1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7790 CrossFire

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2013
    HalfAHertz says thanks.
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    typo on the facebook post.


    "Wondere"

    Spot on review it seems, AMD is making some gains, but still need to step up the software side.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Nihilus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    217 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Good review, but who the heck would want to xfire this? A 7870 comes darn close in many cases, also has 2 gb when needed. This is the kind of thing a cheap pc company would do.
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,735 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yea I would rather go 670 or 7950...

    But hey if you get one for $150 now you could always pick one up down the road for cheap and hopefully CFX will work better.
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013
  5. stupido

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    149 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Belgium
    When I went with my CF setup (2 x 6850), the "normal" price for 6850 was ~180 euro, but I found mine on a sale for 130 euros; so actually I saved 100 euro in total, while keeping the performance level of 360 euro... so in my case I think CF was worth path to go... :)
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    how do you feel about the driver issues in some games? what do you do in such a case? just turn off cf ?
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,559 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Would have been nice to see how the 7790 CFX scaled up to 6870s in CFX since a single 7790 is almost the same performance but using less power. CFX usually works for me but I just disable it if it doesn't. More often than not most of what I play can deal with one GPU and I just start jacking up AA and AF when I have spare GPU power.
  8. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    585 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    One more review showing how much trouble a multi card setup causes...

    I am wondering if it would be a good idea for nVidia and AMD to actually release a high end "GPU solution" in their next gen series that would include two cards that would work in what we call today SLi/Xfire but would be seen as 1 card by the computer.
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,180 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,172
    Agreed, but isnt the main point of crossfire NOT to go out and buy 2 cards (because as you have mentioned often there are single card solutions with similar price/performance) but as a cost effective upgrade path for the future.
  10. stupido

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    149 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Belgium
    I'm always updating drivers (last time few days ago) and no issues so far... Also never disabled the CF and the cards are set to 850 MHz clock (they are from different manufacturers: Sapphire & Asus - long story)
    But this should be taken with caution since I don't play that often lately;
    if I get some time, I usually end up in BF3... there I rarely see drop below 35-37 fps and I don't feel any stutter... Maybe there is, but it is not annoying me... or maybe I don't feel it because I'm busy trying not to get killed... :D

    and maybe outside of the question but I feel it deserves mentioning: I moved from Vista x64 to W8 x64 and everything looks much smoother now + increase in fps and decrease in max CPU load (from 95+ down to 80-85%)

    Yesterday I bought Crysis 3, but haven't time to try it yet :(
    If you want feedback, I'll get back ASAP...
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    I actually don't play any of the non-scaling xfire games...Most big name games that are not RPG's don't suck for support it might very well be AMD trying to hit the games with the most players first.
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    This is already done on one pcb ala 7990 gtx690.
    Imho xfire is for a year or two down the road when one gpu starts to give low fps, for example I got a second five series for an eighth of the cost of the first card and a total 400 uk notes (320+80) and its prolonged the life of both and a year down the road the problems with xfire have been fixed , xfire on fives is obv problem free for me now though that does make it a tougher choice to upgrade if you're value oriented.
  13. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    Like the above post my 5 series cards (5770 + 5750) have delighted me with the graphics they can produce and never give me any issues T
    They do have a psu each and tons of extra fans. the fan on the 5770 is loud on 100% so i use it at 60% and supplement it with 3 quieter fans.
    Wont be long till they appear on ebay for 30 quid and then i shall add a third !!!!
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,992 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    why the hell do you run 2 PSUs? Just get a decent 750w made by corsair and be done with it.
  15. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    I run 2 because i can, cos i like the tumbling mess of cables spewing from the guts of the monster i created.

    But mainly because i bought a 750 w psu off ebay last night for 16 quid. !!!!

    Mine was a cheap build and im proud of it, the way it looks, the way it performs.
    You are right of course it doesnt make much sense running 2 ( they are both 500 w) i thought as a stop gap id rather under stress 2 x 500w psu than overstress a single one till i found a tidy psu in my price range to power my hd 5770 and 5750.
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,992 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    I hope I dont need to tell you the horror stories about buying cheap PSUs (even if you daisy chain them to spread the load)

    There was a recent review on JonnyGURU where a user sent in a chinese made noname/unbranded 550w PSU that litterally cost less then what they paid the kids in the sweatshops to make it.

    Needless to say the results were not suprisingly as cringeworthy as watching a bus full of baby seals on a slow conveyor belt heading towards the open door of an industrial incinerator.

    JonnyGuru is down at the moment so i cant link you to the review.

    If you value the hardware you put in your system then you will appreciate it more if it doesnt disappear into a puff of black smoke and refuse to ever start up again.
  17. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    i hear what youre saying dude. The 750 w is second hand ..... i,m a tight Taffy.
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,245 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,015
    16 pounds for a 750W PSU is bad news no matter what. Seriously. What make and model? It could very well be bloody dangerous.
  19. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    Just for info its a Delta Electronics 750. Taiwanese, reputable and available for not much on ebay.

    I agree a cheap psu is a liability for all sorts of reasons and in my experience is the least reliable of all pc components.
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,992 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    whose the manufacturer of the 750w?

    Its better to save to and go with a name thats more reputable. you get a PSU of high quality and somewhere to RMA the PSU back to incase it needs fixing not to mention most of your hardware in operational condition as it didnt fry it before it went down.

    My Corsair 1050 cost me about £160-£170 but at the end of the day It comes with 7years warranty and I power a lot of expensive hardware.

    Dont be a fool and think you have dodged a bullet just because you saved money going with the cheapest POS PSU you could get your hands on. You can sing and dance if you buy a reputable brand such as the Corsair HX750 or Antec 750w High Current Pro for £20-30 less then its R.R.P
  21. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    If i had the money i would buy the best of everything, like a lot of forum members are able to do.

    Does second hand mean rubbish ..... not necessarily. Does Taiwanese mean rubbish.......i dont think so.

    Anyway..... i think we digress from the topic of this thread.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,992 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Depends on the Unit youre purchasing,
    Personally Ive sold a Corsair HX750 on ebay and a Antec Quattro 850w to a TPU member - If you are too slow to notice the difference between quality top notch PSU and a paperwieght that will turn your PC into an even bigger paperweight then maybe custom building isnt for you and you should stick with Pre-made OEM builds. At least those machins are made to a decent spec based on their budget and the hardware they use to build it they use with ALL their other builds which if found faulty will get recalled if you are within warranty or applicable for a recall.

    Lol you have no idea - China/Taiwan are among the biggest bootleggers and counterfeiters in the world. Just because most hardware manufacturers and other tech giants are based in Taiwan doesnt mean that they are incapable of making bad products.

    If the secondhand PSU is not of a reputable brand that has been tested, reviewed and owned by many a enthusiast then It might as well be something you use to shove between a door to stop it closing and left there.

    You might not have tonnes of money to spend but whose to say that you cant 'save up' for something decent



    Your comments show just how short sighted, arrogant and how far from the truth you really are.
  23. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    seems ive really got up your nose. Good
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,992 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Not really.

    Just trying to pass on some good advice.

    I can argue my point and 99% of the members here will back me up on the points I make but If you wont/refuse to listen then Its your prerogative.

    I personally dont care at all, but TPU would be nomore useful then a cheap diner menu at some cafe in a hidden layby If the members here didnt offer advice based on their experiences and thats one of the reasons why Im still here while many are not.

    you are free to do as you wish of course, but it would be wise to listen
  25. CAPSLOCKSTUCK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    29 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wales
    I am listening and i havent actually disagreed with anything you have said.

    i,m sure you dont want to argue any more than i do. I appreciate your advice is given with the best intentions.

    Not everything that comes out of China and Taiwan is counterfeit as i,m sure you would bear testimony.

    i like cheap and cheerful it makes me happy. I drive a 22 year old Toyota Hilux which never misses a beat and having 2 previous owners doesnt make it bad or suspect.

    Anyway... nice to chew the fat with you.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page