1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom Quad-Core Processor Update

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    You may have seen a few online headlines today indicating “AMD Phenom processor delays.” AMD sent Legit Reviews an e-mail as they would like to clarify where things stand with this on-going roll-out of new true quad-core and triple-core processors.
    • AMD launched its highest-volume versions of AMD Phenom quad-core processors in mid-November (models 9500 and 9600), and we shipped hundreds of thousands in Q4 2007. OEMs demonstrated production AMD Phenom processor-based desktops during 2008 International CES this week.
    • For the enthusiast market, AMD then launched a performance tunable “Black Edition” of the 9600 model in December 2007 to address the enthusiast market. This was an additional quad-core product added to our Q4 roadmap and is now available on major e-tailer sites.
    • AMD will now introduce the AMD Phenom 9700 and 9900 models in Q2 2008. This decision was based on OEM input on how AMD should prioritize its next two waves of AMD Phenom processor models. Based on these customer inputs, AMD will continue to prioritize volume-based Phenom products, including the AMD Phenom triple-core processor introduction for consumer and commercial markets this quarter, and now a new energy–efficient 65W AMD Phenom 9000e series processor in this quarter (instead of Q2). AMD Phenom 9700 and 9900 models will immediately follow next quarter.
    • Our OEM customers are placing more priority on our energy-efficient and triple-core processors, where the volumes and ability to differentiate products take precedence over the more prestigious, but much lower volume, higher performance quad-core products.
    Source: Legit Reviews
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    If they get a higher demand for the tri core phenoms,does that mean they would have to knobble good quads to make them into tri's to meet demand.That would be a bit strange if they did.
  3. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    That'd be great for the people wanting tri-core processors if you could unlock the 4th core. Kinda like locked pipelines on video cards :p
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    No reason to expect the 4th core could ever be unlocked...
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    reading between the lines it means we are gonna be cheap and push the fact 3 uses less leccy than four.. they cant compete with 4 so lets try something different.. energy efficient 3..

    3 is less power hungry than 4.. course the same logic could be applied to 2 but nobody wants that..

    trog
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    its good that AMD listens to what OEMs think
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    they have to OEM's make a good chunk of their sales.
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Exactly. This plays well into a strategy of going into the black for AMD instead of swimming in a sea of Red. Id like to see this "Black edition" 9600 and hope the L3 bug they got is fixed.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    if AMD prices the tris close to the intel dualies they will sell like hotcakes :D well as long as the TLB bug is gone
  10. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    The tri-cores can't possibly have any performance, my x2 is faster than my Phenom 9600 by 300 points in Sciencemark, about 200 points in 3dmark.

    The TLB bug only shows in labs, it is not the problem.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    and the 9600 is @ stock speeds? seems to make sense to me seeing how your X2 is @3+ghz

    also the TLB bug does not only show in labs it will show in anything that using the L3 extensively ie. CAD, inventor, folding@home, and high res video conversion
  12. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I have read a few articles saying it has never been reported in a real world instance, but no matter...

    The Phenom will only clock to 2.46 with my Asus M3A. It is not at stock to be 300 points behind the x2, it is the Phenom's best oc with my board.

    I have a write up on the forum about that board iirc.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    its still 2.46ghz quad vs 3.15ghz dual kinda going to be a difference there dont you think?
  14. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Yeah, but that is kind of my point. How well do you think the tri-cores are going to do against a dual? The tri's to be released are off the currently produced cpu's from what I understand, meaning that it will be less of a performer than what I have. The 5000be has been going on sale ~$100, half the price of the Phenom.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    and intels 45nm duals just hit aus, $250 for a 3GHz wolfdale.

    AMD may have tri cores, but they need to be fast/cheap to compete.
  16. spacejunky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    TX
    no...reading between the lines means chances are 1 of the cores will not pass after production so lets disable the bad core and sell the chip as a tri-core rather than recycling the whole part. it is no different than the logic behind selling different speed procs.
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    it also happen to be the exact thing intel does to create its conroe-L chips

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page