1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Readying Low Cost ''Suzuka'' Opteron Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Over a month into the release of its flagship enterprise processor, the six-core Opteron codenamed "Istanbul", the company expressed plans to roll out another line of Opteron chips, this time targeting the cost-effective SME market, and not exactly power scaling and parallelism offered by its two-socket and multi-socket capable Opteron 2000 and Opteron 8000 series. The new quad-core processor will be codenamed "Suzuka", and will be made for single-socket systems. For this reason, it will not use the 1207-pin Socket F, but rather the AM3 socket, and will be compatible with existing AM2(+) motherboards that support the Budapest quad-core chip (single socket version of Barcelona).

    Suzuka shares the same die design as Shanghai (Opteron) and Deneb (Phenom II). It features four x86-64 processing cores on a monolithic die, with 512 KB of L2 cache per core, and a shared 6 MB L3 cache. Dual DDR2/DDR3 memory controllers work in ganged or unganged dual-channel modes. Currently three models are ready, the 2.50 GHz Opteron 1381, 2.70 GHz Opteron 1385, and 2.90 GHz 1389. These chips are specified to come with system bus speeds of 2200 MT/s (HyperTransport bus actual speed of 1100 MHz). All three models come with a rated TDP of around 115 W, and is built on the 45 nm SOI process. Opteron 1381 is priced at US $189, Opteron 1385 at $229, and Opteron 1389 at $269.

    Source: AMD
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
    Darren says thanks.
  2. ZoneDymo

    ZoneDymo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    420 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Imo AMD is really confusing with there codenames.
    Anyway, will we see a consumer 6 core processor from AMD any time soon?
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Right now, AMD has a PII X4 905e 2.5GHz that's rated at 65w, and sells for $190 on Newegg.

    DO they rate the wattage of their server chips differently? If not, what's the advantage of grabbing an Opty 1381 over it?

    And not taking upgrade path into account, which would be better to buy for the best performance right now. Q8400 or X4 905e/ Opty 1381?
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I would pick the Q8400. A single-socket Opteron doesn't make sense to me. Comparing Phenom II X4 905/905e to this chip, I'd still pick the Phenom II, simply because it has a broader 1800 MHz (3600 MT/s HyperTransport) interface, while this has HyperTransport 2200 MT/s.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  6. snakeoil New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Ummm...
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  9. snakeoil New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9

    btarunr are you implying that suzuka is not power efficient?, that's the whole idea behind this series. cost efficient. power efficient. fitted for cloud computing etc.

    ''The latest Opteron 1000 Series chip—code-named “Suzuka”—is designed for use in cloud computing environments, Web servers, small business servers and workstations, where the concern is more about power consumption and cost rather than scalability''

    http://www.eweek.com/c/a/IT-Infrastructure/AMD-Rolls-Out-Latest-QuadCore-Opteron-522399/
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    snakeoil, you seem to be on a crusade, and that crusade isnt helping any ...
     
  11. snakeoil New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    not really, im just making a comment.
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not really. Looks like the Xeon is rated lower, only by 10w, and that's on 65nm. Although comparing the chips themselves does you no good. You have to compare the entire platform, and the mch is on-chip in the Opterons, but not the C2Q Xeons. They'd probably come out roughly equal. I think the 45nm C2Qs might pull ahead tho.

    Now, you can directly compare Nehalem and Phenom chips in terms of power draw, as they both have the mch on die, and nehalem comes out ahead there, at 80w in this clock/performance range.
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    thats what i was looking for thanks
     
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Anyone else find the name funny? I really want to call it Suzuki.
     
  16. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    :laugh: that is the first thing i thought of too :toast:
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Suzuka, Japan. AMD codenames its cores after motorsport race courses.
     
  18. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    They should of named it after the Suzuki Escudo :rockout: ......... but maybe thats just a lil farfetched for any AMD processor :(
     
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yeah, they'll have Suzuki® breathing down their necks.
     
  20. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    But it would make people like me go out and buy thier processor just for the sake of the name haha.
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If a non-public codename could make them sell their chips, they would have named one Chuck Norris years ago.
     
  22. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    :laugh:

    Chuck Norris seems to be the only name i see repeated over and over here on TPU.

    But yeh, I see your point.
     
  23. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    nice might pick one up server chips tend to oc better with better temps =)

    (btw amd put the W on server chips a tad higher iirc)
     
  24. captainskyhawk

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Bleh, make it six-core and I might want it
     
  25. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    you will get a 6 core... this is just a cheap quad core good for like home servers etc...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page