1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Rebrands Radeon HD 7000 Series GPUs to HD 8000 for OEMs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    To be fair, this happens a lot in laptop GPUs. Heck nVidia's 600M series has a bunch of Fermi parts in it. Some of them high end ones. It is just easier to get away with it because people don't expect laptop GPUs to be the same as desktop.
     
  2. jigar2speed

    jigar2speed

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    At least my card will retain its value longer lol
     
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    If it helps build up AMD cards and get more gpus sold I don't care. This should only help lower costs to consumers.
     
  5. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,154 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    This is a very idiotic move--rebranding older parts in general is pretty silly.
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    not really idiotic imo... not for them. doesn't matter for us because it doesn't exist for us since it's OEM only
     
  7. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,154 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    And those OEM's are going to be selling them as AMD advertises them to consumers, which is going to create confusion and possibly people getting scammed on sites such as eBay. Technically it's an 8970, did I forget to mention it's an OEM version? *trollface*

    I'm still pretty certain Nvidia is going to rebrand mid/top-end 6xx series GPU's as low/mid 7xx series GPU's, but as long as the performance isn't misleading (e.g. rebranding a GK104 as a 780 then releasing like a GK110 as a 775 that performs better or something) I am fine with it.
     
  8. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,285 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Anyhow you put this, it is still a VERY bad move from AMD...
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Still, it's not affecting us apart from needing to wait for the 9XXX series which is good if they take the time to really get a good jump from the 7XXX series

    AMD will make more money because of this so its a good move for them, when they did renaming before it didn't hurt them. AMD with more money = better for us the consumers since AMD can remain more competitive and still alive
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
  11. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    533 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    I'm surprised how Nvidia's rebranding is bad but AMD can do anything to survive.

    So they have plenty of HD6xxx if they are going to use than in next-gen consoles. [​IMG]
     
    okidna says thanks.
  12. Calin Banc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    And if "this" generation is called 8000 series, then "that" generation is going to be called ... 9000 series?
     
  13. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    yea, basically like skipping a generation for us... didn't NV do something like that with the 3XX series?
     
  14. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,119 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    This should be made illegal to do IMO.
     
  15. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I guess he is referring to the fact that we have very powerful GPUs but not a whole lot to push it, which many blame on the console stagnation.

    You might see things that will put a hurt on your high-end GPUs, but this is primarily due to intensive particle effects that don't add a whole lot to the experience. A good example of this is Metro 2033. (great game though)

    Unreal and Source engines do a great job while maintaining wide playability, while engines like Frostbite are tough to run, but look great with effects not often found in other engines.

    Edit: this makes me wonder if my 6850m is actually a 5850m, ill have to check that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  16. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,631 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    London
    radusorin says thanks.
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,466 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I take it back, I don't wish anyone at AMD a happy new year!
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    WTF just happend?
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,297
    The OEM version of the GTX660 being weaker is arguable, the clocks are lower, but it has more shaders, and while the memory bandwidth seems higher on the retail GTX660, because of its memory configuration 512MB of the memory has to share its memory bandwidth.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. SeventhReign

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    That makes no sense. If that was the case they'd just label and sell it as the 7000 series and save themselves the hassle.
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    They could do that, but they'd not have the same profit margins for having a "NEW" GPU.

    I can't buy a GHZ Edition 7970, or ANY BOOST 7950's, or 7870's...they just do not exist locally.

    In fact, ANY high-end AMD card is really rare here. NVidia, you got 100 models of GTX670 in stock, and about 15 GTX680.

    I'll gladly take an HD8950, and flash my 7950 BIOS on to it. Because I CANNOT buy a 79xx-series card even if I wanted to.
     
  22. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I didn't realize this many TPUer's used Pre-Built OEM's... I don't see anything wrong with this a 7970 is still plenty fast for any normal user and someone thats going to be buying Pre-Built will not be buying a whole new computer just to upgrade the GPU.
     
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    How will this hurt sales? When the people who buy the vast majority of these rigs configure them on Dell or Lenovo's or HP's site or see them in the local bestbuy and one has an 8950 in it the highest number card sold do you really think they are going to spend hours researching if that is a rebranded card or blindly purchase it? Do you really think for a second the people purchasing a PREBUILT PC give two flying hoots what rebrands in their PC as long as it is the fastest sold? No one is telling you to run out and spend 3 times as much as the hardware is worth for a prebuilt, but people buy them and right now the 8950 sounds like the fastest card out there.

    Why do you think OEM's have terrible graphics cards with 4GB of onboard ram? Do you really think a GT620 can use 4GB of ram? On a spec sheet that looks great just like the 16GB of slow as heck ram they stuffed in next to it. OEM prebuilts are a numbers game and big numbers sell. Move on. You can get your panties in a wad all you want, but you are never going to stop it.
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,855 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    This should be prohibited by law. Seriously. Lets repack Fiat 500 as Ferrari 458 Italia. They are both italian, they can both be in red, lets sell them both for the same price. Wtf...
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    What are you talking about? They do that now Ford Taurus and Ford 500, Chevy Aveo and Chevy Sonic the list goes on and on. AMD didn't rebrand the 7950 as a GTX780 like you are suggesting.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page