1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Plans Massive 45 nm Transition, New CPUs Announced

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 23, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Industry observer DigiTimes, citing anonymous sources, today reported that AMD is planning to move production of its desktop processors to 45 nm node process by the third quarter of this year.
    Source: DigiTimes
    Darren, WarEagleAU and Kei say thanks.
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    All good news here, will be keeping the eye open for maybe a HTPC proc.
  3. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    Any news on new stepping or something?
  4. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    *sigh* I am never going to have an AMD CPU, am I?
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Ten years of Intel loyality begin to shiver.
  6. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Are you talking about me? That's almost creepy. I bought my first Intel PIII ten years ago. But the problem is that it's not beginning to shiver. I really wish AMD would finally come up with something worthwhile.
  7. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    How is the Phenom II 900 series not enough for ya? It's not like you're running a Q9000 series or i7.
  8. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    It's enough compared to what I currently have. But, obviously, if I were going to upgrade, I'd go i7. Which means AMD is still dead to me.
  9. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Lol no about me:p I had one AMD cpu in my eleven years of pc-life, and that was a short period of time. Otherwise Intel all teh way.

    My next big CPU upgrade will definately be AMD.
  10. PlanetCyborg

    PlanetCyborg New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    weer if you dont have nothing smart do say then dont post!!!:shadedshu
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Welcome to the forums PlanetCyborg. Name calling and flaming here are not tolerated unless its meant as a joke. Anyway weer didn't say anything "ignorant" just his opinion.
  12. PlanetCyborg

    PlanetCyborg New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yea sorry !!! but i just hate fanboysm:ohwell:
  13. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Don't hate the fanboy, hate the product:cool:
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yet some people don't realise that Phenom has caught up to the Core 2 arcitecture. Yes, i7 is ahead, but not nearly enough to justify the price. When I bought my Sempron single core, I had enough money to buy a damned E8400 + slammin' mobo, but I went the (very) cheap way and got a chip that pleases me just fine. Hell, sometimes when me and my Uncle are playing BF2 I get in first, and he's got 2 raptors in raid 0 and a 6000+.

    I think that even this sempron, once overclocked to 3GHz (which it does with ease) is enough for any single application. Dual cores come in handy when you have virus scans, pr0n downloads, music playing and a hardcore game going all at once. Any dual core cpu is enough for the average gamin' man. Quad comes in handy when you've got a shitstorm of activity going on all at once, such as video encoding and games at the same time.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    I'm looking real hard at the Phenom II 810 to replace my Athlon X2.

    Saddly, I have to kind of agree with Weer though, AMD's products are still lagging behind. They have caught up to the older, lower end Core 2, but not the high end. The Q6600 released in Jan2007 is still outperforming their top offering today, they still have a lot of ground to make up.

    A single core processor is not enough for todays modern games. Saddly, even dual-cores are being bogged down. The days of a highly clocked dual-core being better than a lower clocked quad are coming to an end. With the increased amounts of physic game developers are cramming into games, and increased realizm, dual-core processor are starting to show they can't keep up.
    tkpenalty and WarEagleAU say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Australia
    @ hat, well said :toast:
  17. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Hardware is so wierd... The PSUs are getting more and more wattage... But the CPUs and GPUs are finding new manufacturing technology for there cpus to use less power.. I would be looking to find more effiency in Psus if I was them..
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    The new manufacturing technology on the CPUs don't make them use less power, it allows increased performance at the same power envolope.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,598 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    367
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    no crap, i don't understand why they keep making larger and larger PSU's....i mean the average system power consumption hasn't really increased at all, even on the enthusiast end where u could xfire the X1950XTX. I suppose the idea of 3-way SLI and up to 4x xfire could call for an increase, especially if you were 4x xfiring HD 4890's.

    Now about all the CPU's, i'm assuming AMD is simply going to stop the retailing of current athlon x2's, cause this is a huge line up they have coming here, and i dont know how all of those CPU's would fit in the market without AMD competing with itself, hence i would think they're going to end their current athlong x2 retailing.
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Australia
    I would like to see a Q6600 beat a Phenom 955 :pimp:


    I would have to start to agree on that, Quad cores seem to be doing very well at gaming these days, even against a high end dual core, but a yr ago i would of said otherwise, and a yr b4 that i would of said ya dreaming lol.
    Honestly it depends on the game, and how many threads it runs, still most games are single threaded hence why i can just still get away with my single core, but i wouldn't go any less then what i run :laugh: Dual cores do the job well enough, and of course if you got the cash a quad core is good for anything and what the future brings. My next rig will be Quad, just when is the question.
  21. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,598 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    367
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Shit the q6600 can't beat the 940, no need to go for 955. The Phenom II 940/55 are meant to compete with q9550/9650 if i'm not mistaken. the 920 is more of the q6600 competition. the intel chip still holds up very very well but it is slightly inferior. But i mean come on, what game today utilizes even the q6600 at 3ghz+ let alone 3.6ghz. Still a solid chip, i personally find if your just a gamer anything over an AMD PII x3 is unnecessary.
    breakfromyou says thanks.
  22. DreamSeller Guest

    at last amd :DDDD
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Time to move my server and backup to 45nm :D
  24. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Im looking forward to this. I'm really looking forward to a upgrade soon maybe late fall.
  25. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Not getting the fray this time

    I just want to point out that the info. about the Phenom II X3 7xx is wrong. These two chips are already 95W Thermal Power, so why would there be a move to where it already is. When this massive release starts, either the PII X3 7xx will be reduced to say....65W (or something) or will not be apart of this release. I hope someone can clear this up. Typo or speculation?
    Last edited: May 23, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page