1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Realizes That Bulldozer Has 800 Million LESS Transistors Than It Thought!

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    AMD's new flagship Bulldozer "FX" series of processors have turned out to be mediocre performers in almost every review and benchmark going, sometimes even getting bested by the existing Phenom II and certainly no match for their Intel competition. To add to this tale of fail, it now turns out that AMD didn't even know how many transistors they have! Anand Lal Shimpi of AnandTech received an email from AMD's PR department and this is the revelation he had to share with us:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Yes, something as basic as how many transistors are in their flagship product wasn't known about until months after the launch! This kind of info would be common knowledge within the company by the time the first tape-out is ready during the design and testing phase, so surely this cannot be and there must be some other explanation? If this is an attempt to make the processor look better by showing it "doing more with less", then this PR stunt has backfired spectacularly and it would have been better to have left the "error" as it was. Paradoxically, FX processors are a sales success and are flying off the shelves as we just reported, here.

    Source: AnandTech
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 3, 2011
    nt300, Judas, Crap Daddy and 2 others say thanks.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Thanks to HalfAHertz for this super tip! :toast:
     
  3. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Perhaps this is why they're switching to TSMC.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,226 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    [​IMG]

    Maybe those 800 Million transistors were where the performance was at...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The fail is strong in this one....
     
    Isenstaedt, hellrazor and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    More like down the shitter and flushed away.
     
  8. utengineer

    utengineer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    46 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Austin, TX USA
    If I bought this processor thinking it had 2 billion transitors due to marketing material, can I sue AMD for the missing 800 million? "Dear AMD, please exchange my processor for an Intel, Thanks!"
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,226 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Also, does anyone think this might have something to do with the rumor that AMD has stopped hand designing their chips, and have started letting computers design the processor for them?

    I do. If you hand craft something, you know what is in it. If you let a computer do it, then only the computer knows what is in it, and you either have to guess or hope that the computer is accurate when telling you the number you need to know.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I knew something didn't add up when I saw Zambezi's "2 billion" transistor count for the first time. Even 16 MB of total SRAM couldn't have pushed transistor counts up that much over Istanbul/Thuban's 900-odd million transistor count.
     
    hellrazor says thanks.
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    GG amd GG:shadedshu
     
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,750 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    Mexico
    I don't think so. I really don't pay attention to those numbers but if you go by Intel's numbers, you can see that SB-E clocks at 2.27B transistors and the die size is 435mm2. How could AMD pack a comparable 2B in a 315mm2 die?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,108 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,925
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I wonder who originally reported it had 2 billion in the first place. Rumor mill?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's PR.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    oh snap
     
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,196 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So is this a valid excuse to sue? Class action maybe?

    It is still more than previous generations correct? Not sure what Phenom II's count is.
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD dosn't sell processors on transistor counts, people don't buy it on that basis, either.
     
    hellrazor and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,108 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,925
    Location:
    IA, USA
    But it is false advertising--they lied about their product to make it look favorable to the competition.


    Edit: Ha, my post count says BOOB! XD


    Edit: Not anymore. :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They never advertised transistor count. Only when curious people may have asked transistor count, they gave a number. Your AMD FX PIB package or AMD FX product page doesn't give you a transistor count so you could base your buying decision on that.
     
    hellrazor, de.das.dude and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  20. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Still that was shiesty on AMD's part
     
  21. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Its called a typo. This is why AMD fired the entire PR department. They were incompetent. Thou I am surprised how long it too for someone else in the company to read one of the reviews that included the transistor count and realize the info. sent out in the PR pack was wrong.
     
    robn says thanks.
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,230 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    US
    I was thinking the same thing..
     
  23. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,842 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Holy crap Batman! How do you miss 800 Million Transistors? You would think they inspect them some how.:shadedshu
     
  24. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Number of transistors ≠ performance. It's what you do with those transistors that counts.
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    LOL, i think the other 1.2 bil died now when they read this.
    :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page