1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7990 Clock Speeds, Chip-Configuration Surface

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Closely trailing the launch of NVIDIA's GeForce GTX 680, and keeping up with its own streak of launching a new graphics card line each month since January, AMD will unveil its Radeon HD 7990 graphics card in April, or so it's reported. INPAI reports the clock-speed and chip-configuration of the upcoming dual-GPU monstrosity. The Radeon HD 7990 packs two 28 nm "Tahiti" GPUs as a "Crossfire on a stick" solution. The Tahiti chips will be clocked at 850 MHz (core), and 1250 MHz (5.00 GHz effective) memory.

    The chip-configuration of each of the two Tahiti chips will be the same as that on the Radeon HD 7970, with 2048 Graphics CoreNext stream processors, 128 TMUs, 32 ROPs, and 384-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, holding 3 GB of memory, each. The total memory on the card will hence be 6 GB. With the Radeon HD 7970 refusing to budge from its US $549 price-point, it's quite natural that the Radeon HD 7990 will be priced very high. It is gunning to retain the performance crown that's currently disputed between the Radeon HD 6990 and GeForce GTX 590.

    [​IMG]

    Source: INPAI
     
    Super XP and NHKS say thanks.
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I know this will make me upgrade, I have a weakness for dual GPU graphics... :eek:
     
  3. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    Why don't they make dual GPU cards with 7870s ? In terms of performance/watt, 7870s are way better than 7970s (and possibly Kepler).
     
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    It will not be enough to beat the dual GK104. Either. If Kepler is so efficient as it's said to be then I see no problem in clocking the GKs higher. Anyway, the price will be mind boggling. For both...
     
  5. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    If the 7970 remains at 549, it stands to reason that the 7990 will be something like 899? :eek:
     
  6. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,137 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    More than likely. I expect an $800-1000 price tag.
     
  7. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    amd will once again have the fastest gfx in the world:)
     
  8. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    [​IMG]
    Slowish core clocks.... We should expect 2x 8 pin power connectors yes?
     
  9. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    If EVGA did Radeons, you could expect such custom cards, 7870 2Win? :D


    As for the 7990, this is what the card will look like... ;)

    [​IMG]

    yep... its photoshopped.. i just came across this
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Nice. Probably this card will be the most expensive card in history even more than nVidia 8800 Ultra. My bet is for an 999$ price of the card...
     
  11. General Lee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    7970 won't remain at launch prices, you can buy them already for ~450€, which is where it should be compared to 500-550€ for a GTX 680.

    It's hard to say whether 7990 would be better with Pitcairn than Tahiti. Certainly for gaming Pitcairn is much more efficient, but Tahiti does bring a lot of bandwidth and compute capabilities, plus more VRAM. 2GB really isn't enough for that class of card, they'd need to double it to 4GB. But in the end for gaming purposes I can see 2xPitcairn being more efficient solution than underclocked 2xTahiti. Not that either one has a chance against GK104, it's efficiency is better by far.
     
  12. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    365 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Ya'll have to look at the big picture.

    Sure, they could make a 7950x2 with higher core clocks and it would be a more-efficient (for most games) product, but then their load until 20nm would be more-or-less blown.

    The business reality is they are going to want to sell you a more efficient product in the same pci-e spec with the same 28nm process again next year to show 'progress'. Maybe 8800 series based.

    Who knows...maybe that one will have 8gb (since these cards are for mainly multi-monitor and those could use a 4gb per gpu buffer)...
     
  13. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
  14. radarblade New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    48 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the middle of Nowhere
    Either way, I see the 690 smoking past the 7990 what so ever. :D
     
  15. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    should wait before you come to that conclusion, if AMD comes up with a good clocking card dual core for not much more than the 7970 I will buy it lol
     
  16. GAR

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    And amd will have the worst drivers once again :laugh:
     
  17. option350z

    option350z New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Gurnee, IL
    Who wants to guess the length of this beast? I'm think 13.5 inches maybe haha. After all I think the longest card recently to date was the 5970?
     
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,292 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Finally! This is what I've been waiting for! :pimp:
     
  19. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
  20. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Finland
    I can see the PR highlights already, HD 7990 1K$ Edition. "World's fastest money sucker, upto 340% more expensive than previous generation" :pimp:
     
    nonkX3 says thanks.
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    And once again no one will care because their drivers are made of FAIL.
     
  22. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Finland
    I came to same conclusion with HD 5870 CF, hardware is good but quality control with drivers is sloppy at best.
     
  23. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293

    read again the article. It has 3GB of RAM for EACH Gpu totaling 6GB....BTARUN avatar saiz everything! ;):shadedshu
     
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I loved my 4870 x2, and my 2 5870's but after the umteenth time my games broke, and or I had to change video quality settings to prevent crashing, and artifacting, I said enough and went to Nvidia, and haven't had a single driver problem since, except for a glitch with F@H GPU manager. AMD can make good hardware, but they need to scrap their driver sweat and start from scratch!:shadedshu
     
  25. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,292 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Dont blame the drivers on your FAIL'S :D I mean that :twitch:
    I been using ati sense the 3 series and upgraded every year and I never had issues or problems with any of there cards.... But has Nvidia fucked up hmmm? I never heard of an ati driver that caused a gpu to go up in smoke! Oh yeah that was Nvidia that smoked up the house :roll:
     
    hardcore_gamer and Yo_Wattup say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page