1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Previews Early 2010 Releases

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TheMailMan78, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    555 BE? Yet more dual core garbage! However 5970 X2! Now we are talkin!
    Source
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  2. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    5970x2????? is that a mistake or what?
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    I dont know but anything with X2 I want! However chances are it was a typo. :laugh:
     
  4. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I guess so?
    Must be more like an 5870x2 or it's really an 5970x2 4 GPU's on one card? :eek: :rolleyes:
     
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    no what the article is saying is that all current gpu's will be cheaper thats all. but instead of calling it the 5970 they typo'ed and called it the 5970X2.
     
  6. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Why would they make a 5870x2 when a 5870x2 is a 5970 XD.Wierd comment moment!
    Lols!

    Imagine 6400 !@*&# STREAM PROCESSORS ON A CARD THAT WAS A RECORD 20 INCHES LONG, AND HAD A DEDICATED 4x8pin POWER CONNECTOR HUB, AND IT WAS TRIPLE SLOT!!!

    That would be the end of the world. Card would way more then a hand full of hardrives LMAO!!!!
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I know that i was just pointing out how that must be a miss typed unless they really getting an 5970x2 with 4 gpu's out but that is unlikely that's way i put this smilly :rolleyes: as yeah sure!...
     
  8. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    I want E-peen 20inch HD5970x2 card to be made, benched under LN2 and way overvolted and overclocked, just so I can turn fraps on watching 100+ fps in crysis with a overclocked HD 5970x2 card, and a 5Ghz cherry picked i7 for underphase, just know that I CAN RUN CRYSIS of all games.

    It isnt about "But can it run Crysis anymore" Its now about "But can it run GTA 4" :roll:


    GTA 4 basicly turns crysis in to childs play, thanks to poorly coded port of awsomeniss.
    But you have to admit when you have up to 300-400 objects with random physx, 10-20cars on the screen with physx at least, and 50+ AI doing random actions, while your rendaring big Viewdistance, And shadows are moving all around the map, because of fast time, then its ganna take a LITTLE bit resources from your computers pretty "performance"
     
  9. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    and the tdp of a 5970X2 would be....:rockout:
     
  10. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Lets just say my Corsair TX 750w would be out of buisniss, on be on the FS forums in a week.
     
  11. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It would have to be a dual PCB card and very difficult to cool. :laugh:
     
  12. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    XFX will probably Offer a combo on newegg, for a Single Stage Phase kit, with free shipping XD!!!!
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    No one is talking about the 555 BE. Odd.
     
  14. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It's another dual core.
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    Yeah I know but thats a BIG claim AMD is making calling it "The fastest dual core ever made."
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,956 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Yup. Exactly the same as their other dual core CPU's with a higher clock. Nothing really new from AMD until we see the 6 core desktop CPU, then Bulldozer. :ohwell:
     
  17. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    im sure the boys with the 8 thread I7s are shaking right now :p
     
  18. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Yeah! the fastest dual core ever made in all amd dual core cpu's , not intel cpu's
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    Thats not what they said. They say fastest dual core eva!
     
  20. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Another typo, to get people like us reading the article :laugh:
     
  21. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    i think a dual core over 3.2ghz (afik amd's former fastest X2, the 6400+) will appeal well to some people. wtih L3 cache and other improvements it will be great for gaming and other apps with few threads!
     
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    How about a 666BE with a red PCB substrate and flames on the IHS. :twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,337 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    AMD says it will be the company's "fastest-ever dual-core CPU,"

    I copied that from your quote, but I agree more dual cores :/ Curious what the 5970x2 is a typo for, what I'm eagerly awaiting is a 5870 2GB, After trying the horribly optimized GTA 4, I decided moving onto 2GB just to be safe is the best bet.
     
  24. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    You do realize the X2 555 will utilize RB-C3 right?
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,297 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,781
    I hate all of you!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page