1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD prepares three-core processors

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by HellasVagabond, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    What's that? A f-ed up quad? :roll:
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    says teh man supporting AMD's "three legged dog"
  3. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    ^ uh, i think you got me wrong there..
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Disabled in bios ;)
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    its not a true tricore, but then again the q6600 isn't even a true quad so we cant even call that a true quad thats been made into a true tricore rofl.
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol...but point is if you have a bad core you can just disable that.
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    This is a way for AMD to rebin all low speed barcelona's. Say you have 4 cores: core1's max is 3.0ghz core2 2.9 core 3 3.1 and core 4 1.8. What makes more sense to you, sell it as a 1.8ghz quad or 2.8ghz triple?
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    lol, even intel can do that. but seeing that intel cannot enter this market, it shows that amd is making true tricores.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Correct, the point is that if it is that easy for my to do with with my motherboard's BIOS, I would think it would be pretty easy for Intel to do it with the processor. They have already demonstrated that they can easily disable one of the cores on their dual-core processors, so it probably is just as easy to disable one on a quad-core.

    The AMD isn't going to be a true tri-core either, it is a quad with a core disabled.

    Who cares of the Q6600 is 4 cores on 1 die or 4 cores on 2 dies on a single package? The effect is the same either way.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you get better performance with a true quad theoretically and the barcelona is kicking the crap out of xeons atm.

    [​IMG]

    barcelona on the left, the true quad, everything on one die. c2q on the right, 2 c2d's strapped together on a single chip.

    oh and if the amd tricores are a quad with a core disabled why cant intel do that?
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    I'm not seeing barcelona kicking the crap out of xeons. The numbers I am seeing show them about equal, if not the xeon is actually performing better, it is rather disappointing.

    People only say "theoretically" when they know it isn't true in practice.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    They will do both

    Make real 3 core chips and bin down quad core chips.

    Are we saying 2.0 Vs 3.0Ghz ?

    I havent read up on them alot.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Are we saying 2.0 Vs 3.0Ghz ?

    I havent read up on them alot.
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Nah clock to clock. Barcelona looks better on the server said because of it's better FPU calculation and because it uses HTT. But Intel looks better on the consumer side because of it's basically better at everything except for FPU and communication.
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    hmm, well barcelona is a server processor so why are we comparing it to the consumer side, it kicks the crap out of intel server cpu's and that is its battlefield. you look to the phenom for a true quad that will kick the crap out of c2q's.
  16. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    DM I must have missed the news post where AMD said they would make true 3 cores. To me that makes no real sense, as thats another redesign of the chip, another chip to produce, and sell. Is it possible that by true tricore they meant all three cores on one die?
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Dude....look at K8 and the opteron versions...it's basically the same chips with a few different tweaks for the opteron. Also, it's not a big victory, it's more of like a Barcelona at 2 ghz performs on par with like a 2.3 or 2.4 some ghz core 2 quad. When Nehlam debuts with CSI....then the serve side will become much more interesting...but of course AMD is on top there for now.
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    well if a 2.0 barcelona is like a 2.4 c2q, then we can expect the phenom to be loads better since its a barcelona thats optimized for consumer performance.
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Because the server side and consumer side use processors that are the exact same architecture, and hence have very very similar results.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    you do understand intel sells celerons currently which are bad dual cores rebinned to single core with low cache correct?


    AMD making tri core would be cool IF it meant no more single core chips, low end would be dual cores semprons and then mid was phenom X3 high end phenom X4



    nothing new there you know WR cpuz clocks are made with quads disabled to 1x core correct?
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ok...Barcelona beats c2d in FPU and system communications....crush the core 2's. Something like 30% better. But on the other side c2d beats k10 in Integer by about 30%. Then system communication doesn't have as big as an impact on the consumer side. Using consumer tests K10 has been shown to be a moderate 10% faster on the consumer side (vs. K8). Remember..c2d beats K8 by an average of 20-30%.
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2007
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    see now thats like saying K8 beats P4 by XX% hey why dont we compare it to K7 too?






    Hey you know what else that means K10 beats K8 by ~30-40% :roll:
  23. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Well....anandtech didn't do a direct comparison to an Intel chip, just a K8. And that's 10% better than a K8...not core 2.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    oh ok should fix that in your other post cause it reads better than C2D mate ;)
    kwchang007 says thanks.
  25. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol ok thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page