1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 6950 1024 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,371 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    AZ
    awesome card, good to see that the memory doesn't change anything. I'd been figuring it didn't. (well unless you're trying for an uber res like cad does but if you can afford 3 monitors you can afford the 2gb version of this card, or rather a pair of them in crossfire)
  2. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Wow it beat the 470 in Metro 2033. Good to see my 5850 crossfire is still holding strong :) I am waiting for the 7xxx. I was semi impressed by the 6xxx series.
  3. jamsbong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Judging from the higher voltage and the low sale price. It is quite possible that this is a relatively low quality chip. That would mean the chances of modding the chip to become 6970 1gb will be low.

    I imagine, increasing voltage and possibly underclocking the GPU will be necessary for a successful mod.

    I wonder if anyone has gotten experience modding this card?
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I have looked it up but too my sadness.... I can find know one who has tried to do so. Although...my XFX 6950 1gb Cards do have the Duel BIOS switch option..... I could definetly see something like a XFX 6950 1gb Flash to a ASUS 6950 1gb Direct CU flash... where maybe it's not a 6970 but it would have the CCC Cap removed??? Something to consider. At very least I bet I could flash it to the 1gb XFX Black version
  5. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    buy two stick of this for $470, and bam.. you got 6990 twins :rolleyes:

    for noise and heat, i will wait until non-reference card arrive..
  6. Arska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Um, so did W1z mod this card to a 6970 with a bios flash or not? With a quick look I couldn't find any such info. As far as I could see, it was just speculation based on the overclockability of the review card.

    Surely this is very important for enthusiasts. I mean, I haven't seen a bios for 6970 1GB around, for obvious reasons.
  7. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,157 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    "Modding the card to HD 6970 also seems possible, making this a nice toy for tweakers and overclockers." wait.... WHAT?!
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
  9. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Nice W1zz. My XFX 1gb HD 6950 arrives on Friday, and I intend to try and unlock the shaders using the utility on the forums. I'll let y'all know how it goes!

    Note: Do NOT try flashing an HD 6970 BIOS. There's really no need, as with the higher stock voltage of the 1GB version, one could easily overclock the card to 6970 speeds after unlocking the shaders.

    And BTW, I highly doubt that a 3.8Ghz Bloomfield would hold back this card at 1080p or higher. At high resolutions, my Phenom II at 3.75Ghz should perform almost identically.
  10. runevirage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Why is the performance/watt so different from the 2GB version when both the performance and TDP are extremely similar?
  11. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
    Wow its really a top performance card for a cheap price. I dont think performance/dollar has ever been better.

    BTW theres an error on the value and conclusion page

    "AMD's Radeon HD 6850 1 GB can be found online for around $235"
  12. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Please be sure to post your results. I am thinking about doing the same thing. Except strapping a full coverage waterblock on it and OC'ing the crud outa it.
  13. Calleidoscope New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I use a HD R6950 oc gigabyte 1 GB windforce . if i use the shader unlocker bios will it have any effect on my VGA or will it break it ?
  14. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Sorry I forgot to post back in this thread. Unlocked just fine. I haven't overclocked it much, as the CCC limits are very low, and I haven't bothered to use a 3rd party util yet.

    Although, my XFX card is a reference card (has the BIOS switch and everything), but with a custom cooler. Many are saying that they've had worse luck with the non-reference 1GB cards (like the XFX card with dual fans), but I cannot confirm.
    alecela says thanks.
  15. alecela New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Would you mind posting the model/part # of your XFX card? Tx.
  16. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Mine is the XFX with the ZNFC suffix and dual BIOS switch. But remember, even if you get the same model as I have, you aren't guaranteed that the shaders will unlock. There's a good chance, but you never know...
  17. Gabkicks

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    189 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I just ordered a powercolor 1gb 6950, but amazon says it wont ship for 2-4 weeks. Hopefully I can turn it into a 1gb 6970 :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page