1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon R9 295 X2 8192 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,506 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Just one?
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,837
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Only one slot on mITX boards... and this is the only way to get Crossfire 290 in that form-factor. So yeah, just one. VGA will cost more than the rest of the rig combined. :p
  3. Suka

    Suka

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    47 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Steam Servers
    100%?
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    From 2 to 4 fps :p
  5. Suka

    Suka

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    47 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Steam Servers
    lolz
  6. UaVaj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    was recently posted in the wrong subforum and someone got soft. was told to repost here to get the answer.

    this a 690 question regarding this review. NOT a question about - 295x2 nor 290x.

    Review - 04/08/14 - AMD Radeon R9 295x2 8gb
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/R9_295_X2/9.html

    *** shows 690 with 335.23 with BF4 at 5760x1080 4xAA to be 36.3 fps


    Review - 03/04/14 - PowerColor r9 290x PCS+ 4gb
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Powercolor/R9_290X_PCS_Plus/9.html

    *** shows 690 with 331.82 with BF4 at 5760x1080 4xAA to be 26.1 fps


    what cause this 39% boost? typo error for 26.3fps?
    what happen here? what is the correct value?
  7. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Powercolor/R9_290X_PCS_Plus/5.html
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/R9_295_X2/5.html

    Notice the differences in the test setup for both reviews: that's the reason.
  8. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    232 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    I had a couple of thoughts that I was going to pose to you yesterday.

    What CPU are you using? The reason I ask is because BF4 is well known to be CPU intensive also. W1zzard used a i7 4770k @4.2 GHz. Perhaps in addition to the improved Nvidia drivers between tests there was also some further optimizations from Dice on the CPU side as well.

    Another thing is, did you record your FPS in the exact same part of the game as W1zzard did in the 3/4 and 4/8 benchmarks? Dice could have done some tweaks in that area of the game that factored into these tests.

    It's not possible to go back and rerun the benchmarks from 3/4 even with rolling back the drivers because we can't undo any optimizations that Dice has made since then and even if you could get W1zzard to rerun both benchmarks what difference would it make? I sense that you are frustrated with the performance of BF4 which is understandable because so many players are based on the posts all over the internet but getting W1zzard to say he made a typo, if he did, isn't going to alleviate your frustration. Right?
  9. UaVaj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have already jump ship. 290x x3 (the lesser evil) is on route and one of the 680 x3 is already sold. 780ti x3 was first choice but ruled out cause it is a stutter fest in BF4.
    cannot say the same for other BF4 players who is less fortunate without the financial backing to also jump ship. do share their pain of not being able to enjoy BF4 like it was intended.

    SLI is simply broken in BF4. I clearly did not see that 39% boost nor any amount of boost in any part of BF4.
    39% is not exactly a testing margin of error. that is huge.

    hence here asking if W1zzard made a typo.


    cpu is a i7-3770k oc to 4.7GHz
  10. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    831 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Many patches and many driver updates have happened. They are both correct for the time in which they were published.
  11. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    232 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Patches have been updated. No doubt that you have noticed the improvement yourself as FX-GMC has pointed out. :D
  12. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    232 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Well, post back here if you want to. There are a lot of BF4 players here that could possibly benefit from your experience. Maybe not 3X R9 290 crossfire. That's exotic...but interesting.
  13. Bytales

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Why the shitty frames in Diablo 3 ?
    I was looking to upgrading my Videocard, and i was waiting for the dual AMD card for what is like 2 years now, only to find it lacks major time in the game i play the most.
    Crossfire 290x seems to scale ok. Is this suppose to be fixed, or what is really wrong ?

    How is diablo 3 really tested, can anyone clarify ?
  14. Bitech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Efficiency Drop.png
    The reviewer kinda screwed up somewhere on measuring the power consumption of these cards. The lack of consistency of the games used in measuring performance and power consumption caused some of these cards' efficiency bars to go all over the place.

    The patches might not be part of the problem; notice how to GTX 760, 780 and Titan greatly improved in efficiency, but the 770 and 780 Ti stayed the same.

    And either half of the AMD cards have either improved slightly or severely dropped in efficiency.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  15. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,208 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    What also could have changed the paradigm:
    Thief was part of the benchmark suite in one graph, and wasn't used in the other
    Diablo III:RoS was part of the benchmark suite in one graph, and wasn't used in the other
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger was part of the benchmark suite in one graph, and wasn't used in the other
    16 games were benchmarked in one graph, 15 in the other.
    Driver improvements - Case in point, BF4 from both of the reviews you're pinpointing. Not huge framerate increases for some cards (GTX 690's SLI config excepted), but in marked in percentage to those cards that don't benefit.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  16. Chetkigaming

    Chetkigaming

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    218 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Thanks for review :lovetpu: .The video from noise test is very cool!
  17. nem

    nem

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cyberdyne CPU Sky Net
    hi bros i just have a question is possible make one tri crossfire of 295x , so i do ear some over the new standard CrossFireX XDMA was possible make a cross with more of 4 GPUS .. cheers i just have that doubt
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I wouldn't even imagine the load of issues you'd be running into.
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,383
    We switched from using Crysis 2 to Metro Last Light for typical gaming power consumption, also the list of games has changed.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page