1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD processor has stopped working properly

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by OmgItsParm, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I was playing this online FPS game my whole screen turned red and the game crashed with a note saying "AMD processor has stopped working properly". What can I do to fix this?
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,637 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    first provide all of your system specs.
     
    jgunning and hellrazor say thanks.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    That's an interesting message. I assume you have an AMD video card with up to date drivers?
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,637 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    you thinking it might be VPU recovery, because AMD afaik dont have that option anymore in drivers, havent seen it since AGP
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I figure the driver just crashed.
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,637 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    well it doesnt state the VPU but the Processor. SO it could be the CPU/Chipset itself or the GPU.

    Driver Issue (Motherboard/GPU) or overheating (CPU, Chipset, GPU)
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    CPU's don't crash to windows...SB's freeze the entire system, I assume the same from a chipset.
     
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Likely to be VPU recover due to faulty hard ware, potentially overheating GPU, but either way too little info to give solid advice.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  9. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    These are my specs :

    Windows 7
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650@ 3.20GHz
    Installed memory : 6.00 GB
    System type : 64-bit
    ATI Radeon HD 5570

    I hope I wrote that right. xD
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Reinstall the drivers for AMD.
     
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah AMD VPU recover.
    Could be a number of things.
    First start off with what CDAWall suggested.
    Just remember to unistall your current AMD drivers first.

    When was the last time you cleaned out your case?
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,637 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    while he is at it, if there is chipset drivers, update those too
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    That is not an AMD processor, it's an Intel processor.

    The only AMD component in that rig is the video card which seems congruent with the screen turning red. Start with updating the video card driver.

    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx
     
  14. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im kind of new to this so can someone tell me step by step (noob-friendly) on what to do and how to update my drivers and how to clean them up? Thanks :D
     
  15. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,929 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    http://www.amd.com/us/Pages/AMDHomePage.aspx go there select desktop graphics>Radeon HD>HD5XXX>Windows 7 64 bit..

    Download and then run the installation Do express install and if it asks to create a directory click OK
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  16. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late reply, so I did everything you did and Im on a page that shows me 3 download links, this is what they say.

    1st DL link : Catalyst Software Suite with .NET 4 Support

    2nd DL link : AMD Catalyst Application Profiles

    3rd DL link : Latest Beta Driver with .NET 4.0 Support

    Which one do I download? Sorry for being sucha noob. -_- xD
     
  17. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    First.
     
  18. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay so I downloaded the first one and then it asked me to create a folder in which its going to get saved in and I clicked ok and then I installed it, am I good now?
     
  19. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Play games again and see if you get the message again.

    You can also stress test your card to make sure it's not overheating, but it was more likely a driver issue that you may have solved by updating your drivers.
     
  20. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So downloading that package made me update my drivers? What happens to my old drivers? So confuzled :$ haha.
     
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
  22. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay so the same thing happened AGAIN. But this time instead of saying "AMD processor has stopped working properly" it said AMD processor has stopped working properly and has successfully recovered". But it still froze everything and crashed my game.
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    why did you ask for help if you are not going to follow what we tell you?
     
  24. OmgItsParm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am I downloaded the package thats all I did so far?
     
  25. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    1. Go to www.amd.com and download the most current drivers for your card and operating system.

    2. In Windows 7 go to Start > Control Panel > Programs and features. In Windows XP go to Start > Control Panel > Add and remove programs

    3. Look for AMD Catalyst Install Manager in the list of installed programs. Right click on it and select "Change".

    3A. If you don't find the AMD Catalyst Install Manager then most likely you're using the default Windows drivers which are severely outdated. If that's the case skip to step 5.

    4. Select the third option "Uninstall all the AMD software". Follow the instructions. Restart your PC.

    5. Go to your downloads folder and run the driver installer you downloaded in step 1. Select express installation and follow the instructions. Restart your PC after installing.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page