1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom X3 2.3GHz Tested

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD Phenom X3 is supposed to fill the gap between today's dual-core and quad-core processors. First results with the new line of CPUs emerged earlier this weekend. The German site PCGamesHardware has tested AMD Phenom X3 working at 2.3GHz using AMD 790FX motherboard, 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM (CL5-5-5-15), one NVIDIA 8800 GTX OC (626MHz core, 1458MHz shader and 1000MHz memory) and Windows Vista 32-bit OS.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PCGamesHardware
  2. robodude666 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    144 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Pretty good results. If priced right, these can be successful. If these really are quad-cores where one core isn't working, then AMD can save some good money!

    These are expected around mid-Q2 2008, right?
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    they are, at least thats what is being said...
    I don't think you could activate the 4th core though... its damaged anyway... :laugh:
  4. robodude666 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    144 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Well, in that case, if they are quad cores with a defective core then AMD is making a really nice move! Instead of throwing out the bad chips and wasting money (they AMD has little of) they are selling them as triple-core processors :) And their performance isn't even that bad either!

    This is something Intel probably couldn't really do as it would cost them more money since their quad-core is two duals glued together :laugh:.
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Intel has a different scheme. Dies with one defective core become low power notebook chips. A correctly working die, that draws lots of power is a low end unit. The high end dies are ones that draw lease amount of power. The highest binned chips are the low power high freq units, those are the quads.
    peach1971 says thanks.
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    i hate how the chips always say they are from the year before, what confidence to know a brand new chip is already a year old in the companys eyes lol.
  7. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    haha! well i think its because it was delayed so much
  8. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    "AMD Phenom X3 is supposed to fill the gap between today's dual-core and quad-core processors."

    Phenom X3 2.3GHz get 2575 is 3DMark06 CPU score, I get 2627 with my dual @ 3GHz, so mine is better \o/ :p @2.66GHz I get 2367, so 2.3 GHz would be ~2100 and that would be a lot more than Phenom X2. Now if they make those X3s near same price as Core 2 Duos, then AMD got a winner :)
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    dont by fooled by the 2006 cpu score.. its a single core x 3.. your dual is a single core x 2.. being as most things stiil just use one of the cores its the single core score that really tells u how fast the things are..

    sandra does pretty much the same thing.. pretends a quad core is 4 x as fast as a single.. which of course is utter rubbish in a world which is mostly single thread still..

    trog
  10. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    well done AMD, thanks for triggering another Intel price cut, any ideas on how much these triple core cpu's will cost?
  11. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I can't understand why people are pleased with these results. Intel's aging quad core beats all of AMD's new chips fairly easily at stock, and I have to believe the new 45nm chips will absolutely destroy them in benchmarks. Were also not mentioning how easily Intel's chips can OC, gaining more performance for price while staying cool. The Phenom 9500 on NewEgg is almost the same price as the Q6600, it's bugged or so I hear, and gets outperformed. The only thing ATI & AMD got right in my book in the last year or so is the 3800 series.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,237 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    thats not a big jump vs the CPU with Lower Clocks. So it appears its making progress.
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Not everyone overclocks despite how it looks so looking at techpowerup users as a medium xD AMD has been faster in real games with similarly priced processors, don't know if they still are. Not all Core 2s stay cool while OCing. My chip goes superhot if you up the voltage a bit. Same for that Q6600, if it's not G0 stepping.
  14. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    first off you are right not everyone overclocks...i didnt oc my e6420 until i decided that i was going to buy a new processor which i still havent bought yet ....
    second amds athlon cpus were so good... i did not expect the improvement that the phenoms would be leaps and bounds overthem for the simple fact that they were already at a high....on the other hand
    the p4s and the pentium ds... sucked so badly the only way for intel to go was up...not down...and if it werent for amd it would not be this way...
    intel had to do something...and it did and i am glad....i
    reviews have also shown that the nehalem or whatever and these yorkfields do not yield substantial improvement to be labeled as revolutionary products...IMHO i really do believe that yorkfield and nehalem are just improvements in the core architecture...the last one might be a new marchitecture but it is not leaps and bounds as of yet...it may be...and it might not be...
    furthermore the phenom although quite unimpressive given its current state is no way at its best...and we must not forget that
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    athlon64 was great... until the first core2 hit the market. from then on, intel has been in the lead and this doesnt help AMD get anywhere near intel. - dont forget this is compared to the Q6600 (kentsfield) and the new 45nm penryn is on its way out... and they are clocked a lot higher, and can do 4Ghz easily on air cooling. AMD cant keep up.


    i've seen that with allendale chips mostly. (and the new variants, 2MB conroes) on the E4x00 series. I guess they were the failures, and thats why they got dropped to budget chips
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My athlon 64 still does a fine job.
    Wonder what the price of these are going to be and the life span?

    Will game devs use 3 cores in the future or will thay jump straight to utilizing 4 cores?
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    I believe multithreaded means that it takes advantage of any cores there. Doesn't matter how many cores you have.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Thats correct.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    +1 to that - supreme commander scales well enough, on a quad core i can simply set the affinity to less cores and watch my FPS drop with each one.

    to the AMD people: i have an FX-62 here as well (bought off this forum, in fact) and its got NOTHING on the intels for gaming. even at 3Ghz, it cant match a CPU at 1/8th its price (E6750) at stock, let alone OC'd. (gaming, not benchmarks - the AMD system sucks at supreme commander even with the same video card)
  20. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    you must understand that and amd of yesterday is not gonna seriously beat or contend with its successor...

    and to the guy who replied to my post...i think you miss the point... i basically meant that the leaps in improvements from the a64 to phenom should not be that great early...in the long run we will see the benefit alot more...thats why we have a thing called revisions...the leap from the athlon xps to the 64s were enormous because it was a change in the marchitectural structure and design...in reference to the phenom being a change like that is absurd in more ways than one... a look at DAAMITs roadmap would show this....

    also all amd need is just to recoup as much as possible...and to tell you the truth...the reason why you can go to newegg and still see the first batch of phenom 9500 available is because thats the low end...and no one building a system around their so called spider system wants to build it with a weak processor when they know that if they already have an am2 proc they can tough it out so to speak and wait for the better processors that will/should be arriving shortly...i for one is doing that and i own both a am2 sys and a core2...i support em all....i run nvidias chipsets/gpus...intels cpu/chipsets/even gpu (laptop)...amds chipset(790fx)/gpu/and of course their cpus

    So no fanboi here im an avid supporter of them all and i will be getting a q9450, phenom black ed(higher than 2.3 stock), another 3870 and if the 3870 x2 can run cx withe the 3870 then i will just substitute that instead, another 8800gt and i might just change my intel mobo...
  21. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I have the same cpu at the same speed as yours, I can't understand your problem with gaming tho, I only have issues with Crysis but then again I've only got 2GB or ram and a 256MB x1950 Pro! Also, where can I buy an E6750 for 1/8th of the price of an FX-62? The cheapest I've found a retail E6750 in the UK is £116 but the fx-62 can commonly be purchased on fleabay for similar dough if rip-off merchants are avoided, they're not as common a chip I believe! :eek:
  22. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Oh, and GO AMD WOOT WOOT! :D
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Hell yeah, yall are right. I sincerely hope that is what AMD is doing. Makes alot of sense and they could also make X2s if two cores were damaged or no good. If they did it that way, they wouldnt have to have two different lines tooled to make x2s and x4s
  24. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Not bad...
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    The FX chips cost a ton here in aus, so it will be different overseas. The sup com issue is odd, but may just be related to the expansion - everything runs great on the two intel systems, but slow as poop on the AMD system with the 8600GT.

    Price wise, the FX-62 retails for $1100 in aus, while my quad core goes for $350.

    However the phenom just hit the market here, around $350 for the quad 9500 model. This puts aside my price concerns, however i do think the performance will be lacking compared to intel... so these tri-cores better have a good price advantage when they hit.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page