1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition 3072 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It sounds to me like you might need that new driver to make it work properly, then. It looks to like the GHz cards and the regular cards are physically identical, with the extra performance simply being gained by software tuning with the BIOS and driver working together to make it happen - the 7970 is inherently very overclockable, after all. So, it sounds like enthusiasts will simply be able to "get" the GHz edition with a BIOS flash and a new driver. Nice.

    Tom's Hardware tested this card and found that the regular 7970 actually consumed around 5W less than the GHz card too, among other things.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    Nope. Used the 12.7 beta and driver didn't want to load, same as W1zzard. No BSOD this time though.
     
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,273 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Same here, the drivers wouldn't load... Some problem with the unzipping :wtf:
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,446 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    probably a sku string... that cant be copied in the bios.
     
    fullinfusion and cadaveca say thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,273 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Yeah something was weird with the driver for sure.
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's what I was gonna post. Same thing happens to some 6950 users with 6970 BIOS. Driver sees teh difference when loading up as the OS starts, and prevents OS boot.

    Futuremark's hardware recognition stuff recognizes this difference as well.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,446 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Well Wizzard and the RBE creator stated they added a few encryption schematics to the 7000 series to prevent major modification.

    To extent it prevents them having to rma boards due to a improper bios being used since i hear many cases of bios flashes going bad because they were not done properly or because the code was modified.
     
  8. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Yeah, basically.
    I'm not saying its bad, just saying to my quotee what justifies the "high price".

    Sorry for the misunderstanding ^.^
     
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,933 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    If we're using just that CLBenchmark, I don't see how your 5870 and 5850 does better than the 480 and 470?

    And based on this at least, the 480 is still better than the 5870.
     
  10. alienstorexxx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    27 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    you mean games like cod 4 or battleforge? do you really care to play WoW on 160fps or 120fps? stop joking. these are high end cards.

    go see other reviews. tpu has got some good things but you have to adjust your sight if you don't want to be fooled.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure, and it's not a bad thing, IMHO. It just means that in order to be able to pull off mods like this not only requires a BIOS mod, but also a driver mod. This shouldn't be that big of a deal, or perhaps a immensely huge undertaking, depending on how the driver works.


    Frankly, I think it's rather brilliant. :laugh:

    Usually these dual-BIOS cards have one BIOS that you just cannot flash. SO there's no surprise that they work this way. It might be easier with a non-reference, single-BIOS card.
     
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    ...Instead of flashing wouldn't it just be as easy as putting the card at 1GHz and raising the vram to 1500MHz and say its a 1GHz edition, no need to flash the card.


    [​IMG]
     
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    no, it works fine with 12.4 (didn't test any other drivers)
     
  14. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    NVM. Just realized page 2 is one sentence only.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  15. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    What are you talking about ? This is just an Overclocked 7970, plain and simple, yet you all compared it to a Stock GTX 680. Do i need to continue ? Really ?

    It's like getting two Stock cars...Car A (GTX 680) beats Car B (Radeon HD 7970)....Then Car B gets a tune (Overclock = 7970GHz) and beats Car A (GTX 680).....Tell me that you can see where I'm going with this.....

    Personally i don't care who has the fastest card out there as long as we see New products and not the same ones "tuned".
     
  16. atikkur

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    45 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta
    yes.. this is AMD factory overclocked card, but without accoustic and temperature treatment.. .:laugh:
    just a hurry action to take back the king status, haill to new king. :respect:
     
  17. kadeep New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    while car A (GTX 680) itself tune 100-250 automatically all the times, don't talk innocent
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,446 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    "Personally i don't care who has the fastest card out there as long as we see New products and not the same ones "tuned".

    To me it sounds like you do hence why your posting here.
     
  19. alienstorexxx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    27 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    don't waste your time probably he is just trolling you. or maybe he don't know anything he is talking about but thinks those stars are giving him some king of "truth power".
     
  20. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,933 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    And car B (HD 7970 GHz Edition) tries to tune itself as well, but all it can do was lower clocks in Blu-Ray playback. :laugh:
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,446 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    honestly blue ray shouldnt require that many clocks to run.
     
  22. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,933 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    You're missing the point though, the HD 7970 GHz Edition also has a feature similar to the GTX 600 cards where they should also overclock themselves a bit depending on the load, yet on any high-load it encounters it doesn't do so. Except for downclocking itself for Blu-Ray playback, which is really nothing new.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,446 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    you mean variable clock tuning
     
  24. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    [yt]3_gst-Ryh3g[/yt]

    nice...i was hoping more of a boost for $50 on ATI's part.
     
  25. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    AMD is now under pressure to produce extreme preformance for the 7990.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page