1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X4 955 Could be Arriving on April 20th

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    New information from German tech site Hardware-Infos, has lead to the news that AMD's fastest CPU, the Phenom II X4 955, could be available from April 20th this year. Using the AM3 socket, the CPU is made using AMD's latest 45 nm fabrication process, and is clocked in at 3.2 GHz (16*200 MHz). Sporting 512 KB of L2 cache per core, and a 6 MB L3 cache, AMD have managed to match the 125 W TDP of the recently released Phenom II X4 940.

    [​IMG]

    Sources: Expreview , Hardware-Infos
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    These should be awesome. I saw some ES screens and they hit 4ghz at 1.35v..
  3. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    827 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I have my Paypal account comfortably padded to pick one of these up on launch day.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wish I did lol My dad's getting one for our HTPC so I will get to play with one at least :D
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    cpuz doesn't read volts right on phenom 1.35v is stock vcore on them and from there they vould have been at anything i can show you a SS of mine @4.8ghz 1.35v
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,016 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i already have a x3 720 be but these i would rather get, sure no point in upgrading now tho plus i likely saved a few pounds going tri core
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    It be nice to see some Stepped Previous Core CPUs, I hope this 955 is on a Newer stepping than the others tho.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    it will be a C3 revesion memory controller that doesn't have the "bug" were you can't use 4 sticks of ddr3 1333
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    I apologise for being a little negative (If i am with this post)

    but its taken them 3/4months just to come out with a +200mhz on the same core? lol

    with the added ability to use DDR3 which is more or less on par with DDR2. you're probably better off buying a X4 940 & overclocking that instead
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    It took a stepping to get the DDR3 MC fixed, so its understandable as to why it takes time. I do believe that AMD needs to make a major call on the IMC, because they didnt have this problem with implementing DDR, DDR2 and 3 is what is giving them the problems.
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Let's keep this civil guys!
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    it took them a couple months to get 200mhz in the same thermal envelope which is somthing intel struggles with to. a 940 will use about 140w to get 3.2ghz on stock volts remember what happened when amd put out the last batch of 140w chips? now if you undervolt and oc you can easily get 3.2ghz@ below stock vcore and have a 125w (or lower) cpu.


    i have used a 945ES with DDR2 and DDR3 and it shows an improvement while its not a huge one there is an improvement none the less.
  13. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    this is ... only the second part of the second wave :)

    the 3 wave will come :)
  14. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Actually, they did have this exact same problem with the ddr2 memory controllers on the Phenom. Once you put 4 sticks of ddr2-1066 RAM in your motherboard, you cannot run them at that speed (it drops down to ddr2-800 speeds).

    Solutions? Either run the RAM at the lower speed, or jack up the reference clock so that they are running at the higher speed again. I'm sure these solutions also apply for the ddr3 memory controllers on the am3 chips.
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    or you could just set it to 1066 manually thats what i did on mine?
  16. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    If they release a new phenom (+200mhz) every month, people will just wait for the next, and next, keeping at 2 months, there have been a time from each product.
    People forget it abit, and then o0o. so its more like that aswell.

    + memory controller issue
  17. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    This must be AMD's way of saying happy B-day to me, it's on 4/20.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    what i was getting at is AMD didnt have this problem with DDR. They had the problem with DDR2 and DDR3, thats why they were slow to implement the next Ram standard if you can even call it a standard anymore. Only thing that seems to have stayed standard is Motherboards, Cases and Power Supplies (ATX)
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    DDR to DDR2 was a must, not necissarily because speed (that helped), but the big thing was price. Right off the bat DDR2's price tanked, I remember right around when DDR2 released I bought 1GB Geil DDR 400mhz 2-2-5-2 and it was like $125 (ouch), then I would say 5- 6 months later I finally stepped up to DDR2 and I picked up 2GB for like $5 or $50.

    The switch to DDR3 isn't cheap tough and the performance gain is minimal. Although I will admit some cheaper DDR3 sticks are starting to surface, you can pick up 2x2GB DDR3 1600 G.skill setup for like $75 on the egg, so it's getting very tempting.
  20. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    If only you could get one as an gift too ? :p

    my 940 runs nice though :)
  21. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    hopefully it matches the performance of the i7...Then maybe I would go to the AMD side...:D
  22. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Competitive pricewise not speedwise.
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Not even close. They'll be good for their price though.
  24. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    oooo...

    This CPU is coming out on 420 ... Either Buy this.. Or A lot of the other good stuff... Or Buy both and have great fun with them

    Defiantly will be waiting for this CPU instead of a 940 which I was going to purchase in a couple days... As well for me to prepare for Ln2 project, l will be waiting for this CPU

    woot
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Intel doesn't struggle with it. They've been sandbagging for 2 years now because AMD hasn't given them any reason to raise clock speeds until recently. And with the transition to the new sockets, I doubt they are going to put any real effort into raising their clock speeds.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page