1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases Catalyst 11.9 WHQL

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Here's the latest Radeon Catalyst driver suite for all you Radeon graphics card fans! It has one major new feature:
    which sounds very cool and is begging to be reviewed and benchmarked, plus quite a few fixes:

    Let us know how they work for you, especially the 3D graphics. Competition between AMD and NVIDIA on this front is very welcome.

    Driver download

    Release notes

    Source: AMD
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 28, 2011
    Fatal, random, Super XP and 3 others say thanks.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Thanks to erocker for the tip. :toast: :respect:
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    WHere is my crash fix for F1 2011 . . .. . :shadedshu
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Try CAP 5. You can get it on the front page of Guru3d.com. :)
     
    Altered and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Or the "CAP Page" at Rage3d.com
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Will try those out when I get home, and see if it fixes the problem.
     
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Are these effectively the same as the 11.9 betas as that's what I'm currently using and abusing?
     
  8. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    It was the damn drivers doing that the whole time? Never thought it was that.
     
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I know, drivers can cause the weirdest, most unintuitive errors. Been there myself with stuff like that.
     
  10. bmwmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    is that driver Battlefiel3 beta compatible ? anyone tested ?
     
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Darn, no fix for Left 4 Dead 2. Ever since I installed the CCC 11.8 drivers, sometimes when in game if I get pownced by a hunter or something big happends like a charger run, knocking everybody down, the game all of a sudden gets really DARK. Even the flashlight in the game is useless, because that too is dark.

    To fix this I either have to restart the game or restart the CCC. This really sucks when playing in Versus Mode, it sucks when you can't see anything because it's dark and your team relies on you.

    Maybe this driver version may do the trick, if not then I am going back to CCC 11.7...
     
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Man this sounds annoying. I remember Doom 3 years ago would show the conical beam of the flashlight, but not actually illuminate the object! I think I had to restart the game to clear it.

    You might well find that these Cats clear up the problem. I often find that there's a lot of changes which don't make it into the changelog.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    yay drivers! update time.
     
  14. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Bahhh ATI where is my HDMI scaling fix!


    I've been running the same driver version and play this game from time to time with mates without the issue you've stated, are you sure there are no driver conflicts on your comp?
     
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,371 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    I still don't have the stabilization option in CCC.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,884 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Tried the modded 11.9 mobile set from G3D, and Minecraft still crashes on the HD 5650 but not the HD 4250 (laptop PowerXpress configuration), which has been happening since Cat. 11.6. I'm installing Windows again on another disk to see if it's a problem with my install or not, but 11.5 and below always works.

    Whoever introduced the HDMI scaling bug in 10.5 is a complete dumbass, because it has been present in every version after 10.4. I am so tired of changing the scaling value to 0% a million times for every single HDMI device I have. I don't know of any HDMI TV that needs scaling crap to work right. That and the pixel format being wrong on HDMI as well are things I definitely dislike.

    I haven't really complained about ATI drivers, but these stupid problems that crop up in newer versions or last through over a year of driver releases are extremely irritating. Like the chips, dislike the drivers. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,371 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    I have to use the scaling at value 3 to get all of my TV viewing area.

    I still have some pixel corruption in steam games due to the new power management. I have to disable CCC from starting and manually set my speed and voltage now.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,000 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    US
    You sure it's not a TV option as well ?.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    i get it too on HDMI on my 1080p screen, but not my 768p >.>


    default should be 0%, but for some unknown reason it isnt sometimes.
     
  20. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    950 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Is the also good for BF3?
     
  21. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I was having major issues with 11.8 and the BF3 11.10. Just horrible performance dips. It would run so smooth than just take a big shit at random.

    Now it's alot smoother for a much longer time. I only get bad performance spikes maybe once or twice a game and the rest, super smooth unlike before.

    Definitely saw a big difference with 11.9
     
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Anyone know this?
     
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,000 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    US
    Does it on mine to i just set it at 0 like your self, but i have not heard some one before needing to set it to 3.

    Which made me think that the TV was zoomed or some thing or not set to full screen some thing like that.
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,834 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,486
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I don't know about this specific case if there are any differences, but it's always safe to assume that the final version will be that much more refined. Also, you're less likely to come across compatibility problems with any software that doesn't like a driver with a beta status.

    Basically, just install them. :toast:
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  25. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'm actually going to give the new betas a whirl as I'll be getting FIFA 12 tonight and I also want to try out BF3.

    Sometimes I'm just too lazy to faff about with drivers but cheers newshound for the reply :laugh:
     
    qubit says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page