1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X4 T Series Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    In a few weeks' time, AMD will be releasing its brand new set of six-core Phenom II X6 processors. These processors are based on the "Thuban" core, which is a socket AM3 implementation of the Istanbul six-core architecture. Along with as many as four Phenom II X6 models including a high-end Black Edition part, AMD will be introducing new quad-core processors under the Phenom II X4 T series. Some of the first two models in this series includes the Phenom II X4 960T and Phenom II X4 940T.

    The Phenom II X4 960T operates at 3.30 GHz, while the 940T runs at 3.00 GHz. What makes these chips different from existing chips based on the Deneb die is that it is in fact based on the Thuban die with two cores disabled. The resulting quad-core chip is codenamed Zosma. The other characteristic feature about not only Zosma, but also Thuban in general, is the introduction of a feature called "Turbo Core". The feature senses performance needs and steps up clock speeds of some cores, while powering down others. The stepping up of clock speed happens on the fly, and using a jump in BClk multiplier by a few units. The new chips also come with the unofficial incentive of being able to unlock the two disabled cores to turn it into a six-core chip. Unlocking may not work in all cases.

    Source: Silicon Madness
    pjladyfox, nt300, H82LUZ73 and 5 others say thanks.
  2. runnin17

    runnin17 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I know this is probably a dumb question at this point, but any news on pricing???
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Very interesting, can't wait, but not sure if I will be able to get one or not, would really liek to go for a Thuban of some sort.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Do Want. :rockout:
  5. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    for the first time in 5 years im sad i dont own an AMD board
  6. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Which cases will unlocking not work in? Will it work in a Cosmos for example?
    devguy says thanks.
  7. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    :roll: I think he means in certain instances unlocking will not work...has nothing to do with your chassis. :slap:
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    LMAO:slap:
  9. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    ROFL COPTER....seriously tho, if there's a good success rate on unlocking the two cores then these will sell very well and I may get one instead of the $199 X6.
  10. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Best. Comment. Evah!!!!!
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Neither, suit-cases.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Fantastic read, lol!
  13. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    laughed my head off - god I love playing the AMD Core lottery
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,416 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    could this T series unlock to 6 core stable?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There's the chance, since the 2 cores are disabled.
  16. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Only if you have Lian Li or Silverstone cases. :D
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I WANT ONE!!! I cant wait, looks like Ill have to take out a loan rofl.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I still think I want a real 6 core
  19. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    what differences between thuban X4 and deneb X4?
    is there a new instruction set?
    no 32nm AMD this year?
  20. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    so are these confirmed no am2+ support?
  21. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    It has turbo boost.
  22. WSP

    WSP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Indonesia
    that's it? just turbo boost?
    AMD should've done better than that to keep with Intel.
    everytime Intel launches a new generation of cpu, it thrown a new instruction set, which in turns, makes processor execute apps faster.

    btw, this is an info about thuban pricing:

    Phenom II X6 Six Core
    1090T Black Edition: 125(W), AM3 Socket, 9MB Cache, 3.2 GHz Freq @ 295 USD
    1055T: 125(W), AM3 Socket, 9MB Cache, 2.8 GHz Freq @ 199 USD

    source

    and yes...no AM2+ support. it's dead already. no future support for 'em. but as always..you can put AM3 processors on an AM2+ mobo.not sure with thuban though
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2010
  23. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    is it me or intel and amd copy themselves each tecnology.

    Eg: Hypertransport >>>> QPI
    On die memory controller >>>>> Intel same
    Intel's turbo >>>>>> AMD's turbo
    True quad core arquitecture (amd) >>>>>> True quad core arquitecture (Intel i7 and later)

    what will be in the next few years? Intel's fusion? :shadedshu
  24. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I believe these X6 have both DDR2 and DDR3 memory controllers, so if bios update is there most 125W capable AM2+ boards can support these.
  25. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    I'm sat here on 8Gb of DDR2 - my god - have you seen the price of memory at the moment! Bloody hell, is there something happening that I don't know about (lots)... so I'd love these chips to work on my 790GX with DDR2...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page