1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD RD790 details leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    AMD's first chipset with integrated DX10 graphics has some very impressive features. Among them, the most important are...
    • 52 PCI Express lanes, enough for 3 x16 slots and 1 x4 slot.
    • HTX Support.
    • Hypertransport 3.0 ready, meaning support for AM2+ and Socket F processors from AMD.
    • Dual Gigabit Ethernet.
    • Independant mainboard cache which should lower latencies and improve bandwidth.
    AMD's RD790 should be released in 2007.

    Source: Chilehardware
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  2. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Not bad, not bad...very nice indeed. But this makes no difference to me for a while yet cos I wanna get the ASUS P5B Deluxe!!!!
     
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    AM2+ huh, I take it that it will be AM2/AM3 hybrid board (future proof) :laugh: . Hmm how much you wanna bet that R600 will only work on a PCe x16 and not a x8 LOL. And, who is going to buy 3 cards and what games are going to fully utilize 2 CF/SLI cards plus 1 graphics card for physics! If any software developer is foolish enough to entertain that thought must like taking a hit in profits. In other words you narrow down your target market to a few enthusiast.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  4. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    lol, I overlooked that bit. Now that you mention it, what a waste indeed!
     
  5. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    nice specs and stuff i just hope the prices to build a decent computers dont increase
     
  6. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Who's been messing with the site fonts?
     
  7. TheButcherNL

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Strange that they use integrated graphics with so many lanes for graphic cards.

    cya
     
  8. dmce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice. Pity we dont have the 690 yet
     
  9. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    nice, i want this board :)
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ... Makes me want to switch to AMD processors

    Intel+AMD 4EVA!!!
     
  11. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    You make me sick...
     
  12. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Yeah, because AMD has obviously been making lackluster products all this time..! Remember the Athlon 64/K8? That thing didn't set any records or hold the performance crown while choking the life from the P4/Netburst.

    ...wait, it did. My bad....
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2006
  13. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Washington, US
    The same thing was said when nVidia wanted to introduce SLI. "Who in their right mind would buy two $500 video cards so they could get a 10-40% boost in FPS?!" Some people just want the best and don't mind paying for it.

    Keep in mind that this is the reference board. Some manufacturers may want to take advantage of it while others will probably keep the abundance of lanes unused.

    Vista's need for a powerful processor and graphics setup means that manufacturers will have to start building systems with better parts (aka: more expensive parts). On the other hand, the increased demand (and therefore increased supply) for better parts could mean that the prices will go down. Also, an entry-level "Vista Certified" computer could be downgraded to XP and probably play a good selection of games.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Theoretically a nice touch, in the real world I bet benefit will be negligable, especially as clock frequencies \ DDR2 frequencies go up. Currently I'm hitting 39ns, that mainboard cache I'll be surprised if it can even shave another 5ns off that. Smells of days gone by if you ask me where additional cache memory could be added to a mobo via an expansion slot.
     
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    That's actually pretty much what HTX support is, plonking expansion cards in (I didn't understand it that much, so that's why the HTX support section of my post is relatively blank...lol).
     
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    lol is that a hint for me to go read it so i can explain it to anyone that doesnt get it? :p
     
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah, I don't get the HTX thing either, will have to research on that. However, that is one sweet freaking board and if they sell it for 250, that is a great price (Intel sells their P5B shit for that much). 3 X16 lanes, good lord, I would never spend that much for graphics, I don't care. Nice setup though, this thing will be beast.

    9/10
     
  18. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    even crazier is the fact they could run hexsli over 6 g80's and still have an expansion slot for a decent sound card!
     
  19. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    u will love the asus p5b mboard casheti , its been flawless since the last bios update , more room for overclocking , my friend has a x6800 on it and he is running it at 3.6 Ghz on stock volts and watercooled however the temps are low enough to be run under air cooling from a zalman type cooler for the lga 775 .

    but the board is nice ," VERY NICE " (borat).
     
  20. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    It's gonna take me a while to get it cos I accidently blew some money I shouldn't have :(
     
  21. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Not all boards will use both options. However if the on board card can be used for physics for example it could be pretty nice.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Now that's an option I hadn't considered. I think I would like that. Aren't AM2+ boards supposed to be compatible with normal AM2 cpu's (and vice-versa, for that matter)?
     
  23. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    AM2+ is gona be able to use AM2 cpus but I doubt that AM2 boards can use AM2+ chips.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page