1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Preparing Phenom II TWKR for Enthusiast Market

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    :roll:
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not fake. Charlie needs something to post.

    The reason bus multiplier unlocked some later Athlon64 X2 and Phenom series chips were given the "Black Edition" branding, was because they didn't want to dilute "FX". When Phenom/Opteron Barcelona was being made, everyone had high expectations. They thought it would cream everything Intel had. Back then it was believed that unlocked Phenoms would carry the "FX" branding. The architecture fell flat on its face...back to using "Black Edition", enter Phenom 9600 BE. Plans to develop an FX model for socket-1207 (DSDC) were called off. TWKR is "limited edition", as its batch would have emerged from manual binning of the chip. It could be hard to find a chip that does 4+ GHz stable on water.

    "FX" was always meant to be exclusive. AMD tried to first make it exclusive for socket-939, then fooled around with the lineup a bit (making the socket mainstream), and then pushed FX to Socket 1207, with only one AM2 model (FX-62) along the way. There are more socket-1207 FX models (FX 70, 72, 74) than there are AM2 (FX 62). The new FX will take over, though I doubt the upgrade path for NVIDIA nForce 680a SLI (that which drove FX-7x) will resume.

    Yes, if Istanbul can run on s-1207, an AM3/AM2+ variant is possible. Don't expect future 6/8/12 core AMD chips to continue on the AM3 path though. The socket doesn't provide wiring for more than two memory channels.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  3. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247

    Very well spoken bta.
    There will be an FX line for socket AM3. AMD will give you some more info on it in the Sept-Oct timeframe. I do not know the details, so please don't ask me for more. If I have updates I will post them in the appropriate thread.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  4. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    its an interesting market addition, but most core i7 920's will do 4+ ghz on reasonable volts, especially D0's, and i bet they'll be cheaper.

    just get one before theyre aXXed!
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    this is phenom 2 extreme
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  6. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    42 means 4.2ghz stock clock speed...hehee
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    More like Phenom II "The best we could manage" Edition, to be honest.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  8. DreamSeller Guest

    i hope thats not true :eek:
     
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sadly it is. They have nothing better than K10 at the moment, and are making no concrete steps towards a future architecture, other than announcing tentative dates and feeling good about it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
    odameyer says thanks.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    more like stop gap
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    To what?
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  12. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    better process and higher clocks, which is a stop gap until bulldozer

    but they're not for sale, so it doesn't matter
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    So I stand with "Best we can manage" Edition. Normally when you call something a "stop gap", you are placing it in a time-frame close to something else. There is no "something else" in sights.

    An example for a "stop-gap" that makes sense is GeForce 9800 GX2. It did its job till GTX 280 came about.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  14. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    companies tend to tell you something when they want you to know archetectures arent made created and fabricated THE WEEK they are anounced. They take years to make. There is no nothing else in OUR sights cause they havent TOLD us, just as you didnt know this existed before it was anounced to u lol. At the same time i kinda want it to be a endchip why not ... i dont wanna see a 995 id rather u just give the end so we can stop playin around lol.

    ahahaha
    I hope its the 95w one.

    yeah im sure it will i want to know more!!!! Right now its just a publicity pawn for Maingear blog hits, which i care ABSOF*K!NGLUTELY nothing about lol. I just want to know when we can get it!! lol

    awwwww i hope not rofl
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
    odameyer says thanks.
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    this maybe the last of the Phenom IIs, making way for the 6 core parts, probably on a 32nm node, who knows
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If that's the case, both AMD and Intel are going to go with the multiple socket arrangement, and there will be a lot of pissed off AMD fans, and a lot of Intel fans screaming "I told you so" about AMD screwing customers with socket changes just like Intel does at times.

    I was hoping that AMD was going to release a 6 core AM3 chip. I hope there is a way around the limitation you mentioned.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    cool we wait and see tests , seems this is my next move
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    AMD is claiming the Server Market will run off Quad Channel Ram, so im not sure where that puts the Desktop Lineup at unless if AMD decides to release the CPUs on the 1207 (Desktop and then have the Dual/Quad 1207 (Server/Workstation) That would technically cut overall costs by having everything on the same socket, but i guess in turn would slow down upgrade ability of the platform.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If the 6-core chip is based on the same die Istanbul has, then yes, a 6-core AM3 chip is possible. I'm talking about the 6/8/12 core AMD chips that are made for AMD G34 socket, that support quad-channel memory.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  20. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Ugh I just hope AMD has a breakthrough...their stock is slumping and I'm pretty invested in it, haha.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  21. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/14205/1/

    :'(

    "Tweaker is an overclocker part that can stand much more voltage and it gets cherry picked. This is supposed to be the best chip in the wafer, so if there are 200 K10.5 on a single wafer, this one is the best one out of the 200."
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  22. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    It already slumped to nothing below 2 dollars a while back. If you haven't checked, it's now at 4.26. I didn't have the cash back then, otherwise, I would've used every cent to buy it at or below 2 bucks :cry:

    There was a few stocks I wanted (GE and stuff). I'd be a rich man if I had the initial investment cash (considering all the ups and downs). :mad:
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  23. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    odameyer says thanks.
  24. DreamSeller Guest

    anyone has seen these :
    Phenom II 42 TWKR Black Edition Screens... :
    [​IMG]

    the author says that the product will be announced after the date of 30 June!
     
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Wow! ̍̎̏̐̑̒̓̔̕̚̕̚ ̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠̊̋̌̍̎̏̚MHZ!!!
     
    odameyer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page