1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Realizes That Bulldozer Has 800 Million LESS Transistors Than It Thought!

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    The 800 Million Transistors were abducted by pesky aliens
     
  2. zx679 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    All I can say is "Wow".
     
  3. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    Poor performance one thing, to frack up on specificaitons? Damn, no wonder the axe fell swifty up top..
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Bloomfield has 732 million transistors, models upwards of i7-930 beat FX-8120, those upwards of i7-950 beat FX-8150.

    Insert Bill O'Reilly "you can't explain that" meme.

    The point is transistor count isn't something you can base your purchases on. No CPU maker writes that down in the specs sheet. Not even Intel ARK shows transistor counts of Intel CPUs. Only electronics enthusiasts (those studying ICs, VLSI design, etc.,) would find transistor counts interesting.

    "Performance per transistor" could be an interesting statistic though. The sudden drop in transistor count only goes on to improve that statistic.
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,098 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,417
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so its the explanation. bulldozer should have more power than this
    right?
     
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    So the power consumption turns out to be even worse then seeing as it has 800 million less transistors.
     
  7. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    513 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    no wonder why so many got fired. that is a pretty big oops
     
  8. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    ^good observation. fail on many levels now...
     
  9. gourygabriev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well it sure does suck electricity like a 2 Billion transistor CPU would.
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  10. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    753 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    I guess someone needs to do their maths HW... oops
     
  11. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    OMG these news lately are going nuts!
    Doing the math they are right. But they knew all other cpus, except the most powerful one.
    It was just selling out all the cpus and showing off as they got a bigger 2B cpu sitting in the bench.

    EDIT: I did the math it shows 3.1 B lol

    315x315 = 99225, 99225x0.000032 = 3.1752 LOL

    maybe they were talking 1.2b for only 1 core xD
     
  12. treboRR

    treboRR New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    HAHAHA that would be cool:D:D I bet this is the next marketing info for selling Bulldozers:D
     
  13. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,270 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Actually, and nobody is saying that, 1.2 billion vs 2billion transistor is an enormous difference!!! Guys we are talking about ~40% less transistors here!! I think this is the key to the performance gap over Intel. Think about it. The first Core I7 processors were having a transistor count of 731 million, while a Core 2 Duo, only 300 million. AMD is missing 800 million out of it`s processor!!!
     
    krisna159 says thanks.
  14. Dave65

    Dave65

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    131 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan
    How hard would this be to correct this problem?
     
  15. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    The PR guy who send around the wrong number is to blame, do we really need a newspost for this? you pretend like the guys who made the chip somehow didnt realize what they did.
     
    Poisonsnak and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  16. 3rold

    3rold New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tirana
    Obviously!

    [​IMG]
     
  17. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Here we go again....
     
  18. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Made my day

    [​IMG]
     
    HXL492 and qubit say thanks.
  19. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Doing the math 1.2B means 315mm2
    What would it be for 2B?
    2Bx315mm2 = 630Bmm2
    630Bmm2 / 1.2B = 525mm2
    For 2B the die size would be 525mm2 so stop acting like it is fantastic thing.
    This kind of architecture means only that we need lower nm tech
     
  20. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Bwhahahahaahahahahh

    Oh maaaan!

    double facepalm indeed , this whole bulldozer "Amd ex-employee" thing has to be one of the biggest lols in CPU history.




    definitely , it's all about the automation tools that AMD used to create, all those good "Athlon64" devs left the company long ago
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    this is quite a crazy thing for them to screw up
     
  22. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Hey this isnt AMD's fault. You know the PR folks responsible were probably taught the newest math skills using Mathland or Fuzzy Math. Hell our great government uses the same shit daily and look how well that works for them. Nothing has to add up precisely. :banghead:
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    it was probably written 1.2, and the 1 didnt copy out the fax machine right.
     
    overclocker says thanks.
  24. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    I smell a sinister plot by Intel to steal 800 million transistors from these CPUs! :nutkick:

    All your transistors are belong to us!
     
  25. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    does look to me like they got a politician doin pr for them , ah well hes gone now though eh
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page