1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 6950 1024 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
    Imhoteps, yogurt_21 and DaC say thanks.
  2. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Wow, no performance difference vs 2GB version even @ 2560x1600.
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    good card i guess, id buy it.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    No kidding... are there any applications out there that would fill the 1GB to the point of swapping?
  5. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    why does the power consumption increase soo much?? 1GB card should guzzle lesser power shouldn't it than the 2GB one?
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Because of the higher stock voltage this one have 1,19v and the 2gb version had 1,11v .
  7. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    Wow, good card at a great price considering no drop in performance from big 2G brother. I wonder if AMD will do a 1 GB version of 6970? BTW - Great review W1zzard!
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Lots, when running 3 monitors and AA.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    First hand?
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Wow Nice review! W1z
    If my 2gb model hadn't unlocked I think I'd be more tha a little annoyed with the extra cost...I'm a little bit more than surprised that this card held it's own with less memory at higher resolutions
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep. Pretty much and DX10/11 title and multimon needs 1280mb+. Seems pretty obvious, as otherwise, nVidia would have made GTX590 with 570 GPUs, IMHO. 1GB cards just aren't enough for Eyefinity.
  12. Vargtass

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    If anyone can confirm unlock of shaders - this will be my next GPU.

    Nice review W1zzard.
  13. dieterd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Am I onlyone a bit confused about that 6950 1gb is reviewd here only now? I mean on many other portas that happend in end of januarry and that priceing is also not updatd, cuz now hd 6870 costs less like 20-30$ from hd 6950 1gb price (in my mind it still has no chance vs this HD 6950 1gb). In many other test there were no issues with more power draw or more heat (vs 2gb version). and in all other tests preformance is exacty the same for both 1gb and 2gb
    theeldest says thanks.
  14. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Maybe less memory = tighter memory timings?

    It is odd to see it out perform the 2gb version in just about everything :confused:
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  15. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    560 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Latvia
    And odd that voltage is also higher, I wonder why is that.
    But anyway, great review and great performance!
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Important point to distiguish the two cards. Thx.
  17. Salsoolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    same here :)
    didnt wizz review it when the card was out?
  18. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    605 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Finally a worth card to upgrade from the hd4850.... it just needs to drop to around $180 and lower now... which a top card hadn't hit for a long time since HD4xxxx
  19. halfwaythere New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I'm not questioning w1zzards methods but the choice of drivers for the amd cards is a bit strange. Also a 3.8Ghz Bloomfield might be holding some of these babies down a bit hence the lack of difference between models.

    In the end this card ends up where its supposed to be, the 560 territory. I'm not sure they are advertising the unlocking feature enough since a couple of AIBs are using the switch to actually switch between an 6950 and a 6970 and are guaranteeing the unlock-ability.
  20. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    W1zzard, do you know if AMD will release a 6970 1 GB card?
  21. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Because it's a leakier chip. Considering that all four versions off the 6900 series use exactly the same chip, AMD have decided to designate the best binned chips for the 6990 and the worst binned ones for the 6950-1GB.
  22. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Great review as always.... But the only Problem I have with it is.... I have not seen this 6950 1gb OEM version anywhere for sale. Everyone of the 6950 1gb cards I have seen are designed from the distributer (XFX/Sapphire/HIS/EXC.....). The good news is I noticed most of them are using the same types of PCB as each other. But the bad news is it is different from the PCB shown in this review. Which makes it tough to water cool if someone was interested. Also on most of the 1gb cards I have noticed the VRM's are on the other side then the VRM's shown on this review.

    Hey if someone can show me were to pick up the OEM versions of the card that would be awesome....But if you can't find one don't expect the PCB and Chips location to be the same. Just a heads up.

    ***Edit****
    I take that back it looks like the 6950 1gb Direct CU might have a similar PCB and VReg location as to the OEM AMD Radeon 6950 1gb card. But I don't know if it is the same. I didn't look that close at it.
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure is. the lower cost of the 1GB cards makes them an attractive option for those jsut runnig a single monitor. There are a couple of game, striaght out, that need 2GB, like GTA4, etc...but those are few and far between when running one monitor.
  24. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    This card is win, best card for the money as of right now.
  25. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Looks like a nice card for a nice price.:)

    Still gonna keep my GTX 470 for now though, as it's still a great performer in games. So i'll probably wait till the next gen cards arrive.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page