1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies a Pair of Energy-Efficient Socket FM2 APUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,750 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,683
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's A-series "Richland" APUs are great to have in HTPC builds, but their 65W to 100W TDPs can be a put-off for some. The company is working on a pair of energy efficient socket FM2 APUs based on the silicon, with TDP rated at 45W. The first of the two is the A10-6700T, which features a significantly lower CPU clock speed of 2.50 GHz, with an unknown TurboCore speed; and GPU clock speed of 720 MHz. It's not known if the chip is dual-core or quad-core, but given that quad-core non-K A10-6700 rates in at 65W, it's not improbable for A10-6700T to be one, as well. Also unknown is the stream processor count. Moving on, we have the A8-6500T. Its CPU clock speed is further lowered, to 2.10 GHz, and GPU to 720 MHz, like the A10-6700T, its CPU and GPU core/SP counts are under the wraps.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Guru3D
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,199 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Naming scheme similar to Intel, K for overclocked and T for low TDP? I like it.
     
  3. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    756 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    While 45w APUs are fine it's absurd to conclude that a 100w or 65w APU consumes too much power. That's the TDP and rarely ever seen in actual use. These APUs combine the performance of a CPU and a GPU so the TDP ratings are extremely good considering the application.
     
  4. birdie

    birdie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    99 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Recent tests have shown that newer AMD CPUs consume significantly more power than their advertised TDP.

    It's far from rosy.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  5. arbiter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    231 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Question is, is it really cpu using that power or is it something in the chipset doing it? When power usage is checked its done usually at the wall which takes on everything in the computer.

    Consider their power useage vs intel at same TDP, AMD looks like 500 lb guy at McDonalds. only thing they beat intel at is built in graphic's.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,199 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    To be fair their built in graphics are pretty powerful, external graphics of that caliber will need quite a bit of power.
     
  7. Ephremius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I don't understand the focus on energy efficiency these days, like European countries wanting to ban high end GPU's for their energy consumption rates, I mean honestly, shouldn't you be going after large scale corporations abuse of energy and not us 0.1% contributors of green house gases?

    but its whatevs.
     
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    The difference, ,, big companies are already dodging the tax man but we cant so easy
    The result more green tax for us,
    Very valid point though , put your 100tdp chip in powersave with all eco features on and they would not use much more than these anyways.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    yess 45W! finally we can get away with just a heatsink! no more fans!
     
  10. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    these apus are pretty toasty Ive seen someone on OC forum that had a 6800k at 80C, and it was hardly oc'd
     
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    that was 100W tdp. these are less than half. also the temp has nothing to do with the wattage, if you have poor rate heat convection, you will get higher temps.

    i have a 95W cpu and mine maxes out at 45C. if i had an aluminium block for a heatsink, i would achieve 100C


    btw, 80c is impossible. it will shut off after 71C ;)
     
  12. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    No, just look around the Internet, how they perform in tests power-consumption wise. AMD CPUs are (sadly) leaking all over the place, and these new ones are probably from the same breed, just cherry picked or undervolted/clocked.
     
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    And what ,,, thats the Exact point of select binning that all chip mofos do, just look around the internet, might try looking up intels new SDP spec on chips for mobile while your at it.

    temps mean shit my main rigs oc never breaches 62 degrees..... @1.48CPUV
    how do you call this leaky even 100 watts tdp is amazeing given the total package performance , the cpu is fine for what it is the gpu is great for what it is and at typical idle values totaling 40-100watt for the whole system compared to intel they are doing ok

    imagine an Amd or arm for that matter in process node parity with intel and its clear , intels ahead by a nose/node.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    The GPU is great indeed, but the CPU is far from it. It's not even close to Sandy Bridge level, let alone the rest.
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There is not much difference. Actually at Idle, A10-5800K runs less power overall. The A10-5800K is head to head with the 3220 at default and owns it in graphics. Multi-threaded it beats the 3220 and overclocked it owns the 3220...

    I want what he is smoking
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  16. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Yet its beyond its typical use profile v performance and beyond what most will require of it given the htpc/parents pc'iness of them.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    I find that hard to believe since my 5600K clocked to 4.0GHz on the stock cooler and temps didn't break 65°C.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You have a cooling problem. Your cooler is most likely not properly installed. They do not run hot
     
  19. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    228 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    the a10-5800k has been seen using as much as 161 watts at full load during gameplay.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    I'd like to see where you saw that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Not true there are pics floating around of mine running at 80C+. They throttle at 72C they wont shut down unless the bios is configured that way.

    Also AMD has been shipping out 95W CPU's with the aluminum non-heatpipe coolers for a while. They don't "achieve 100C" they run under 60C, but the fan is screaming in warmer climates.
     
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    Yep, my A8 came with the aluminum block style heatsink and even overclocked it stayed under 65°C, and its rated at 100w.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Weird that. I have noticed a certain someone seems to have an issue spouting off at the hip with no real world experience or knowledge of the matter, :laugh: just personal assumptions on his part.
     
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    you should put that article in your signature.
     
  25. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page