1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 6990 Press Deck Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    While it is slated for release on the 8th of this month, AMD's Radeon HD 6990 was detailed to sections of the industry. It wasn't long before someone leaked the press deck, revealing all the specifications and AMD performance estimates. The Radeon HD 6990 is a dual-GPU graphics card making use of two AMD Cayman GPUs in internal CrossFire. Cayman is the same GPU that is at the center of Radeon HD 6950 and HD 6970.

    In the HD 6990, each Cayman is configured to use all 1536 of its VLIW4 stream processors. The GPU core is clocked at 830 MHz, and memory at 1250 MHz (5.00 GHz GDDR5 effective). The 256-bit wide memory interface of each GPU is populated with 2 GB of memory, setting the total board memory to 4 GB. Display IO includes five connectors, including one DVI and four mini-DisplayPort 1.2. While the HD 6990 is said to outperform GeForce GTX 580, AMD is also bracing itself for NVIDIA's dual-GPU GTX 590, with HD 6990 OC variants following an official specification of 880 MHz core, and the same 5.00 GHz memory.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Two power two GPUs with over 2.64 billion transistors, you need a lot of power. AMD has engineered its PCB to deliver up to 450W of power. This should give you a rough idea of what the HD 6990 will draw with its PowerTune feature disabled. AMD is known for using high-quality digital PWM components on its high-end reference boards, the trend is kept up with. The HD 6990 uses two 4+2 phase PWM circuitry per GPU. The inductors and PWM chips are hand-picked to offer the least leakage and highest efficiency. The PowerTune technology throttles power to ensure the best energy efficiency. This is both a boon and a bane for enthusiasts.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Lastly, the business-end of the presentation. AMD will have relaxed CCC overdrive limits to let you crank up the clock speeds. With a typical max board power of 375W and a PCB designed for 450W, there should be some a decent overclocking headroom. In its comparison with NVIDIA products, AMD used the GeForce GTX 580, the green team's fastest graphics card. When put through batteries of DirectX 9, DirectX 10/10.1, DirectX 11, and OpenGL game tests, AMD claims its HD 6990 to be faster than GTX 580 by 67% average, and up to 110% faster in some cases. The HD 6990 OC variant is claimed to push that a little higher, with up to 8% increase in performance over the HD 6990 reference.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: DonanimHaber
    jmcslob and Jack Doph say thanks.
  2. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    OK....So you can play Crysis on the jumbo tron...nice
    So it's like a dual unlocked 6950
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    All that huge power circuitry and the PCIe splitter should be right under the fan, which is good if they use that cooling advantage. Hopefully this thing will push some decent numbers and finally replace the HD 5970.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    slightly downclocked dual 6970 more like as the OC version runs at stock 6970 speeds. Waiting for some leaked specs of the 590 as well now
  5. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Can we soon get over this crysis nonsense crap.
    My pc plays crysis at 1080P very high no problems, and I don't even have a high end pc......
    There is games that require more and look like shit, in fact, black ops runs at same fps as crysis so something is crytek really doing right.

    Just outdated, and i've tried crysis 2 and really don't have any issues there either :p

    anyways, BEAST! can't see how nvidia can top this card, without blowing the 500W territory.
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    As expected it uses two 8-pin.
  7. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    Expected price? I hope not more than 550EUR.
  8. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    More like 600 euros, I think.
  9. JEskandari New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't get it if typical Gaming power is 350w or 415w
    then what about 300w Maximum of PCI slot ?
  10. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,595 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    London
    An overvoltaged GTX 480 draws more than 350w and that's with a 6+8 pin power connector.
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    FUCK YEAH!........that iz all...
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    My two or three cents:

    2 x 2GB memory is going to be quite substantial over the 1.5GB at that resolution (2560x1600) so it's a no brainer it should perform well against a single gpu.

    With AA cranked up on newer games it's lead is much less impressive. Given that with any absolute top end several hundred dollar card, you'd expect to play with maximum AA settings, it would be interesting to see the relative performance charts.

    I'm sure NV will do the same when their card comes out. We can wait for W1zz to compare them - hopefully do a 3 screen match up?
  13. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    except 2x2gb memory still only equals 2gb usable frame buffer
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yes, I know but each card still has that 2GB. Come to think of it, when will Sapphire make a proper one like they did with their 4GB 5970? That would be nice. :)
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    6990 performance = -15% to 20% from 2x6970 16x by 16x with 2.0 performance
  16. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    450W that's it?

    C'mon I expected more from you guys

    :disappointed::nutkick:
  17. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Same here. I expected more creativity from the red team.:shadedshu
  18. halfwaythere New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I'm afraid something got lost in translation: they are not releasing two cards but one with an oc switch.

    [​IMG]
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  19. ivicagmc

    ivicagmc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Serbia
    If it's cold, just put that card and play games... 450W, that is more than my PC all together...
  20. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,160 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Suddenly "6870x2" seems a much more sensible idea, given the power consumption figures.
    AsRock says thanks.
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    amd spelling fail

    Code:
     [B]A[/B]MD 
     [B]U[/B]r 
     [B]S[/B]pelling 
    s[B]U[/B]cks 
     [B]M[/B]uch
    Easo, Cheeseball, DanishDevil and 5 others say thanks.
  23. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    1.120 vs 1.175


    *wink* :laugh:
  25. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    er no,

    1.12 for factory.... 1,175 for overclock.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page