1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies Trio of Athlon II X4 Processors in FM2 Package

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,256 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Even as launch of the next-generation A-Series "Trinity" desktop APUs remains elusive, there is already talk of what AMD will do with the 32 nm Trinity silicon, apart from using them in the A-Series. Some theories point out that the best performing parts could be sold in certain "high margin" products, while the others, could be branded as Athlon II FM2. AMD is planning a trio of quad-core Athlon II X4 processors in the socket FM2 package. The company currently has a line of Athlon II series processors carved out of the "Llano" silicon, built in the socket FM1 package.

    The trio of socket FM2 Athlon II X4 processors include:
    • Athlon II X4-730: quad-core, 2.80 GHz, 4 MB total cache, 65W TDP
    • Athlon II X4-740: quad-core, 3.20 GHz, 4 MB total cache, 65W TDP
    • Athlon II X4-750K: quad-core, unlocked BClk multiplier, 3.40 GHz, 4 MB total cache, 100W TDP

    Socket FM1 Athlon II processors come with the integrated graphics core of the Llano silicon disabled. It's likely that this could be the case with socket FM2 processors, as well. Since the platform doesn't come with integrated graphics on the motherboard chipset, the fact that you'll need to buy/use discrete graphics card makes the lower price points of these chips a little confusing.

    Source: CPU World
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Those TDP are so high for the performance you get, should be more like 40-50W.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    TDP = cooling needed, not power consumed.
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    :banghead: My bad forgot thats what that was. Still then thats a lot 100W TDP these must run hot.
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    There is only one chip on that list that is 100W TDP, and that really means nothing.
    Anything above that 65W TDP envelop, will be put in the 100W envelop, even if the chip only requires 66W of cooling.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  6. Kärlekstrollet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    27 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm pretty sure the reality is ~70-95W, AMD adding some extra in the specs to avoid trouble.
  7. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    If the 750K will cost around 150$, it might work i guess.
  8. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Why get Athlon II at that price... Bulldozer would be way better... FX 4100 only $100
    Dent1 says thanks.
  9. Zakin

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    The A8-3870K is already 3.0Ghz at 119.99 with a GPU built in, I don't think it'd be wise of them to price these that high, especially since you can get Phenom II 955s for about 100-110 now at the right places and I'd imagine they are slightly stronger than the buffed up Athlon II. The 955 is even still a better deal over the four core Bulldozer as far as I'm concerned, not sure why the four core bulldozer even really exists..
  10. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Amd.......is it genius .........or madness :confused:
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL squeezing every thing out of that Phenom they can. Poor saps that buy into this BS.
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    X4 730 -> $79.99
    X4 740 -> $89.99
    X4 750k -> $99.99-104.99

    Add the fact Trinity adds SLI wooooo! Integrated PCI-E goodness....
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yep when you can not compete flood the market with CRAP at a cheap price!
  14. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    It has nothing to do with competing it is die harvesting....
    Athlon II FM2s => Non-working GPU
  15. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    OHI trickson, here to bash AMD again i see... Here, some cookies and milk on the house while you think of more things to say about AMD.
  16. wickerman

    wickerman

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I really don't see a reason for the Athlon II series to exist on FM1, let alone on the replacement socket. As it stands, the cheapest quad core AMD offers on FM1 (or at least newegg has) is $90 for a 2.8ghz Llano with no IGP. For $5 more you can get a 2.6ghz quad core Llano (A6-3650) with the integrated HD 6530D.

    Sure you lose 200 Mhz but you gain an IGP with performance worth about $50 or so. The IGP has 320 stream processors @ 444mhz and is DX11 compliant with UVD3. Basically enough performance for a budget build expected to use a sub $100 quad core to get great performance. You get an IGP that sits somewhere between the HD 6450 and HD 5570 (depending on game and memory used - DDR3 1866 or above provides best performance it seems) for only $5 more, why miss out? Even if you planned on adding in a dedicated GPU, you could always use asymmetric crossfire it with the IGP and get even better performance. So I agree, a little confusing. Unless perhaps, these chips are only launching as weak bins and the IGP didn't have fully functioning stream processors or something.

    But I really do support Llano, they make wonderful "budget friendly" multipurpose systems. My only wish would be to see power consumption and heat output drop even more, then I'd really have no trouble swapping out the i3 2100T in my HTPC. But then again, I'd probably save enough being able to use the IGP instead of the dedicated HD 6450 anyway.
  17. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Some people don't need absolute maximum performance from their PCs. An Athlon is fine for the majoprity of PC users who surf the web, watch Youtube, do Facebook and check their e-mail.
    This isn't crap just because you need the latest and greatest tech.

    How does socket FM2 stack up against AM3/3+?
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
    Chevalr1c and Dent1 say thanks.
  18. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Faster Northbridge
    Faster Southbridge
    Lower latency with PCI-E
    Newer platform
    Native USB 3.0
    Athlon II X4 750K should be the equivalent of FX-43xx without L3.
  19. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    So without L3 cache gaming takes a hit im sure..... And for the four core FX haters out there, 8mb of L3 cache among 4 cores is nice:)
  20. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I wonder how much it will cost.
  21. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    The L3 has no prefetching. L2 <-> IMC not L3 <--> IMC.

    The L3 is only there for dedicated cache(L2 overfills?) and snooping?(I think that is what it is called, aka HT Assist) and any gains by having L3 are overshadowed by using internal PCI-E Links.
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  22. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,356 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    +1 and exactly, every company sells all they can of what they make.................., and yes regardless of performance.........:wtf:

    still got less perfomance in your own pc then ya calling too trickson:shadedshu
  23. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    It just always is a question of the validity of putting AIIs in these FM boards. They are designed for APUs. People in the market for a social machine are not likely ones that even know how to install a discrete GPU into it. They would also be buying these in non custom build machines so they wouldn't care what it came with as long as it worked. APUs again would win out. FM2 gamers would go with a Crossfire setup which again gives little reason to have AIIs.

    Only real market for AIIs would be maybe passive cooled setups. Heat from GPU taken out of the question.

    Its not crap, its just ultra niche market. The expense at repackaging a bunch of AIIs for FM2 brings in the "its crap" title. AMD couldn't be making a whole lot off these in the end.
  24. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    NC37 the people who are buying these GPU-less Trinity chips are not going for a social machine.

    X4 750K @ 4.5 GHz and two 680s in SLI > A8-5600K @ 4.5 GHz and two 680s in SLI.
  25. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I see they REFUSE to bin APUs.

    "Oh, look, they can run 3 ghz stable at 1v. We better make them all 1.4v to be sure."

    WTF


    Wickerman: Just drop it down to 1.1v and see how high it clocks (a little more than stock I guess).
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page