1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom Fails Most AM2 Compatibility Tests

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD promised that Phenom could be operated in most socket AM2 motherboards. Tom's Hardware lab has tried running the new quad core on ten different products - and failed with most of them. The brands, Asus, Biostar, Epox, Foxconn, Gigabyte, MSI and Winfast (Foxconn) usually provide updates for their platforms when new processors are released. Phenom has been available for one month now and even after a BIOS update, most of the boards fail to run the native quad-core processor right. Read the full story here.

    Source: Tom's Hardware
  2. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Hahaha..... Why run Phenom X4 on AM2 Mobo? Just make the CPU run 1/2 performance if its run at all... Use AM2+ Mobo with AMD 770, 790X, 790FX Chipset if u want to run Phenom X4....:rockout:
  3. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Kudos to ASUS though. :toast:
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    bah, this is becoming a joke. If it wasnt for the fact thats its December, id call April fools on all this dissapointing info fromAMD
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,251 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    This is what I was screaming all the time about: you're never guaranteed inter-compatibility. Hat's DFI 590 SLI didn't take a Phenom.
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Figures.. AMD's major selling point (apart from its fabled performance) was its backwards compatability, a drop in quad core replacement for the masses...

    what on Earth have they done... :(

    now we know why AMD offered Phenom testing ONLY at a place they decided, ONLY in a configuration they dictated and that none were sent out for testing all that time ago.

    Cmon AMD, for gods sake do something, and quick!!

    Even if you just admit you fecked up totally, and just slap 2 Black edition dual cores onto the same cpu package

    actually... that would be an awesome chip ;)
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I am starting to think that Intel took a leak in AMD's Cheerios. AMD needs to get their act together and fix these little problems. Seems like loads of bad luck coming from them, I am starting to think a curse, or voodoo :wtf:
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,251 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I bet now nobody's going to buy an AM3 processor thinking his AM2+ board is going to merrily take it.
  9. JoJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    108 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    California
    If you actually read the article, you'll see that of the eight that did not work with Phenom, seven did not have updated BIOS and the one that did was a pre-production motherboard.

    All I'm saying, is that it's not necessarily AMD's fault that the Phenom's don't work in all AM2 boards. Mobo manfacturers need to step up and update their boards BIOS.
  10. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Well done, at least some one on here bothers to read the article fully be for slagging AMD off
    suraswami and NamesDontMatter say thanks.
  11. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    whatever i have asus mobo so it doesnt matter for me
  12. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Well, the opening statement insinuated that the mobos had had their bios's updated.

    and no we are not slagging off AMD, maybe you should read our posts...

    we are dissapointed, not having a go. Each piece of bad news is a blow to all AMD supporters/fans. we just want them to get their act together and deliver what they promise
    Triprift says thanks.
  13. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Amen to that its really sad while amd seem to be prime position for gold at the poo olympics intels only competition atm is themselves. :shadedshu
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,251 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Like I keep telling "AMD is a once bright schoolkid now turned junkie" I've gotten enough disappointments from AMD, enough to opt for better technology at better prices.


    My update history:
    AMD K6 500 MHz -> Athlon XP 2600+ -> Athlon XP 2800+ -> Athlon64 3500+ -> Athlon64 X2 5400+ -> Core 2 Quad Q6600

    What did I get for waiting this long? A slow, bugged quad-core processor that refuses to run on my ASUS M2N-E (Phenom).
  15. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    lmao :roll:
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    There must be some rotten apples in the AMD ranks for AMD to keep on ballsing up like this.
    It's just not right.

    LOL!
    I like it!
    I have to use that quote sometime.
  17. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    I am still convinced that one of their FABs is built on an ancient Indian Burial site, either that, or the CEO over at intel has a "Phenom-voodoo doll" and is slowly pulling the contact pins out knowing very well that phenoms across the world are wincing in pain :(
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,251 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ^Are you talking about the Bangalore fab in India where they make NAND flash? Maybe you're right. I didn't know that. The factory is on the outskirts of the city and in a off-beat place. Cousin works there
  19. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I was told that my mobo will not have an update because the Phenom update is to big for its cache, an 8 mb minimum is needed. That rules out the majority of boards.
  20. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Its not AMD's fault its the board manufactures fault for not having a workable bios for the new AMD cores
  21. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Just as it wasnt Microsofts fault for bugga all stuff working on Vista early on i said that n all the xp lovers booed me down
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Why would they update a bios,when they want to sell u a new board:)

    I wish there was a tool to update any biios for AM2 motherboards/
    WarEagleAU and btarunr say thanks.
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    If you ACTUALLY read the article you would have notices this little line:

    Yes, all of the motherboards DID have updated BIOS. Nice try though.

    They just were not updates that enabled Phenom support. Part of this is AMD's fault and part of it is the Motherboard manufacturer's fault. It is pretty widely known that AMD has gotten down right bad about putting out Engineering Samples for companies to use, and with the L3 erreta it makes the motherboard manufacturers jobs even harder.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    AZ
    see I'll revisist amd when am3 is launched. after all the quads were supposed to come out with am3 if you check their roadmap from 2 years ago. but after intel regained the performance crown, amd rushed the chip through to go on a hybrid socket that seems to be plagued with issues.

    oh well its not the first time they bothced things up. lol I just hope my q6700 lasts long enough for am3.
  25. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hmmm... maybe AMD should have made the new CPU require a new socket altogether. Instead they try to please their current users and end up getting shot anyway. AMD did their part in making the new CPUs fit in the AM2 socket. They should not be blamed for the lack of bios updates on the various motherboards. But all the attacks and negative comments on AMD is really getting old. I come to these forums looking for constructive feedback, personal experiences from people that own the product, and updates on the issues. Instead, the forum is full of negative comments about how the company sucks and is going down the toilet.

    I suppose everybody bashing AMD also happen to be HUGE New England Patriot fans this year? :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page