1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II 955 worth upgrading to?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by wiak, May 8, 2009.

  1. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    i got a Phenom 9850 BE, is the Phenom II 955 BE worth upgrading to?
    i can get a 955 for around $340 here, i can get around $108 from my current 9850 BE but is the other $232 worth the upgrade?

    my motherboard supports Phenom II 955

    i mainly game but i also do some encoding of video/audio

    or should i wait until the 955 drops in price?

     
    Last edited: May 10, 2009
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,868 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Considering my Phenom II 720 @ 3.7Ghz slaughters my old 9950(highest I could get was 3.3Ghz) I would say yes in the perspective of overclocking. If your not goinng to overclock then I would have to say no.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DreamSeller Guest

    +1
     
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    my 9580 BE dont overclock well, but i might overclock the 955, as many has reported it overclocks alot better than the old agena phenoms
    do anyone know if someone with SB600 based board has overclocked their 955s?
     
  5. DreamSeller Guest

    then get it :rockout: good luck with oc'ing!
     
  6. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,868 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    You should have no issues OC'ing with a SB600. Basically all a SB750 would give you is ACC(for the Phenom's, not Phenom II) and RAID 5. You should have some fun:rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
  8. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    its just a bios update issue, should be sorted out by next bios or a beta bios from support
    AMD sendt bios code to Gigabyte, and gigabyte fucked up :O
    but i do know that II 940 works with this board, so that way it looks good
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm surprised you got a Phenom I working on that board :laugh: I'd upgrade it honestly. Gigabyte's first wave of AMD 700 chipsets were god awfull. I think the 955 is worth upgrading too over the Phenom I's, they have a lot more cache and clock higher..
     
  10. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    the GA-MA790FX-DS5 supported the 9850 BE before BIOS F6 thats why i suspect they removed the 9850 BE from their cpu support page

    anything higher than F5 bios = reboot on 9850 BE after some encoding, gaming and harddrive usage
     
  11. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Again, Phenom 2 is a failed attempt when trying to knock out the i7. Decent gaming processor though now that it's instructions got enhanced and OC is FTW.
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    what amd is baggin on is that people who want a decent machine but not the highest end aka i7 would go for a phenom II

    this is to compete with intel core 2 and the new i5 in theory

    EDIT: more cache and higher speeds even at stock speeds its a better design

    even a x3 720Be would be much better
     
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    well given the fact that intel stole some design wins from amd in their i7, dont count amd out just yet, Phenom II is after all just a tweaked phenom with more cache and higher clock

    btw: i7 is a high end workstation chip its not made to compete with Phenom II, and you also got the awful upgrading path with i7, intel has now 3 diffrent sockets(core2+i5+i7), amd got only 1 socket aka AM2 that also works with AM2+ and AM3 CPUs
     
  14. Sejanus47 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Also keep in mind that 775 is pretty much a dead socket now. AM3 will only get better with time hopefully.
     
  15. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    "again, Phenom 2..."

    wrong.


    "now that it's instructions got enhanced"

    sigh. still wrong.
     
  16. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Looking at 3dmark Vantage, I'm scoring double what a i7 965, 1000USD Triple Channel Ram(lets just say 50USD), with 1 HD4890 would produce. (200USD)

    1250USD


    My system is a 955/790FX=420USD have DDR3 set at 1333 which would be 30USD for 2GB of ram, and 2 HD4890 cards. Granted I am OCed like most machines around these parts lol

    850USD



    My systems score
    [​IMG]



    Review I read with the score I'm talking about
    [​IMG]

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/944/14/
     
  17. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I don't get it... if you're an enthusiast and want to go AMD, you'll be paying 255 for the 955, and another 200 for the ASUS M4A79T Deluxe. Basically it totals to around 455, whereas for an i7, customers in the US can pick up an i7 for 245 at Microcenter tax included, and pay another 270-ish for a good X58 mobo. That totals to around 515.

    PII 955 + ASUS M4A79T Deluxe = 455 (Estimate)
    i7 920 + DFI LP UT X58-T3eH8 = 515 (Estimate)

    Of course, you don't HAVE to get the M4A79T, there are cheaper boards out there, but I see that many people have bought the M4A79T so it's always been on my mind.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base

    made that post in your thread

    ummm phenom II is not aimed at i7 at all its aimed at the old intel Core2Quads you know like the 9550 and such that it happens to be priced with.

    its not that amazing of a board the M4A78T-E is a great board.

    now to further your cost thing

    lets say i have an MSI K9A2 platinum and Athlon X2 6000+ (a common system of old) and i want a newer system it will cost $230 for a new phenom II 955 and your done with your upgrade. now lets say you have a C2D E7200 and asus P5Q-PRO (again a common system) it will cost $515+$90 for DDR3 making it $605 to upgrade an intel C2D to an i7 while it will only cost $230 to upgrade to a phenom II from Athlon X2 which is actually older than the LGA775 rig
     
  19. Sejanus47 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    As many have said earlier, PheII is not aimed at dethroning i7. It is aimed at the c2q/c2d platforms since thats what the majority of users are still running. Also keep in mind that majority of p.c. users don't upgrade year to year or when the next big thing comes out. Usually if they can get close to the performance of the top of the line for half the cost then thats what they will usually go for. That's what AMD offers.
    Many reviews show the 955 beating q5550/q9650 clock for clock and o.c. If you need links I'm sure I can find a couple for you.
     
  20. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    i mainly game on a 1280x1024 19" LCD
    so a II 955 should be a better upgrade dont you guys think?
    am more cpu bound than gpu bound on this resolution
    can someone with a 955 downclock theirs and then run 3dmark vantage at performance preset on 2.5ghz, 3.2ghz and 3.6ghz?
     
  21. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Quite Frankly you're better off getting a Phenom II 940 and overclocking it as your motherboard only uses DDR2 memory, and the 940 actually can clock higher than the 955. Would save you some money, getting full performance out of the 955 would require an AM3 motherboard, and DDR3 memory.
     
  22. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    My AMD rig Crunches faster than Chicken Pattys i7 rig lol

    That's what it's benchmarks say at least!

    4Ghz vs 4Ghz.
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    stop doing PII vs i7... PII was made for people not to upgrade their AMD to a core 2...i7 vs PII is just not fair... i7 kills them :) for a new system btw,

    PII 955 + DFI DK AM3 + 4gb ddr3 dual channel = ~483$
    i7 + DFI DK X58 + 3gb of same RAM triple channel = ~502$

    Fair comparaison? IMO for new, i7 all the way... If you want to upgrade, PII... If you want lower budget, PII 720BE or PII 940
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    why do you keep posting this? noone cares it has nothing to do with any of the posts made nor does it have anything to do with the OP if you ahve nothing else to say that has anything to do with upgrading from a 9850 to a 955 stop posting in this thread.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page