than a X2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Oh man, a Q4400 would be quite interesting. That would probably sell quite well, although it would make Intel's line-up all the more confusing. I think they basically owe it to us since they delayed their new Quads this January... :shadedshu
     
  7. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,798 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    its the errata stepping, thats why its cheaper now, as you can fix the errata witha bios update, quad for under 200 usd is kind a bargin!
    and it should fit into AM2 motherboards just fine (might need a bios update) ^^
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,167 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,073
    But doesn't the performance go into the crapper if you use a errata stepping with a BIOS fix? The fact that it is an errata stepping explains the cheap price though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, if I felt compelled to build an AMD system right now, it would be a pretty tough choice between this and the 5000+ BE. Has AMD released the rumored Phenom BE yet?
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,285 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Dude for 20 bucks more then the 5000+ BE you can get a 6400+ BE for $150, I just bought it.

    I was thinking about getting the Phenom, but there is no BIOS update for me, I still think I made a preaty good choice though.:)
     
  11. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Eh, the 6400 does have the 2x1mb cache, but it's also a Windsor. The 5000+ BE is a pretty interesting chip, and that's what I would have gotten if I decided to go AMD. However, Intel won my graces over to the dark side this last round. Hopefully AMD can become competitive again.
     
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    yes it is.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)