1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7900 ''Tahiti'' Pictured, 384-bit Memory Bus Confirmed?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    [yt]Vh78T--ZUxY[/yt]
     
  2. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    back to red PCB ?
     
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    The batmobile was awful and the plastic accents looked like they belonged on a McDonalds happy meal toy. 6xxx was a radical improvement over that POS. What you see here isn't really indicative of anything. They very likely will change the PCB color and give it a back plate, and may possible even change the cooler accents before this thing rolls out.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,869 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Where GTX 580's backplate went. Backplate heaven.
     
  5. makwy2

    makwy2

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    486 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    I'll be needing a couple of those please.
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Ok now let we see, they say first it will be XDR2, and now it have 384 bit.
    For expect at least it will be have 1200mhz memory frequency, so how much be the total bandwidh??
    No way only PCI-E 3.0 right !
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    384 bit on DDR5/whatever comes after that sounds quite nice.
     
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I never liked their red PCB design but I am sure there will be plenty to choose from :D. Keen to see how these go against their current 6xxx series.
     
  9. General Lee

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    52 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    It's an engineering sample, the final product most likely won't have a red pcb.
     
  10. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i'll like to see a green PCB you know why ......hhhhhh

    just wonder why they need 384 bit as current used 256 provided enough bandwidth is the gpu not so good as expected or too powerfull?
     
  11. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I'm throwing money at the screen but nothings happening?!?!?
     
  12. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Found this...

    REAL Final Specs for AMD's GCN Lineup. Release date set for December with shipping products in January

    HD7970 ( Tahiti XT )
    Core's 2048 operate at 1GHz clock
    3GB of GDDR5 memory at 5.5GHz
    Memory Bandwidth 264GB/s
    Memory Bus Width 384-bits
    Texture Units 128
    ROPs 64
    Manufacturing Process TSMC 28nm
    Price $449

    HD7950 ( Tahiti Pro )
    Core's 1920 operate at 900MHz clock
    3GB of GDDR5 memory at 5.0GHz
    Memory Bandwidth 240GB/s
    Memory Bus Width 384-bits
    Texture Units 120
    ROPs 60
    Manufacturing Process TSMC 28nm
    Price $349

    HD7990 ( New Zealand ) HD7970 X2 Double all specs "March Realease"
    6GB of GDDR5 memory at 5.5GHz
    Price $699.

    LINK--> http://www.brightsideofnews.com/new...-mix-gcn-with-vliw4--vliw5-architectures.aspx

    Other Site say this...

    [​IMG]

    LINK--> http://www.asrotech.com/2011/09/07/radeon-hd-7900-series-will-be-released-in-q1-of-2012/
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,869 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  14. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I always like the odd numbered ATI series for some strange reason...So sounds like time to upgrade soon (budget permitting):ohwell:
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,132 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,766
    Location:
    US
    If the screw holes to the VRM area stay like that ( saying i was in the market for a new card ) it be the 1st one i get with a 3rd party cooler on it as i like being able to screw the VRM heatsinks on and not relay on sticky tape.

    So if this is the 7970 i really hope they changed it too how they normally are. I think there is a good chance of them changing it as the 6970 VRM's have a much less heat issue than the cards before.
     
  16. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,071 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    That's your negative opinion,:wtf: they are beast!
     
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I agree with Lionheart, I liked a lot the design on my old 5970 it was awesomely nasty if you get what I mean :D
    The HD6990s box cooler is just well... a box cooler with a sticker and a NOISY fan :| (not that the 5970 was quiet eh)
     
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Do these cores have any IPC improvements or can they be directly compared to the 69xx cards?
     
  19. leonard_222003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    241 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    SK-1 and everyone that says upgrade , FOR WHAT ? except 1-2 games with absurd level of detail that you can't even spot , there is no game that will need all that power.
    PC's have now like over xxx times the power of a console and they still lack games that trully use all that power , of course except 1-2 games.
    We are in for a shock when a new generetation of consoles arrives with a HD6850 or GTX460 and blows away everything PC's had until that day , we will probably need a crossfire of these things to play on medium those console games.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I hope they finally offer a performance upgrade from my pair of 3870X2's or GTX470. If they do I will upgrade as the 3870X2's are finally showing age and being let down by lack of memory. As for consoles blowing anything away...The PS3 has a NV "7800GTX" and on release that wasn't the top dog anymore. I doubt next gen consoles will be any different. They will have good video, but it will never be better than PC and never has.
     
  21. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I'm looking forward to it.

    Maybe I'm naive, but I think that next gen consoles will have more in common with PC (graphics API, eg: Xbox and Windows) and thus, PC-ports will have better relative performance.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    because the width of the bus and the amount of ram available are linked.

    with the same density memory modules, you'd get:
    256 bit with 1GB or 2GB ram

    yet with the same density on a 384 bit bus, you'd have 50% more ram for:
    1.5GB/3GB


    while they may not need the bandwidth, the 50% greater ram is far more cost effective than doubling to 2GB on all the cards.
     
  23. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
  24. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    What's the bet they're running those cards in a Faildozer system...
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    AMD has a small fab line in Markham, Ontario.
     
    catnipkiller says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page