1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom X4 Compared to Intel Core 2 Duo in Crysis

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    There has been a lot of hype surrounding both the AMD Phenom X4 and the AMD RD790. Testers combined both, violated a couple NDAs, and pitted them against current offerings from Intel in one of the most stressing games of all time: Crysis. The chart, if true, speaks for itself...

    [​IMG]

    Source: Nordic Hardware
     
  2. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Stupid AMD. This is why I'm going Intel on my next rig. AMD are just failing to produce something that can beat Intel :(
     
  3. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Damn that made my heart sink. That kinda stinks that an UN-released product can't beat a product thats been out for 1/2 a generation. At least it's competitive...

    That really does suck, more 'mediocre' news from AMD/ATI...:wtf:


    Maybe it's drivers or the game is 'optimized for NVidia'? :laugh:
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,551 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    ok where how and when did they get thier hands on these chips? i think its got to be some intel fans crushing AMD before they get a chance
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    well if them benches are true(and theres no reason to think there is) its gonna be hard for amd to keep up.

    I just read up on the link and that was on an amd 790 chipset for the amd and p35 for the intel.

    EDIT-some better pics here-http://news.expreview.com/2007-10-29/1193590532d6599.html
     
  6. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    I'll believe it when I see official reviews.
     
  7. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Check the 'source' link in the original post...

    Not sure 'Nordic Hardware' is biased EITHER way...

    It's bad news I know....but the first step of grieving is acceptance :roll:


    Whats the line on how much AMD/ATI looses next quarter? Above or below a quarter BILLION in the red (FOR 3 MONTHS!!)?? How long can they stay around this way :cry:
     
  8. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Looks like an official review to me.

    Only one application was reviewed (crysis), but I don't know what would make it 'un-official' as compared to say a TPU! review...

    Looks pretty 'official' to me....


    Maybe you mean with official drivers and released boards? The wait is only a few weeks at this point...


    Same deal when the 2900 came out....

    WTF it doesn't beat the GTX??
    Its the drivers, don't worry it will....

    I'm still waiting for that :D
     
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    wowzers ... and they had all the time to get it right ...
     
  10. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..

    Reviews will be official when the NDA is up and X4s are on the street. Nordic didn't do the acctual review, http://news.expreview.com/2007-10-29/1193590532d6599.html . When TPU, Anandtech, and theTechReport have more comprehensive reviews comparing with various apps. I'll be satisfied.
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I think theres gonna be a lot of crys of "oh its not an official review".If these benches are true then thats the way it is.

    The original is review asian,i think.
     
  12. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I have the strange feeling it will be the same deal (unfortunately) :mad:


    That's what I figured, wait until the 'official' hardware release...not sure how much better they can make it in 2 weeks though...
     
  13. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    For some reason I see promise. If thats the results for the "old" technology then thats pretty good. Waiting for benchies with updated drivers and X3000 series GPU's and the newer chipsets/motherboards. Buss of 1600 vs 1333, I doubt those results are from a production phenom.(200 X 15 - seems strange also).

    :toast:
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well it's not far from it, if it is true.....I wonder how they OC>


    This is only one test, so it will be nice to see other ones.
     
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I noticed that the amd chip was using 1.5+vcore for the 3ghz,wereas the intels were using 1.35+vcore,volts makes heat.Also what vcore will the phenom need for 4ghz? if its even capable of been pushed that high.

    I hope this is down to early board revisions or drivers,i really do.
     
  16. MrW

    MrW New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    194 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Is that chart stating results in frames per second or time to complete demo?
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,291 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,613
    Location:
    Florida
    well i look at it this way im an amd fanboi..however i want a penryn...but i think i will go phenom why? because a mad cheap processor that preforms worse by a whole 5fps is way better than spending the extra 300$$ as for amd and their futire i hope thay make it theirs no doubt that this is a really dark time for amd....my hopes is they pull an intel and instead of slapping more cores on or just spending as little money as possible to keep in the game with ht 3.0 and pci-e 2.0 they throw some mad money into R&D and as i said pull an intel and come out with an arch change ever gen. instead of using old arch to compete with new chips by adding more cores...if you think about it AM2 was the last arch change and theirs were no suggnificant changes other than the mem controller. that means that current amd chips are using the arch they made to stomp P4's in the ghz race...but were past that. they need something new. i mean look at penryn thats next gen coming out soon and want to know something intel claims thairs a bunch of changes more eficents and powerfull than the original conro's we all love....that my friends is improvement amd ought to take a page revamp their little nano wiore network and finally deliver kick ass product.

    my 2cents.
     
  18. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Crysis demo gives FPS in a little paragraph at the end of the benchmark run. More than likely its frames per second

    I absolutely agree. The problem is that Intel is so much bigger than AMD...The nostalgia around the p4 'ghz races' maybe the last 'hurrah' for AMD. With the deficite they run every quarter, how could they even think about spending MORE $$ (they don't have) to pull ahead? They are spending more than they make just to 'catch up'....

    completely agree with the bang for the buck part though. I've built 2 systems in the last 3 months. One does 50fps (intel), the other 40fps (amd)...price difference is $800 for 10 fps!!?
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2007
  19. turtile New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why is the bus speed at 200mhz? I thought the Phenom x4s will be at 400mhz.
     
  20. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    NDA violation says the text, must mean they got samples. It's quite normal for reviewers to have samples before launch.

    Also, this won't do 4GHz, it is already overclocked. Considering Barcelona had scaling problems Phenom will have them too.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Yeah, I'll just wait to see when things get released, however with little to no information actually coming from AMD it doesn't look good. This sucks, I deffinitely prefer using AMD over Intel, but if Intel is faster and most importantly, inexpensive, I will have to go Intel. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
    BTW, I would really love to see the other settings on the test systems mobo's. The AMD chip seems unlocked, and they are only running it @ 200 fsb?! This test is bullshit. I could personally get that Phenom to beat out those Intel chips. I'm sure Nordic Hardware could too, but I'm not sure why they didn't. If you are breaking the NDA anyways, show us everything.
     
  22. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Well, considering how long the A64 was king... ;).
     
  23. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Considering the Phenom apparently scores within about 85-90% of the Intel chips, it would definitely be worth it if the price is right, and knowing AMD, it probably should be. I don't see what everyone's so bummed about.
     
  24. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    US
    even if this is true, how can you compare low L2 and L3 AMD cache to high Intel cache

    lets take slow intel cpu and oc it to 3ghz, then compare and you will see the difference
     
  25. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Thats not a great case either.

    Then you're taking AMD's BEST chip and putting it up against intel's AVERAGE chip


    I think they were going for a BEST v. BEST...and unfortunately thats the best AMD can do :cry:

    But bang for the buck will always sell hardware...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page