1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readies Two Unlocked A-Series APUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    In the fourth quarter of 2011, AMD will unveil new A-Series APUs in the socket FM1 package, these include not one (as reported back in July), but two models that come with unlocked base clock multipliers. Unlocked multipliers made overclocking significantly easier. While AMD won't use the "Black Edition" moniker, it will use the "K" extension. Incidentally, "K" stands for "black" in the CMYK colour model.

    AMD's unlocked APUs include the A8-3870K and the A6-3670K, which are 100 MHz faster than the A8-3850 and A6-3650, respectively. With its four x86-64 cores clocked at 3.00 GHz, the A8-3870K features 400 stream processors running at 600 MHz on its Radeon GPU component, while the A6-3670K CPU cores are clocked at 2.70 GHz, and the chip has 320 stream processors running at 444 MHz. The two chips, however, will not feature TurboCore technology for the CPU cores.

    [​IMG]

    Source: X-bit Labs
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,542 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    What a coincidence that Intel also uses K for unlocked CPU's
     
  3. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    A truly honest question : What's the point of this?

    I doubt people which this APU marketed for are interested or in need of doing overclocking. :confused:
     
  4. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    Not really.
     
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Maybe they can do 170000mhz without a core voltage increase :laugh:

    And yeah, intel uses the K for its unlocked processors... AMD should get their own branding.. What was wrong with black edition anyways?
     
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Black edition was introduced with the Phenom series CPU's and is generally associated with the highest performance parts, APU's are not. That's what I would have thought anyway.
     
  7. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Actually black series were around in the AMD 64 x2 days. There was a 5000+black edition.
     
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,226 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,707
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    It's good marketing for AMD. Whenever the son of a mother or father or tech friend tells the person, "Make sure it has the "K" on the end!". It's a very good chance that the best priced one with the "K" will be an AMD version. So, the unknowing picks up the AMD APU.. Is it deceptive? Yes, but will they ever know the difference just web browsing the internet facebooking, and keeping up with there pictures? No.. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Nesters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I've seen gaming benchmarks where these A series APUs clocked lower(>0.5ghz) outperform Athlons (both with discrete gpu).
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    The improved memory controller is a monster for the APUs. And I honestly think they will hit 4.0 GHz fairly easy.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  11. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    So there was but you get my point...
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I can back him on this from some of the early reviews. They handle gaming multi-gpu configurations VERY well.
     
  13. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    but low performance on multigpu is just a driver issue, I'm right?
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not always. Many variables can come into play but i am speaking mainly from an IMC point of view.
     
  15. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Yes, I do. I also agree they should have used something that does not sound like Intels name scheme. I am sure we will see some kind of lawsuit.
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's funny, I didn't know Intel had a patent/copyright claim on the letter "K" :roll:
     
  17. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Actually those BE X2 were among the highest performance parts, at the time.
    Then there was a Phenom Athlon X2 7750 BE, the one that didn't overclock too well but was great as an affordable dual core with 2MB of L3
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just adding to your post; some of them did a full unlock to quad.
     
  19. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Are you sure? I thought that unlocking was for the Phenom II based X2 and Athlon II, not those cpus based on Phenom I
     
  20. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    No one cares about these stupid A series processors. WTF is bulldozer AMD!
     
  21. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    5 second google search pointing back to our own forums.

    Really?! No one??!
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I thought APU's performance scales really badly when overclocked, so wouldn't these be pointless.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The problem with Llano, you have to raise bclk to get it to overclock, which from what I've read can cause issues (on this particular platform). This eliminates that factor. If the overclock does help, will need to see that first hand with a review once they hit shelves.
     
  25. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    381 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    I just bought an a8-3850 as no black edition was available. Amd just lost out on a $25 upsell for the same silicon.

    I bought it for good integrated mainstream graphics. I'm very impressed with it so far!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page