1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Raises the Performance Bar With Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Because they havent uploaded their scores yet.

    Mild oc on video and 6.8 on the 965 and their first run was 38,6 with minor tweaking. They went even further than that but the booth had to close down due to Qcon rules. Im uploading pics as im typing this.
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    how long do u think its going to sit there?
     
  3. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Well in Finland they got the cpu to 7+ so id say for a while. i7 has a terrible cold bug meaning they cant go to -230c like Phenom II can.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,212 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
  5. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,601 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,133
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Can you say "Gulftown?" :laugh:

    32nm, hexa-core, early 2010. Larrabee could arrive about the same time. That's not to say a D0 chip won't beat that benchmark before then.


    Why I brought up Larrabee is because that will be the first discreet Intel video card. Gulfstown + X58 or X68 + Larabee = equivilent to Dragon platform.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Except, this is here and now. That is later and possible. You cant compare whats now and whats later as a real argument. Thats like saying i could overclock my pentium 1 to 10ghz with absolute zero cooling in a vacum in 2020.....
     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,601 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,133
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You had a figure to aim for, Nehalem owner's didn't. Now that there is competition, it is only a matter of time before someone steps up to the plate.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Except i7 CPUs cant go that cold to reach sustainable benching and cooling for that long a period of time. So to reach they would have to fix their little problem. This is probably why Intel had such a small booth at Qcon and AMDs was huge and they where doing public demonstrations of overclocking.
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,601 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,133
    Location:
    IA, USA
    AMD is desperate, Intel isn't. Intel doesn't need to flap their arms about to sell processors, AMD does.

    Never say never. If someone wants to take the time to find Core i7's sweet spot, they will. Now that there is a target to aim for, they have an incentive to push them beyond 5 GHz.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    AMD isnt desperate though. They are flying through processors like hot cakes whether or not Intel people want to believe this or not. Thats not the point though. I dont care about the politics i care about the hardware. Core i7 reaches its freezing point with nitrogen, AMD can go to ~ 6/7K and beyond. They can keep pushing but as long as AMD has the newer cooling techniques that can be used the extreme OCers that have AMD will prevail.

    Of course most will find this argument moot but for the extreme OCers that really want to argue semantics over a processor taking it to the extreme to really see what its made of is where its at. Which is why im here right now.
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,601 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,133
    Location:
    IA, USA
    AMD's market capitalization is between $2 and $3 billion and their shares are selling for between $3-4 each. That is damn near bankruptcy territory.


    Need I remind you that Nehalem shares kinship with NetBurst and NetBurst holds all the world's highest clockspeed records:
    http://valid.canardpc.com/records.php?PHPSESSID=3d9cee294162f8d9faf6bc16af1b7fa2

    Now that there is an incentive to push them, they will be pushed. They just have to remember to disable HyperThreading. :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Yea, and that top record is a single core processor and AMDs quads have peaked over 7 already. Thats a hell of alot more to cool and quite a feat to accomplish. The 965 records havent been recorded i guess since it was just the other day. Im wondering exactly how far they can really push it
     
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    This is a pointless argument
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  15. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    I would stop before infractions are given

    Just be happy for AMD for a 3.4ghz x4

    Intel will bring something new and it will go back and forth
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,212 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    IDK this is AMDs first CPU to be at 3.4GHz Stock, 3.2 was hit with the X2 6400.
     
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,621 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Australia
    Just to show you the price difference here in AUS from AMD's top CPU and Intel's CPU

    http://www.gamedude.com.au/prod_show.php?art_no=cpAMphenom2_965

    http://www.xpmicro.com.au/cgi-bin/xpmicro/BX80601975.html?id=E9W6A27C

    Seriously what one would you get if you lived here in AUS?

    And for those who said there Mobo cant take the new Phenom's, then why didn't you spend the extra $20 to get the Mobo that can? You can get a good mobo here to take all the CPU's (even yrs ago) for a little over $100 thats like $80 US :ohwell:
     
  18. mixa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    120 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Aden Castle Town
    With all the antitrust shits that Intel has come out, its wonder that AMD didn't "die" yet, its heroic from their part that they are managing to make such a nice CPUs as they are doing it since first A64 'till PII.Only an idiotic Intel fan could deny it.Period.
     
  19. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,190 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    anyone try overclock it on air , how much max overclock expect on air with this cpu
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I've seen a few at 4ghz+ on air.. forgot where that was. I'd get one, but I just bought a GTS 250 and I'm in quite a bit of a financial mess right now..
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    It would be stupid for infractions to be given considering it wasnt a heated argument/debate. Probably why no mods said anything in the first place.

    And it isnt pointless either. Who ever goes the fastest wins, nuff said. They intent to break the record of highest overclock and shatter all synthetic records as well. You cant possibly tell me this chip isnt full of win.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15,601 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,133
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I swear I've seen that guy on the left before. :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,609 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    While holding world records is nice, it doesn't really help AMD any. It does increase their "street cred" a little among overclockers, but doesn't really help them in the long run. The general public doesn't even read about overclocking, and the ones that do don't care to do it. The general public doesn't buy high end either, both companies make the bulk of their revenue from mid-range. The dual-core, tri-cores, maybe low end quads. That is why AMD doesn't really care about the unlocking thing, because they need to make processors to fill the demand of the mid-range, and most of the people buying them won't bother to unlock them.

    Holding overclocking records only marginally helps boost sales.

    Well of course, but the 975 also completely owns the X4 965 in performance....

    If you look at the processor that the X4 965 actually comptetes with, the i7 920, the picture is a little different.

    http://www.xpmicro.com.au/cgi-bin/xpmicro/BX80601920.html

    And I think if I was in that situation, I'd save the $100 and go with the X4 810...
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,552 (10.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,817
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    He's Sami "macci" Mäkinen. Legendary overclocker, AMD employee.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It is not uncommon for an AM2 board not to accept Phenoms at all, especially non-high end boards. Most of the original AM2 enthusiast class boards can accept Phenom, but not many of the budget boards.

    I'd be able to tell you right away which system I was on. All I would have to do is fire up Handbrake or Mediacoder to transcode one of my files/dvds.

    And AMD charged $1000 for cpus when they had the performance crown as well. So the top-end price argument is moot. Hell, before Core 2 came out, it was cheaper for me to build a mid-range dual core Intel system of similar performance than it was to build a 3800+ X2 system from AMD. (I still bought the AMD anyway).
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page