1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.20 GHz

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Omega, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2010
    HXL492, v12dock, jmcslob and 21 others say thanks.
  2. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wew, i never tough it's gonna perform this good.

    i'm glad that now, amd can really compete with intel in higher up
     
  3. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Not as good clock for clock, but I will have to say good enough :toast:
    Although I would like to see a better approach at Turbo Core.
    AMD's Turbo Core is kind of broken as it is right now in terms of core voltage :ohwell:
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
  4. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    839 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Latvia
    This will probably be my next upgrade.

    P.S.
    Your version of Dawn of War II is kinda obsolete, its 2.2.2 now, which will bring changes to performance. (yes, i am fan of that game xD)
     
  5. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    To update results to v2.2 I would have to have all the processors and motherboards at my disposal at all times, which i don't :)
     
  6. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    I will enjoy working with this processor when I build new at years end. Going from a dual core 2.3 to this baby will be a very nice change of pace. Thanks Omega for a great review! BTW what was the issue with the MSI motherboard?
     
  7. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    nice review, very interesting power jump when oced, kinda glad to see that posted out now rather than wait to see the compalints of system blue screens when running an X6 and 5970 quadfire on a 1kw psu lol

    all in all it's not a bad cpu, but it really doesn't look like the 6 core is mattering all that much. I think i'll stick to quads for now.
     
  8. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Random BSOD's or freezing when some bigger applications are started. But we got pre-production sample so you don't have to worry if buying off shelves. Great motherboard, when it works :)
     
    DanTheMan says thanks.
  9. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    I plan on using the ASUS Crosshair IV Formula board you used. I see a lot of great reviews with great overclocking potential. I will not go with the Extreme version coming out later - (prefer ATI cards). I think the Hydra chip setup in the Extreme will be a problem to setup and work correctly. Also I see a lot of folks on Newegg who complain about the Northbridge overheating due to the heatsink not being fastened down correctly. Did you notice this in your sample?
     
  10. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    413 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    With the way DoW2 autoupdates, I guess to keep consistency the bench is running cracked...

    Anyhow, great review of a pretty interesting processor. And the overclocking power consumption chart is a killer. Almost double? Intense.
     
  11. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    I was surprised to see those numbers myself, but it was double-triple checked. Settings in BIOS were set to 1.50 V and the board would add some overvolting up to 1.55 V when under load. Phenom II X4 965 would hit some 300-350 W with 1.50 V.

    I noticed high temps on NB/SB/PW cooler, but I didn't disassemble it to see if bad contact was the issue. Just slapped small quite fan on it to keep it under control.
     
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Most likely due to the 1.5V+ that you were pushing through that chip, other chips might do those clocks with lower voltage ;)
    I guess better cooling should also help.
     
  13. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Wow, i was expecting more, with being higher clocked and having six cores. Sounds like I would be getting a i7 860 cheaper and faster in almost everything. But the good ole Phenom II X4 is still kicking. I probable won't upgrade for at least 1-2 years
     
  14. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    A 1055T should also top out around those clock with good mobo and ram :p
    There you go for an i5 price super value upgrade.
     
  15. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    Because the vcore is pretty high.
     
  16. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    Also cinebench r11.5 is out there for a while :)
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,968 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,393
    I'm thinking overclocking and stability were affected by temperatures in this case. 4.1ghz is excellent while using a smaller air cooler that isn't much better than stock. With Phenom II's if you keep them cool, things like voltage can be lowered and frequencies can be increased. :)
     
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I swear ever time my room buys something for his computer, you guys do a review on something in that area. This review is 4 in a row.

    I believe the only thing really holding AMD back is the memory bandwidth. The triple channel or quad channel should provide even their current CPU's more breathing room and I hope that is the direct they are planning to go with the next architecture.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    such as with the V10 i was able to do the same 4.15ghz with 1.45v which would drop power usage a good chunk.

    chip performed very well IMO and in stock vs stock situation OEM's may be able to push this as a better cpu bang for the buck wise.
     
  20. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Wow, thats very surprising.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    with an overclock the i7 chips probably still beat it but its getting alot closer
     
  22. mrcmark New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice review!

    I just noticed that the temperatures for 4.1 ghz reached 76 degress. Isn't the maximum of the 1090t is only at 63 degrees?
     
  23. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Nice review Omega.

    I was wondering if you tested the undervolting propeties at stock clock speeds?

    I know I can undervolt my 955BE quite a bit and it does drop load power consumption quite a bit also.

    Will you be testing this with the 1090T?

    Thanks
     
  24. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I hate the fact that these use so much power when overclocking, however, that is a universal caveat, but still 440 watts :wtf:.

    I am glad to see that the differences in performance between Intel and AMD are finally drawing closer to each other though.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,968 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,393
    440 watts total system power.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page