1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies Six Business-Class Desktop 45nm CPUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD is heading towards kicking off its desktop CPU lineup built on the 45nm manufacturing process this 8th of January. The company also started off with selling certain "business-class" CPUs last year, CPUs that are rated for long MTBF, giving it a little incentive for business/office PC manufacturers for using the processors in their models. The company is looking to do the same with its 45nm desktop CPU lineup, with six business-class CPUs on the cards, sources tell DigiTimes.

    The models planned are dual-core Athlon X2 B23 (2.9GHz, 2MB cache) and B21 (2.7GHz, 2MB cache), triple-core Phenom II X3 B73 (2.8GHz, 7.5MB cache) and B71 (2.6GHz, 7.5MB cache), and quad-core Phenom II X4 B93 (2.8GHz 8MB cache) and B91 (2.6GHz 8MB cache). These processors are slated for Q3 2009. Following the introduction of these, the company plans to phase-out its current business class CPUs by issuing last-order notices for them in Q4. These will be issued for Phenom II X4 9850B, 9750B, 9600B and Phenom II X3 8850B, 8750B, 8600B as well as Athlon X2 5600B, 5400B, 5200B, 5000B, 4850B, 4450B and Athlon 1640B.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
  2. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    What are these good for?
     
  3. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    the phenom x3 make give amd special look
     
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    well they last longer
     
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    7.5mb cache for the X3, and 8mb cache for the x4 hmmm intereseting, i like :D
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    L3 cache remains the same, 6MB for both, while the lack of 1 core on the X3 takes away the 512 KB L2 of that core. Therefore, 7.5 MB.
     
  7. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    So does that mean they get a increase in L2 cache then? which would be goood as its better then L3
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    :confused: ok let me explain better:

    For a Deneb, the total cache size is 8 MB, which breaks down to ((4x 512 KB L2) + 6 MB L3), with the lack of one core on the Phenom II X3, it become 7.5 MB or ((3x 512 KB L2) + 6 MB L3)) capiche?
     
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea sorry i realised that after i wrote that, total blonde moment there :banghead: and i need to go to bed gezzzz im tired, for some reason i was thinking the total for the x4 was 6mb cache, but thats just the L3, thanks anyway, my bad
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page