1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7850 & HD 7870 2048 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 3, 2012.

  1. HD64G

    HD64G

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Nice thought W1z! It is very obvious that newer drivers will add much in 7970, 7950, at least in most popular or recent games with new game engines. :toast:
     
  2. jamsbong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Agree, the 79xx cards don't have optimised drivers yet.

    Here is a speculative thought, is ATI sandbaging, holding out the real performance and getting ready for Kepler? I bet there will be a driver release on the day when Kepler hits the reviewers. hehehe... At least I hope that is the case. One thing is definitely true, there is more within the 79xx cards than what we are seeing now.
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,979 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,818
    those changes will be included with the new bulldozer driver that doubles performance

    definitely not true. the two lower end GPUs have disabled shaders, but not tahiti
     
    xenocide says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :eek:






    :confused:





    :respect:





    :rolleyes:
     
  5. jamsbong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I like the sound of that! hahaha...:toast:
     
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,433 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    Minnesota, United States of Norway
    So what I get from this is that AMD was rather stupid not to give Tahiti 48 or 64 ROPS. Would love to see a crossfire 7870 review.


    /awaits Kepler
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :banghead:

    I kinda wonder about this myself.
     
  8. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    +2 I'm an idiot and i wonder as well :confused:

    Maybe they really are sandbagging a bit, toying with consumer's/Nvidia :wtf:

    Edit: W1zz class review as always :toast:
     
  9. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Because then they can relaunch the same GPU reworked with 48/64 ROP's at the end of the year or in the fall as the 8xxx series!
     
  10. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Come on guys it just cannot be ROPs. If it had 40 ROPs, that'd be a 25% increase, so more than enough.

    And now die size, how much do you think ROPs take, 1/4th of the die being very very generous*? So having 25% more ROPs would increase die size by 1/16, a little more than 5%. You just don't skimp 5% of die area on your flagship GPU if it's going to hurt performance in any significant way, you just don't. And in fact, you just don't put R&D money researching how to decouple your ROPs from memory controller, so as to being able to go 384 bit if a lower number of ROPs is going to hurt performance. It's not ROPs.

    * The last AMD GPU die shot that I'm aware of is RV770. 800 SPs, 16 ROPs. The orange area is suposed to be ROPs + cache + other things. And also note that Tahiti has a higher SP-to-ROP ratio and it's shaders are more advanced and have more functionality so the area devoted to shaders is probably bigger.

    [​IMG]
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    The extra performance comes from dual on die gpus as i thought dual geometry and setup makes for less waste and a good half bin . Plus the circuits pre tested prior to trunity bonus its doin well.
    Gd review wiz:)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  12. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    442 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Epic sarcasm.....LOL
     
  13. Homeles New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Here's a nice diarrhea-brown colored die shot of Tahiti:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Nihilus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    219 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    THIS is the card that the Xbox 3 needs! An under clocked "7860" would be perfect. We know sony is going AMD now so if they would use this card instead of the Xbox's foretold 6670, I will be canceling my Live account.
    As for the price, they are a bit high but AMD is definitely in the driver's seat. Remember the price of Nvidia's cards before the hd 4800's and then after. Green team will have the 680 big dog to brag about for 1% of the market, but AMD will have lots of room to play for the rest of the 99% of the market. Maybe this generation, AMD will have an hd 4890 type card to counter back....or maybe they wont need it! :p
     
  15. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    a massive upgrade from my GTX460 1gb and 5850... dang.... want one of two 7870 or must wait for kepler performance first
     
  16. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    AMD will be in the driver's seat when they make better drivers.
     
  17. symmetrical New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    65 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Agreed.

    I actually just pulled the trigger on 2 6950's that are unlocked to 6970s for $415 after seeing these reviews.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm sure 2 7870s would be boss, but not for $349 a piece or 2 for $761 (w/ tax) or even 2 7850s for $543 (w/ tax).
     
  18. mrb00m

    mrb00m

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Why you no!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,842 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The 78xx & 79xx series cards are very competitive with nvidia, so hopefully they will start a price war. We really need one.

    I'm waiting to see what Kepler offers.
     
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think anyone is saying the performance is lacking due to the ROP's just curious why ATi stay's with 30 ROP's and less on their card's; at the same time additional ROP's would/could increase performance. I don't think ATi has ever used more than 30 ROP's on any card :confused:
     
  21. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    I have the impresion they said that 7800 and 7900 are so close to each ther because of a lack of ROPs in HD7900 cards. And probably don't use more ROPs because they are not needed. ROPs only play an important role as resolution and AA goes up, since ROPs mostly take care of blending the final pixels. Unless there's a requirement for higher resolution, there's no much need for more ROPs. 16 ROPs were mostly sufficient for 1920x1200 a long time ago already, and 32 are probably more than sufficient for 2560x1600. i.e HD7970 has 29.6 GPixel/s and 2560x1600 is 4 Mpixel. So about 7400 frames can be blended per second or at 100 fps 74 blends per frame, so in theory at least more than enough for blending all the stages with 32xAA and then some...

    Nvidia used more because they have them coupled to the memory controllers, as did AMD before Tahiti, so for 384 bits you get 48, 320 bit 40 and so on, but the advantage of extra ROPs is negligible.
     
  22. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    W1zzard, why do you not include 1920x1080 in your reviews? It's currently the most common resolution among gamers.

    There is a few (silly) shortcomings in your reviews that prevent them from being the best on the web. Close though.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,085 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    dont matter what color it is aslong as it performs well. AMDs Unlocked Athlon XPs were all brown, XP-Ms being Green and Locked models being yellow or green.

    So I dont see how your thoughts really pertain to anything...

    N Yo Wattup

    Just look at 1920x1200 for a relative performance number for 1080p.

    1080vs 1200, Ill take 1200 anyday, n plus its more standard than 1080 for monitor resolutions.

    I dont see the point ur trying to make, ATI/AMD users that have been here for sometime are not having any issues with drivers, i havent hand any since Before Cat 4.3s Launched, same with customers ive built machines for.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,320 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    I dont think he was trying to start anything from the post you quoted. Jesus, this place is brutal sometimes.

    You want to see trolling...here: You been here for almost 5 years... find the edit button instead of double posting or the multi quote button n00b. :p (really... I KID I KID! But I hope you see the difference.)
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,085 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    fyi i removed the double post before you posted thanks for noticing:nutkick: lol

    N Jr i oughta take you out back n whip you lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page