1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Posts ATI Catalyst Windows 7 Preview Driver Suite

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Windows 7 is Microsoft's next major PC operating system. Early non-retail versions of this OS may have already made it to certain sections of the industry, and this calls for hardware support. AMD is ready with its ATI Catalyst driver suite for Windows 7. The driver itself is titled ATI Catalyst Windows 7 Preview Driver Package. As the name suggests, it is at an experimental/early stage, much like the OS itself. Use of it is not covered by any warranty. It provides support for ATI Radeon HD 2000 series, HD 3000 series, HD 4000 series, derived mobile GPUs, and AMD 7 series chipsets with integrated graphics.

    The 32-bit version of the driver can be downloaded from here, and the 64-bit version here.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2008
    p_o_s_pc and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Is windows 7 seriously going to support 32-bit. Why?

    That is really sad, can understand Vista supporting it but if Windows 7 is supposed to be so great it really needs to just cut out 32bit support so we can move into the future of computing.

    Anyways glad to see AMD is releasing drivers for a young OS. Should help Windows 7 be good from the start and not like Vista with horrible driver support from manufactures.
     
    WarEagleAU and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  4. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Because regardless of whether you believe it or not, there are things that just seem to refuse to work in 64 bit OS'.
     
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    ya, awesome news. supporting it from now on is a great decision.
     
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    drop 32 bit
    add winfs
    add better sound support

    or else ...
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  7. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I'm really very excited to see the Catalyst Crew working so hard on an OS that DOESNT EXIST TO THE CONSUMER. Hey ATI the 4800 series is still F'd how about you work on that this year instead.

    k. Thx

    PS: your 4850 HDMI gaming support blows. ;)
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    I don't think Microsoft has said if Windows 7 is going to be 32-bit regardless of what is in the pre-beta versions that are currently out there. If they do make a 32-bit version so what? Buy the 64-bit version and do not buy 32-bit software, if nobody buys 32-bit products anymore there will be no demand for them and they'll stop selling them.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  9. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    As long as there are the, maybe, 50-80% of the PC using population stuck with 32 bit and don't want to upgrade anytime soon, there'll be 32 bit software. XD
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Please elaborate.
     
  11. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Probably mad that crysis doesn't scale without the use of mods. XD
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Without a doubt, my gaming on HMDI works perfectly, my card is fast, I have it underclocked and play Crysis Warhead 1920x1080 Enthusiast... Whats more to need?

    I think its GREAT they are dedicated to an os that's not out, tbh Nvidia probably is too, its just not readily findable.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    In that case, Microsoft is listening to their largest segment of consumers. They are a business and in it to make money. Making 50-80% of their customers upset with incompatability would be a poor business choice. Generally, the times keep up with the average "Joe", not the innovators or those who seek the best solution.
     
    WarEagleAU and niko084 say thanks.
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    So blame AMD for CryTek's shortfalls ?
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  15. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    There are still widespread issues with the 4850s (cant comment on 4870 or x2) losing sync with monitors and crashing when games are launched. These problems are happening even with the cards at stock settings. I found this happens even more when I try to use HDMI output with crossfire to play a game.

    My biggest grief is the multi-display flickering I get if I launch a 3D application with my extended desktop enabled.

    @ niko with crossfire enabled you will notice issues with your HDMI.


    No I know where blame is to be placed for Crytek's programming.
     
  16. Scyphe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I get a 403 access error when clicking on either links.
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Exactly, people need to stop overlooking this, yes it would be nice but its not going to happen...

    Lets be honest hardware techs out there, how many AMD XP's, P3's and early P4's do you see yet that people STILL want to fix and keep running... I mean lets keep it real here, some people are still happy with Windows 98....
     
  18. wolf2009 Guest

    ^^ I think he's implying the Farcry 2 hotfix driver fiasco, and lag with FC2 in general
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    I will a little. As far as using a single card, everything is for the most part working great. Some people are currently upset with their cards not working properly with a certain game released last Wendsday. That said, ATi has a lot to work on when it comes to Crossfire drivers. They offer little support or information on how to get it setup properly, and besides uninstalling old drivers and installing the new ones, it requires too many extra steps unbeknown to themselves and the average user.
     
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Google 4850 black screen.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    But isn't this mostly happening with people who modify their bios?

    * I remember I did have a problem with one driver install where I got a black screen and it just wouldn't connect to my monitor. A few random hits of the reset button fixed it. I always thought it was just a problem with my generic monitor.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2008
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    No necessarily. I have modified my BIOS now (for lower 2D clocks) but I did notice this before I flashed anything. The other main forum I frequent is seeing many users posting thread after thread asking for a new BIOS to fix this issue with their stock BIOS.



    To add more about the HDMI support issues. Swapping between primary and secondary display with or without crossfire enabled can cause many issues also.

    Dont get me wrong I love my 4850s.... I just really feel ATI has more than enough work to complete ironing out issues with these cards before they start developing software for an unreleased OS
     
  23. Scyphe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    I want fit to try these drivers
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    They probably have multiple dev teams for their drivers, one for vista, one for xp, keeps it clean and clear that way. Being windows 7 uses Vista drivers, they are probably just slightly modified vista drivers for windows 7, I highly doubt they are tweaking these drivers, as they will need to keep their main focus on current use or lose customer base.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page