1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies A8-3870 APU with Unlocked BClk Multiplier

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,747 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    After a modest launch of two Fusion A8 series desktop accelerated processing units (APUs) with A6-3650 and A8-3850, AMD is planning to launch a new APU that's better equipped for overclocking. The new A8-3870 APU will feature an unlocked base clock (BClk) multiplier that makes overclocking easier. Currently, a BIOS bug that is spread across motherboard manufacturers, lets users "set" a higher multiplier value for A8-3850 than it's advertised or capable of responding to, resulting in a false illusionary overclock that doesn't yield any performance improvements over the default 29x multiplier value. More on that here.

    The A8-3870 APU, however, will have a genuinely unlocked multiplier, increasing the multiplier value will genuinely increase clock speeds and performance. The A8-3870 is expected to have a default clock speed of 3.10 GHz, four x86-64 cores, the GPU component with 600 MHz core clock, 400 stream processor, DirectX 11 compliant Radeon HD 6550D graphics, and dual-channel DDR3-1866 MHz integrated memory controller. Leaked product cycle slides indicate that AMD will release the A8-3870 Unlocked APU in Q4 2011.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DonanimHaber
     
    damric and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  2. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,198 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Makes me wonder now about the use of the 3870 name. That GPU series bought ATI time to get the 4 series out and catch up with NV. Wonder if that is implied for these APUs.

    Review was what I thought it would be. GPU performance to blow Intel IGP out of the water, but not totally mature yet. I'm interested to see the 2nd gen APUs when AMD launches those. It is a shame AMD went with higher pricing. You'd think they'd be really trying to get the APU out there. I can just see that as hindering the adoption of APUs into the market.
     
  3. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    375 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    This is interesting now. Needs product review.
     
  4. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    this needs to be a cut down 8 core chip which can be unlockable to become interesting... and it should be sub £100
     
  5. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    been waiting for this, was afraid of the overclock capabilities of the first versions.
     
  6. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    And it must be capable of washing the dishes, making me a pizza and fetching me a beer while singing Johnny Cash's greatest hits !

    Seriously, you can only expect so much at certain TDP level. I'd much rather see better graphics (higher operating frequency, possibly with at least 80 more SPs) than faster CPU. A8-3850 is fast enough to throw data around in games, it's the graphics portion that isn't able to keep up with it. 30+ FPS minimum is a must if APu is to be considered low end gaming worthy.
     
  7. bondhahnmrt85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Unlocked BClk multiplier? Not CPU multiplier?? :confused:
     
  8. swaaye

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    How did you feel when ATI used the 5000 series of numbers, which I thought was reminiscent of the horrible GeForce FX series? ;) And GeForce 9800 reminded me of Radeon 9800, etc. :D

    I wouldn't be surprised if the marketing guys have so much turnover that the same people aren't involved with each line of cards.
     
  9. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    We want BD.. Not an unlocked Athlon III
     
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    They should've released apus with unlocked multiplier in the first place, the whole apu image would've been better.
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    What multi do you think overclocks the CPU cores? :confused:
    You guessed it, its the BClk multi :p
     
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    this wont do anything at all for the GPU clock, I am wondering when/if afterburner will be able to take controll of the GPU's clock speed...
     
  13. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I'd really love to see what a 4Ghz Llano can do
     
  14. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I am betting you will get little oc on the gpu. Regardless, I think these processors will have their place in the world.
     
  15. Nihilus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    219 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Been waiting for this!

    Wanted to use something like this chip, an ITX board and Windows 8 (rumored to play Xbox 360 games) to make an XBOX-360/pc. Could be a cheap and exciting computer if it plays XBOX games!
     
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Forget having more SPs in the GPU. What it really needs first is a dedicated GDDR5 Sideport buffer, or another one or two DDR3 channels tacked on. The APUs seem to be rather bandwidth starved, even with 1.86GHz DDR3.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    APU = Audio/Acoustic Processing Unit

    And it has been that way for more than 15 years .. officially , and registered.

    Perhaps "XPU" would be a nice new one to use? Ya'kno, because it also SOUNDS cool with them youths and their edgy edges?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10

    UPU = Universal Processing Unit/Ultimate Processing Unit !
     
  19. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    CPU = Combined Processing Unit!

    Wait, CPU might already stand for something else...
     
  20. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Exactly what a Athlon II x4 clocked at 4GHz would do....

    Whilst I can see the point of the Llano APU I am struggling to see the point of a multiplier unlocked version when the Phenom II x4 955BE exists.

    Surely if you need the extra CPU grunt then the cheaper (in the UK) Phenom 955BE, cheaper 870/970 MB and discrete HD6670/5670 GPU would be a much better option than an unlocked APU?
     
  21. finfin_nemo

    finfin_nemo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    is this new amd apu has integrated gpu on die? like the intel i-series? hmmm...
     
  22. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    375 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Well, not really. We're talking a reworked Athlon II @ 32nm.

    I always wondered what a 32nm AM3 chip would be like, and I'd like to see how far this thing will go.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page