1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X6 Series Clock Speeds Revealed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's much talked about six-core processors, the Phenom II X6 series, consists of three models for what we know in good detail: model numbers 1075T, 1055T, and 1035T at the bottom. But what remained a mystery were their clock speeds. A leak by one of the motherboard manufacturers who recently released supportive BIOS updates reveals the clock speed for the entry-level Phenom II X6 1035T to be 2.60 GHz, that of the 1055T to be 2.80 GHz, and of the high-end 1075T to be 3.00 GHz. As revealed earlier, the 1035T has a TDP of 95W, while the 1055T has both 125W and 95W variants in the making, and the 1075T has a TDP of 125W.

    With so many motherboard vendors specifically designing their upcoming products to be ready for "140W TDP", it isn't hard to guess that there could be a higher-end part in the making, which is probably clocked even higher, and comes with the Black Edition branding. All Phenom II X6 processors are based on the "Thuban" core, a port of the Istanbul six-core architecture to the AM3 package. There are six cores with dedicated 512 KB of L2 caches and a shared 6 MB L3 cache (total cache being 9 MB). The new chip will be announced in the weeks to come.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Wile E, CrackerJack and Kei say thanks.
  2. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    Any speculation on prices? If one of these goes for $250 or less, it may be my next upgrade. I don't think $250 is unreasonable seeing as the 965 BE is under $200.
     
  3. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Brilliant - 125w at 3.0 GHz, so some over clocking headroom on a 140w board? Now, just need sub £200 for top model
     
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Really eager to see these release, or even to see the new quads, looks like there will be better performance per clock and want to see where that really puts these bad boys.
     
  5. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    engage! :rockout:
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    I was expecting the top one to be in the 2,4-2,6 GHz range, just like its Istanbul brethren on the server side.
     
  7. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    they'll also release new X4's with a top of 975 at 3.6GHz... bet yah it'll be a disabled X6...
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    looks to be nice speeds and I believe my board will except them with a bios update. Speaking of which I need to do that now.
     
    Kitkat says thanks.
  9. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Not bad for 45 NM!
     
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    some gigabyte boards too did get bios update to use these CPUs (except mine, not yet).

    Good to see AMD kept the clock speed high in order to keep the competition and not doing the same mistake like the Phenom 1s.

    Any game that will really benefit from more than 4 cores?
     
  11. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    nah youl be ok with wot u got :)


    lol already sold it bro lol. Getting ready for IV ;)
     
  12. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Hello! Welcome to Newegg may I take your order?

    I'll take a T1075 3.0GHz please.

    Would you like to make that a meal?

    Could I substitute the DDR2 for DDR3 and exchange the Fermi GTX 480 for a HD 5870? The Fermi gives me indigestion and heats my room.

    Sure! Drive up to the window and have a nice day!

    :rockout: :toast:
     
    brandonwh64, Kei, HossHuge and 2 others say thanks.
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    well they are making 140W boards as they know there are 140W AM3 CPUs out like the 965 Rev.C2
     
  14. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Makes me sad to know that I'll be using a laptop for the next few years.
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Don't be, With Laptopz it comes the ability to avoid being punished by the devil (a.k.a. Wife) due to unnecessary upgrades.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  16. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    6 cores, 3.0 GHz and 125W TDP? Sounds nice to me. If AMD manages to keep the price under 300 bucks, these processors could kick some Intel ass. Pair a Thuban with the upcoming Crosshair IV Formula (which looks sweeet from the previews I've seen) and a 58X0 and you've got a kick-ass rig :D
     
  17. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    I tought that the top end model was 2.8 and not 3.0.
     
  18. Gjohnst4

    Gjohnst4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Batavia IL
    Im excited. I have absolutely no need of six cores but ofcourse I'll buy it!
     
  19. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    maybe i might just sell my i5 750 now for one of thease..
     
  20. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Any word on the much-rumored "C-state performance boost" feature and how it will affect these numbers?
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    3GHz, 6 cores, 9MB cache and only 125W?

    Thats not a bad chip at all. Knowing AMD they'd undervolt fairly well to get the wattage even lower
     
    Kei says thanks.
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Thats pretty damn good for 45nm. Good job AMD!:toast: God I miss AMD:cry:
     
  23. Aleksa

    Aleksa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Interesting analysis of AMD upcoming CPU's

    With Opterons - Istanbul core and Phenoms II - Thurban, Zosma and Deneb CPU cores a new 4th stepping is introduced reducing TDP. AMD has made a wise choice of introducing only 125 TDP CPU's and therefore expending CPU compatibility to AM2+ and AM3 motherboards. Furthermore the existing X4 965 140 - 125 TDP presented a competition between CPU's itself and that is why at this point in time AMD went with only 125 TDP CPU's. AMD Zosma x4 960T is Thurban X6 CPU.

    AMD every 3 - 4 months introduces new stepping reducing TDP and increasing CPU clocks by an average of 100 - 200 Mhz depending on the core and the line of the CPU's. ;)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/10-03-11/71a.jpg
    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/10-03-11/71b.jpg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_future_AMD_microprocessors

    There is headroom for Increasing of HT on existing AMD CPU's theoretically to 2.6 Ghz. AMD AM3 motherboards support HT 3.0 2.6 Ghz + overclock - BIOS changes depending on the motherboard.
    Unethical editing by btarunr
    HT 3.0 2006 2.6 GHz 32-bit 41.6 GB/s 10.4 GB/s 20.8 GB/s
    HT 3.1 2008 3.2 GHz 32-bit 51.2 GB/s 12.8 GB/s 25.6 GB/s

    AMD Athlon 64, Athlon 64 FX, Athlon 64 X2, Athlon X2, Athlon II, Phenom, Phenom II, Sempron, Turion series and later use one 16-bit Hyper Transport link.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperTransport

    P.S Ethics applied :rolleyes:

    Ethically speaking - writing the article should have been moved to a section that covers broader range of hardware related industry practices, hardware specifications and comparisons of upcoming and existing hardware due the exceptional relevancy of the post for the members of the techpowerup.com forum ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Thuban/Zosma use HT 3.0 @ 2400 MHz (4.8 GT/s).
     
    erocker says thanks.
  25. Aleksa

    Aleksa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    AMD Thurban clock speeds revealed

    Phenom II X6 1075T 125W TDP 3.0GHz
    Phenom II X6 1055T 125W and 95W TDP variants 2.8GHz
    Phenom II X6 1035T 95W TDP 2.6GHz
    All have 9MB of cache 6MB L3 + 3MB L2

    http://www.tweaktown.com/news/14540/phenom_ii_x6_clock_speeds_revealed/index.html

    Overclocking headroom on Thurban X6 CPU's is a nice bonus with new stepping with AMD auto overclock technology for 1 and 2 treads - cores of the CPU's ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page