1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases FX-4130 "Vishera" Quad-Core Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I agree with cdawall here. Go with a AM3+ build off the bat and don't limit yourself to the already huge limitations of the FM2 platform. AM3+ is going to be supported for a long time to come. Get a cheap FX 4130 now, and when you have a spare $200 to spend on a processor upgrade, you're not stuck looking at a A10-5800K wishing you had a AM3+ board to begin with.
    HD64G and d1nky say thanks.
  2. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I've never seen the appeal in going with integrated gpus on desktop. I know some people want to save power but you save more power and money by buying a higher efficiency PSU and you don't limit the gaming potential of a desktop. Anybody remember the older PSU with 65% efficiency?

    That being said, don't go FM2 unless you don't care about gaming in the future as your CPU will not be able to keep up.
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,899 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I don't like the pricing on this chip....I think it should be a $79.99 chip since the FX-6300 is only $129.00 and literally 30% better...just saying
  4. brian111

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    39 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That's been the knock about the FX 4300. The 6300 is sometimes just priced $10 more. There was speculation that AMD was trying to protect sales of the A10 Trinity CPUs by keeping the prices higher.
    jihadjoe and jmcslob say thanks.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,834 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,942
    So a 3-9% performance boost, but a 5% clock speed boost. It is nice they kept it at the same price point and all, but the performance boost really isn't all that great when you think about the increased clock speeds that go along with it.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    So this is a FX-4300 with a GPU on die for less money basically. A direct competitor to a I3 for less money.

    We need some direct tests against the I3 to see what the deal is. Where this chip will lose imo is power consumption and only best case match a I3 in single threaded processing.

    It should best the I3 in multithreaded processing, graphics power and price+features of the whole system. (AMD motherboards are generally more feature packed than Intel boards at the low end.)
  7. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    If they made it with 4 piledriver modules and each with its own thread then it might have been interesting.

    But now its basically a 2 core with 2 extra half cores.



    Imo if FX8350 was made with this approach > 8 modules, each with its own thread then it would own, no doubt about that.
  8. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,169 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    steamroller should kinda "fix" that.
    HD64G says thanks.
  9. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    it has no gpu
    it will lose to i3 in single thread
    it will beat i3 in multithread
    it should be a cheaper platform
    it will consume more power

    Just look at the FX 4300 vs i3. It's almost exactly the same.
    HD64G says thanks.
  10. etayorius

    etayorius

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    49 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Exact same Cooler i got with my PhenomII x4 965.
  11. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    599 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Dat power consumption :(
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,248 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    2 Modules, 4 cores (2 in each module, sharing certain resources) versus Hyper Threading which is just 2 cores.

  13. Ralfies

    Ralfies

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    So an FX-4300 with 100MHz less turbo frequency? What's the point? They should have just lowered the price of the FX-4300. Surely all of these chips are capable of the extra 100MHz to make them 4300's. What am I missing?
  14. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    For some reason I thought it was a socket FM2, well that makes this thing completely pointless then.
  15. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Probably OEM grade crap chips that don't OC and have bad leakage.
    HD64G and Ralfies say thanks.
  16. Ralfies

    Ralfies

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Yeah, I checked it out and the TDP is 30 watts higher than the FX-4300. It's too bad, a 4300 at this price would be a real winner, but I'm not so sure about this chip.

    Side note: Newegg has it listed as Zambezi - AMD FX-4130 Zambezi 3.8GHz Socket AM3+ Quad-Core D...
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2013
  17. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    470 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Indonesia
  18. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    388 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    They reused the exact same model name?! I guess it is oem fodder.
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,248 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    :slap: Look at the OPN and Stepping Code dude before passing judgement. The BD units are already being replaced with the PD units.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  20. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    922 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Europa
    You dont say :p

    Yes i know that very well, besides AMD approach is still not a full core, more like 0.75 vs hyper threading 0.3-0.4.

    I found some diagram once, let me dig it up


    edit: found it

    [​IMG]
    jihadjoe and NeoXF say thanks.
  21. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    What I was about to say... I mean, this IS Vishera isn't it? Why would AMD name their products short? This is like the reverse of rebranding...


    Also, here's a proper bench for the gaming interested...

    [​IMG]

    AMD IS a good buy, better than Intel in a lot of cases, remember they overclock too, only big drawback I see is the power consumption, not that it's horrible, but that Intel's is just so good.
    DerekStorm says thanks.
  22. DerekStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    L3 is of no value to the type of workload such setups would do. And old Athlons and Phenoms can be had in some places, that is more dependent on where you live and how spoiled the people are there.

    Same as I said above... where I'm from with a 750K and a HD6450 overtake the 4300 alone in price, add to that the savings on FM2 mainboard. I know, I've seen some sales Americans have, packed builds for cheap, but those are rare and inaccessible to everyone. BTW, it's moot, not mute! And the 4300 is marginally faster than a 750K due to higher stock clock. Both are unlocked, thus for none does the stock clock matter.

    Looking at NeoXF's posted chart, the 750K is based on the 5800K... nothing wrong in beating the 4300.

    As for AM3+ longevity, no one can vouch for it, the same way no one can know how fast FM2 will be replaced. They might live long, and just as well they might not, as mainboard manufacturers like to screw with clients. As an example they don't like to update stock BIOS on old releases (i.e. 800 series AM3+ chipsets) and this makes people scream when they put in a BD or PD chip and the setup doesn't start.
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,834 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,942
    Calling it FX-4310 wouldn't make sense because it is weaker than the FX-4300. I would have gone with FX-4295.:D

    But my guess is that they didn't want people thinking the two were so close, so the FX-4130 sales don't start cutting into the FX-4300 sales. Yes, anyone that does some research will see that buying the FX-4300 over the FX-4130 is pointless because the two are almost identical except for 100MHz in boost clock. But a normal consumer will see FX-4130 and FX-4300 and think the FX-4300 is significantly better.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Neither does a i3 3220 in practice
  25. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page